is there any way to fix this problem?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by JacobReaper, Aug 21, 2007.

Aug 21, 2007
  1. JacobReaper
    OP

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    well, sometimes when i download something, it opens the winrar or zip, i think, and when i try to extract the things to my desktop it says things like, "rune factory, header is corrupt" or something like that [​IMG] it sucks cause i want some homebrew that i cant get and some games to that also [​IMG] anyway, im asking, is there a way to fix this? thanks in advance :'( :'(
     
  2. pinoyfreestyle

    Newcomer pinoyfreestyle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried uninstalling Winrar and then reinstalling it?
     
  3. JacobReaper
    OP

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    that didnt work, is there any like, program or add on? cause im usin firefox..
     
  4. amptor

    Banned amptor Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,554
    Country:
    United States
    you have to click on "save" instead of "run" I have it do this to me a lot of times, where I click on run and it won't open the stupid file.
     
  5. JacobReaper
    OP

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    no, the winrar, or zip, i think opens up, its the files inside.. whenever i try to extract the files inside to the desktop it does that.. or wait, let me try that [​IMG]
     
  6. JacobReaper
    OP

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    no that didnt work.. heres a picture..


    [​IMG]



    and that was with the zelda patch thing, with the D-pad.. just so you know..

    and just so you know.. that BG was put by my sister..
     
  7. dice

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    not the solution you're looking for. but have you tried using 7zip before? It's very small in size and can work with many file types (zip, 7z, rar etc)
     
  8. JacobReaper
    OP

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    hmm, ummm if i uninstall winrar, will all my rar, or zip files get deleted? cause i dont want to take that risk
     
  9. dice

    Former Staff dice pansy-ass ex-staff member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    9,542
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    they won't, you just wouldn't be able to extract/use the file. (unless the programme accepts rar files)
     
  10. amptor

    Banned amptor Banned

    Joined:
    May 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,554
    Country:
    United States
    ya just reinstall winrar or remove the virus that is causing it [​IMG] or get a mac... i don't own a mac but fact is, they don't have as many problems as these crappy pc's that I've been using since in high school [​IMG]
     
  11. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    It's a corrupt download. Zelda is 64MB unpacked, try download from a different website.
     
  12. 0firefly0

    Newcomer 0firefly0 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    First of all, get 7-Zip.
    It's easy to use and it's free.
    Using a different program to extract the files will not delete the ones you have now.


    Second, download a different copy of Zelda.
    27MB is way too small for that to be real.
     
  13. pkprostudio

    Member pkprostudio No

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it's corrupted. The ROMs I download from a 'specific site' is corrupted more than 75% of the time. You can try download it again, or look for it somewhere else. The first sign of corruption is that the download is less than 50% when you look at it, then the next second it's done. Now that's corrupted.
     
  14. acidrain

    Newcomer acidrain Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't think that the rar file is the problem. He said that it's the patch for Zelda, not the rom. I'm pretty sure that the problem comes from WinRAR. Like others said, I'd try 7-zip.

    BTW, it's 27KB not 27MB and the file is a exe, so it's definitely not the rom.

    EDIT: Get the file here. I confirm that the file isn't corrupt.
     
  15. ediblebird

    Member ediblebird GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    313
    Country:
    Australia
    If you are using firefox, sometimes when you choose "save as" it starts downloading but after a while it stops downloading and acts as if it finished the download. this happens to me sometimes, and i always check the size the file should be and compare it with the downloaded file. if the two sizes are different the file will be corrupted.

    If this is not the problem and the whole file was downloaded, try using winrar to repair the file
     

Share This Page