Is there any way to disable the format hard drive screen yet?

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by creep, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. creep
    OP

    Newcomer creep Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Every time I turn on the wii u or reload the wii u channel I get the format hard drive message. I was wondering if any solution has been found for this yet (besides unplugging the hard drive).

    Thanks!
     


  2. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    nope none, but it's getting tedious having to take my hard drive out everytime i finish with vwii mode though.
     
  3. yafaiz

    Newcomer yafaiz Old Salt

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Country:
    Australia
    Just click cancel...... does not turning parental lock on stop that from coming up, that would make sense!
     
  4. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,436
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    There's a way, but it works only for Wii backup loaders on FAT32/NTFS. (not a WBFS partition)
    No other homebrew, no NANDEmulation (if located on USB).
    It's hiding the partitions by altering the partition's table, so the HDD will NOT work on your computer anymore.
    So, it's a little dangerous, you could loose your data if not done correctly.

    We didn't test writing files and installing games yet. but playing is working.

    With this method, you can keep two HDD connected at the same time, one for vWii and one for WiiU.
     
  5. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    What about using a 3TB HDD? Is that even recognized by the Wii U so that it could be used for vWii?
     
  6. qwertymodo

    Member qwertymodo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    780
    Country:
    United States
    The marketing press releases I've seen have indicated 3TB HDD's are supported. I don't own one and haven't seen anyone test it for certain though...
     
  7. Stalkid64X

    Newcomer Stalkid64X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Simply place your legitimate retail Wii titles in the disc drive, play them, and keep the usb drive unplugged. Then you don't have to worry about it. Magic!
     
    CreeperMario and megazig like this.
  8. n1ckn4m3

    Newcomer n1ckn4m3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    Just make sure that the HDD you use for the WiiU has a power button on it. Power on the WiiU, click on Wii Mode, click to enter Wii Mode, turn on HDD, run Homebrew Chan / USB loader of choice, problem solved and little threat of accidentally formatting. It can't be that difficult to just get up from where you're sitting and push a button every time you boot Wii mode ;). I'm using a ridiculously old piece of trash $10 USB/eSATA enclosure for a 1TB desktop drive I had and it's got a power button, definitely a more elegant solution than fiddling with cables, trying to partition things until the end of time, or accidentally clicking to format that one time....
     
  9. Kratozero

    Newcomer Kratozero Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Mexico
    What if you made a minimum size partition on the drive in FAT32/NTFS, then a secondary WBFS one with the rest of the HDD disk space just so the Wii U will stop bothering you with those messages?
     
  10. n1ckn4m3

    Newcomer n1ckn4m3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    Doesn't work yet, there's an entire other thread about doing that and they haven't been successful yet, unfortunately.
     
  11. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,436
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    if the WiiU detect a partition table, it prompts to format it.
    Making multiple partitions will not help.

    The WiiU delete all partitions on the drive and format it fully to WiiU format.
     
    n1ckn4m3 likes this.
  12. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,374
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    That wears out the disc drive faster, but whatever. Having to swap back and forth between multiple game discs is a real PITA.
     
    jcote1321 likes this.
  13. twiddler

    Newcomer twiddler Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    MY solution has been to backup the hard drive to another drive. Then if it does get formated, I can rebuild the data.
     
    CreeperMario likes this.
  14. Stalkid64X

    Newcomer Stalkid64X Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If disc swap is such a burden try playing games in a less ADD manner.
     
  15. Kippykip

    Member Kippykip D E L E T T H I S

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    508
    Country:
    Australia
    This annoys me too! :\
     
  16. Enigma Hall

    Member Enigma Hall GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    527
    Country:
    Brazil
    Strange. it never was happen to me. Ntfs hd with loaders, backups... power wii-u and show the menu screen none hd message.
     
  17. memorymod

    Newcomer memorymod Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada
    it doesn't seem to happen to me anymore mabey try format your flash drive to wbfs
     
  18. panmusic

    Member panmusic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    809
    Country:
    Greece
    Sorry if this has been asked before,but lately I am thinking to use two HDDs simultaneously.One for Wii backup games and one properly formatted for Wii U.
    Has anyone tried it before? Is it possible to have 2 USB HDDs at the same time plagued in?
     
  19. Kippykip

    Member Kippykip D E L E T T H I S

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    508
    Country:
    Australia
    Tested a while back, the wii U just says 'You can only have 1 HD plugged in at a time' then reboots the wii u menu :c
     
  20. panmusic

    Member panmusic GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    809
    Country:
    Greece
    That's too bad... I wonder what options has someone that wants to upgrade his HDD...Perhaps a future update will address this.:blink:
     

Share This Page