Is there anyway to mod a 4.3 that won't read disks?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by newby1976, Feb 11, 2011.

  1. newby1976
    OP

    Member newby1976 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A friend of mine has a modded wii, but their child has updated somehow to 4.3e ... but since the update the disk drive has stopped reading any disks, even originals
    I cant remod it as the the disk drive cant read lego batman

    I dont think she has a nand backup as it was modded a while back by somebody she is no longer in contact with

    I have not personally seen the wii yet, so cant give any more details

    do you have any Ideas how I can fix this for her?, or anything else I can check when I get my hands on it?
     
  2. WalkerOfTheDay

    Member WalkerOfTheDay GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    848
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You could try cleaning the lens. If that doesn't work replace the drive.
    Or install a modchip with usb-loading capabilities.
     
  3. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it was modded via DarkCorps/cIOScorps would the max'd out cIOS's remain after an update or would they get erased and replaced with correct IOS versions? Always meant to ask this as I didn't know if the update "checked" for version numbers and only replaced IF the version in exisiting setup is lower than the one contained in the update. If what Im saying is true, could this be part of the problem?

    Just throwing an idea out there

    EDIT: If it wasn't modded via DarkCorps/cIOScorps then the mod would probably have been with Neogamma (or similar) in which case the channel forwarder should have survived and a boot.dol can be ran to re-mod, no?
     
  4. leondmsmith

    Member leondmsmith GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    In my experience as corps maxed out the relevant CIOS disc loading ability should be able to continue, however i have only seen this on 4.1 to 4.2, ive not had the experience of it happening to 4.3.
     
  5. bazamuffin

    Member bazamuffin RESIDENT DILF

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    2,036
    Location:
    Shmashmortion Clinic
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do any of the Corps require a patched menu IOS to function? If so, a clean menu IOS (IOS80) will have been installed. Hope you see my logic

    Never really used them, sorry for sounding pesky, but Im trying to use this as a learning curve so I can hopefully advise.
     
  6. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    is there a forwarder channel left?
    If so, PM xflak, he'll walk you thru re-hacking it.
     
  7. newby1976
    OP

    Member newby1976 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've just spoken to her on the phone, her son said it has a 'wiikey' fitted, I have no experience of modchips

    can installing 4.3e on a 'wiikey' chipped Wii stop the disk drive from working?
     

Share This Page