Is there any way to make an incompatible card er... compatible?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Goli, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. Goli
    OP

    Member Goli RPG

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,571
    Country:
    Chile
    OK so I bought a 8gb SDHC Kingston card which gives me a ret-1 error after trying to mount it and yes it is in WBFS format on EVERY loader that supports SD cards I've tried, and someone here told me its an incompatible card so now I'm wondering if there's any way to make it compatible... or did I waste my money?
     
  2. Saco

    Newcomer Saco Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Country:
    Portugal
    I guess you did waste your money, I tried the exact same card as you (Kingston 8gb SDHC), tried a zillion possible solutions and wound up buying a SanDisk for Wii 2GB (also try your local stores) wich worked like a charm.

    But hey, I'm just a noob who bought his Wii 3 days ago!
     
  3. Goli
    OP

    Member Goli RPG

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,571
    Country:
    Chile
    I have a 2gb SD card too which works but there are many games that are over 2 gb that I wanna play, in fact I'm wondering if a Kingston 4gb SD card would work, since tomorrow I might buy one.
     
  4. Saco

    Newcomer Saco Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Country:
    Portugal
    Well, for the games I bought an 8gb Flash Drive, and I'm thinking about using my 40gb External Drive.
     
  5. Goli
    OP

    Member Goli RPG

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,571
    Country:
    Chile
     
  6. Saco

    Newcomer Saco Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Country:
    Portugal

    I'm sorry, mine is a Silicon Power, wich is not listed in there.
     
  7. ocdetective

    Member ocdetective GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    601
    Country:
    Malaysia
  8. wiimano

    Member wiimano GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Country:
    United States
    do any of you have preloader? or do any of you know what your system menu ios runs on? I had an issue with my 8 GB sdhc not being recognized by the wii, and what I did, was of course make sure its formatted to FAT 32, but then change your ios to 60. that is the ios that recognizes the sdhc cards. just a tip, hope it helps someone, preloader you can change all that.
     

Share This Page