Is there any DS Screen Grabber?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Gagarin, Jul 25, 2008.

Jul 25, 2008
  1. Gagarin
    OP

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I'm curious how come in game magazines they have perfect screens...
    Anyone know anything?
     
  2. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    you need a Dev kit to capture images
     
  3. Calafas

    Member Calafas GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Screenshots from a PC, straight from the developers?
     
  4. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i believe the dev kits contain special hardware that allows devs to view the DS screens on a PC/TV.
     
  5. evoo1

    Member evoo1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Vienna
    Country:
    Austria
    I never heard of any, and I don't think it's possible. I was looking for the exact same thing a few days ago (as such a homebrew exists for the psp) but there seems to be some kind of limitation which makes such a homebrew impossible on the DS.

    If you watch the 1UP show (videopodcast about gaming), in some episodes you can see that they have some kind of dev-kit that makes it possible to connect the DS with a TV or Computerscreen I guess. Maybe you can lay your hands on that, Nintendo themselves actually produces those I think.
     
  6. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Perfect screens from developers come from the Devkits they recieve, perfect screens from the wider community are usually from emulators.

    Though it would be pretty cool to have a hombrew that allowed you to do so.

    Or for example, have it as an option on an in-game menu.
     
  7. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,185
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    might be a nice flash cart add on
    aka: it might be possible in the future
     
  8. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    wasn't the cyclo team working on something?
    i know a flashcart team did mention something about ingame screenshots.
     
  9. Kaos

    Member Kaos Good show!

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    558
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Team Cyclops said that in game screenshots were possible, but only one screen (the primary display, which varies depending on where you are in a game).

    You also wouldn't be able to view the screenshots until you went back to the CycloDS menu, due to memory constraints.

    Still, it would be pretty cool.
     
  10. Hyperlisk_

    Member Hyperlisk_ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    187
    Country:
    United States
    Not where you are in a game, but how the game sets it up. For example, it might flip the main screen to use 3D on the top or bottom.

    Also, look at what Olimar did with his Jumbotron DS. He could capture the output if he wanted to, I'm sure.
     
  11. Kaos

    Member Kaos Good show!

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Messages:
    558
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    That's what I meant...
     
  12. Gagarin
    OP

    Member Gagarin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Messages:
    938
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    I would pay $600 to have it [​IMG]
     

Share This Page