Hacking Is there any way to Dual Output the image?

ThunderbInazuma

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
507
Trophies
0
Location
Under Your Bed
XP
2,099
Country
Portugal
Hello.

The Wii U can output the image via HDMI and RCA. However, you can only use one. Is there any way to output the images from the 2 ports? I know that the sound can do that using one option on the system options.

Thanks in Advance.
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
36,798
Trophies
3
XP
28,375
Country
United Kingdom
I doubt it -- most graphics chains are usually less flexible than audio so it would probably be a hardware limitation. You would be far better served buying a HDMI splitter and then converting that (or RCA doubler and HDMI converter if you are strange).
 

LeifEricson

Coming Soon™
Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2012
Messages
234
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
New York, USA
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
534
Country
United States
Hello.

The Wii U can output the image via HDMI and RCA. However, you can only use one. Is there any way to output the images from the 2 ports? I know that the sound can do that using one option on the system options.

Thanks in Advance.

I use an S-Video adapter for livestreaming Wii (I have an ancient Dazzle) and I was trying to figure out the same thing. I ended up just dealing with SD quality while streaming, but a splitter+converter would indeed work.
 

ThunderbInazuma

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 31, 2015
Messages
507
Trophies
0
Location
Under Your Bed
XP
2,099
Country
Portugal
I use an S-Video adapter for livestreaming Wii (I have an ancient Dazzle) and I was trying to figure out the same thing. I ended up just dealing with SD quality while streaming, but a splitter+converter would indeed work.

For the wii I use an adapter that split the RCA. I was just curious because playing at 1080p is better than playing ate 480p.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I doubt it -- most graphics chains are usually less flexible than audio so it would probably be a hardware limitation. You would be far better served buying a HDMI splitter and then converting that (or RCA doubler and HDMI converter if you are strange).

If i buy a HDMI to RCA the image quality would be better than the RCA normally or would it be a little better.
 

tbb043

Member
Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
1,754
Trophies
0
XP
1,488
Country
United States
It's certainly not a technological limitation, as both of my cable DVR boxes keep all video outputs active at the same time. Even when you've got HD coming out of the HDMI and component ports, there's still 480i coming out of the composite and S-video ports. Nintendo as well as MS on the 360 and Sony on the PS3 must be deliberately doing this for some stupid reason.
 

endoverend

AKA zooksman
Member
Joined
Jun 6, 2013
Messages
2,846
Trophies
0
Website
zooksman.com
XP
2,917
Country
United States
It's certainly not a technological limitation, as both of my cable DVR boxes keep all video outputs active at the same time. Even when you've got HD coming out of the HDMI and component ports, there's still 480i coming out of the composite and S-video ports. Nintendo as well as MS on the 360 and Sony on the PS3 must be deliberately doing this for some stupid reason.
It's probably to save electricity, I imagine that keeping all ports active would draw a lot of unnecessary power.
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
36,798
Trophies
3
XP
28,375
Country
United Kingdom
The DVR box has no real concept of latency (you pause and 1000ms later it pauses and you would not care, 100ms is fatal for most games that require any kind of reaction) or need for image processing power though (give or take simplistic things like scaling and basic filters it might do) so it can afford to do things like that. Games which require real time input/output of controls and the corresponding graphics which it renders itself have a harder time of things. Or to spin it another way if someone came and said I have two monitors but if I disable one the fps in my game goes up would you say "well durr"? Same difference really.

The console makers probably could output multiple outputs with some simple extra hardware or hardware geared from the ground up for it. Unlike camera makers not outputting real time HDMI though (my cheapo Chinese gopro does it fine, my not quite professional camera does not, yet it has HDMI out) I am not calling conspiracy -- it is extra work, extra hardware and potentially more trouble down the line for someone a vanishingly small number of people care about, and even if more did there are still splitters and converters that cost next to nothing. Similarly the DVR box probably has a use case for it as people do want to pipe it to their bedroom/kitchen/second room/garage/shed TV, I know the cable/satellite companies want me to buy a second box and pay more for it but DVR box makers are less concerned.

Edit forgot to answer the question on adapters.
If you buy the cheapest piece of junk the quality might not be great, have a look around to see what goes as I am not really up on that world right now (I try never to go backwards in video quality and screens cost nothing when you can fix them).
I don't know what goes with wii u games and the outputs. On the 360 various games did render differently (text that is visible on a large 1080p screen might not be OK on a small NTSC interlaced affair, the first Dead Rising being the easiest case to look for) though so that might be a problem for some things.
Equally I don't know what DAC, or indeed if the graphics chip inside the wii u does it itself, the Wii U uses to generate the RCA output. If your converter is better (certainly possible) it might do better -- plenty of consoles have lousy audio DACs and can be bypassed/modified and I doubt Nintendo was overly concerned with this.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: @Psionic Roshambo, and im gonna download legend of dragoon to my ps3 cuz i couldnt fix the...