Is there anything I can do to force my DSiXL to turn off?

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by Shinigami Kiba, Mar 3, 2011.

  1. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    and this is why I hate digital controls, this wouldn't have happened on my DS Lite.
    I was playing Pokemon White and put the DSi XL in sleep mode/standby, next thing I know the light which was previously blue and at full charge flashes red and I can't turn the DS off or reset it.
    It's been doing this for 20 minutes now.

    The game worked perfectly, the soft reset on my AceKard 2i did so too

    I figured I'd quit Pokemon, take the flashcart out and see if I can't turn the DS off that way, no dice it's just stuck on the main menu now with the red light blinking as if the battery is about to run out.

    I have a DS XL I can and probably will let this run out of juice but that might take a while
    is there a way for me to force it to turn off?

    edit: since holding the power button doesn't work I'll just let the battery run out
    Let this topic be a warning to DSi owners guys, if you have the Black and White ROMs and Flashcart 2i do NOT put your system in sleep/standby mode.

    This isn't a problem on the DS Lite though
     
  2. gtmtnbiker

    Member gtmtnbiker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    United States
    Take the battery out and then put it back in again.
     
  3. TheTwoR's

    Member TheTwoR's Yay I can finally edit this thingy :D

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    670
    Country:
    Belgium
    You do know it could be an issue with your power button, right?
    Who knows, maybe by coincidence it stopped working when you decided to play Pokemon. [​IMG]
     
  4. Arithmatics

    Member Arithmatics I'll be holding on to you. ;}

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,050
    Country:
    Malaysia
    I'll test this on my DSi.
     
  5. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    My power button and DS are fine, phew.
    I let the battery run out, put the thing to charge and it's working fine.

    Maybe it was just a one time glitch, maybe it happens a lot
    but I think I'll play Pokemon White on the DS Lite for now, though it's very difficult for me to read on that since this is Pokemon it's not that big a deal.
     
  6. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    How long did you actually try holding the power button for?
     
  7. dinofan01

    Member dinofan01 Misses the old days...

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,842
    Country:
    United States
    The battery cant be pulled on DSiXL? didnt know that...
     
  8. gtmtnbiker

    Member gtmtnbiker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    United States
    I had the same problem happen to me a couple of months ago. I looked up the code on nintendo's website and it says something like "battery not installed correctly". WTF?
    So I removed the battery and put it back in. It was fine.

    I didn't try holding down the power button for 4 seconds which might have worked.
     
  9. skystealer

    Member skystealer Muah~

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Location:
    Agniratha, Mechonis
    Country:
    United States
    Uhh. I think if you hold the power button for a while, it forces the system to turn off.

    Then again, I could be wrong. I tried it when my DSi suddenly froze and couldn't get back to the DSi Menu or hold it for the regular 2 seconds. So I held it for about 5 seconds and it turns fully off, like the Wii I guess.
     
  10. ferofax

    Member ferofax End of the World

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,564
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    power button should technically ALWAYS work, unless you got a physical problem with the button, or you somehow mess up the bios/whatever it is that makes the button work.
     
  11. The Composer

    Member The Composer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    289
    Location:
    Chile
    Country:
    Chile
    This happened to me. I think its some kind of bug of the system, not just black and white.

    I say this because it has happened while playing other games.
     

Share This Page