Homebrew is there an amiga emulator?

Wuggl3z

Well-Known Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 13, 2006
Messages
73
Trophies
0
XP
136
Country
the other day (after finding out that the newzealan story is coming out on DS) i was thinking how great it would be to play moonstone and all those other games i used to play all day long on my amiga 600 on my DS

is it possible?
 

mthrnite

So it goes.
Former Staff
Joined
Jun 30, 2006
Messages
4,563
Trophies
2
Age
57
Location
th' south
Website
www.facebook.com
XP
2,143
Country
United States
Nope, your best bet is to stick to computer on that one.

I've got Cloanto's Amiga Forever on the pc, it uses the UAE but dresses it up with a very nice gui. Includes instructions to make a serial cable to bridge the pc and amiga so you can transfer stuff (slowly) without having to spring for a CatWeasel or some such thing.

Love it, worth every cent.
 

adgloride

Its A Wii Wario
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2003
Messages
2,261
Trophies
0
Age
48
Website
Visit site
XP
298
Country
Another handy thing about the cloanto emulator is you can transfer the files that you've downloaded from the pc, to the amiga using a network card in the amiga. Its great just to put the games back on the disc or to use WHDLOAD which enables you to play games from the amiga harddrive. The amiga has loads of custom chips and is quite hard to emulate. Another way to play the amiga is to get an emulator for a modded xbox. Amigas are as cheap as chips to pick up on ebay now.
 

jayminer

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 2, 2004
Messages
59
Trophies
0
Age
40
Location
Sweden
Website
Visit site
XP
181
Country
Well, check out the compatibility list for cnet.device or download 3c589.device and read the docs - there is probably a compatibility list in the 3c589 archive.

what is wrong with the A3000 btw? make sure you remove the battery from it if it's leaking onto the motherboard, and press hard on all socketed chips and reseat the CPU board. In my experience, Amigas don't die that easily so please, try and save it
wink.gif
 

Vater Unser

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2004
Messages
2,184
Trophies
0
Location
Pen Island
Website
Visit site
XP
109
Country
Gambia, The
last year I bought an Amiga + Commodore 1084 monitor + Competition Pro Joystick + box full of games for 20€ on eBay...the shipping costs were another 30€ (it came in 2 huge packages), but it was still worth it...

makes much more sense to buy the real thing instead of an emulator...
you can even transfer ADF images from your PC to Amiga disks, all you need is a fitting cable and software
 

mthrnite

So it goes.
Former Staff
Joined
Jun 30, 2006
Messages
4,563
Trophies
2
Age
57
Location
th' south
Website
www.facebook.com
XP
2,143
Country
United States
Well, check out the compatibility list for cnet.device or download 3c589.device and read the docs - there is probably a compatibility list in the 3c589 archive.

what is wrong with the A3000 btw? make sure you remove the battery from it if it's leaking onto the motherboard, and press hard on all socketed chips and reseat the CPU board. In my experience, Amigas don't die that easily so please, try and save it
wink.gif

Thanks (the great) jayminer, I'll check into your suggestions!

The a3000, it's corrosion from the battery, unfortunatly. I've removed it and tried to clean up, but there is significant damage.

Right now I'm using the 1200, but a future project is sorting through my pile of 1000's and making a couple of working ones out of the stack.
 

adgloride

Its A Wii Wario
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2003
Messages
2,261
Trophies
0
Age
48
Website
Visit site
XP
298
Country
yeah, I'm still hunting for the elusive PCMCIA ethernet card for my 1200. Any clues to a compatible card that's common and cheap would be appreciated!

My poor 3000 with a networking card isn't feeling well these days :'(

I got a wireless network card for my amiga 1200 a while back on ebay which included the drivers. Once its set up it works great. Its brilliant being able to transfer files from the pc to the amiga wirelessly and being able to go online. Its just a shame I can't get the best email program on the amiga to work,
 

CatScam

ScamaRama!
Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
588
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
243
Country
United States
the other day (after finding out that the newzealan story is coming out on DS)Â i was thinking how great it would be to play moonstone and all those other games i used to play all day long on my amiga 600 on my DS

is it possible?
An Amiga EMU on the DS would be nice, although like already stated
doubtful. But I do have an Amiga EMU working on my Palm & PSP.
wink.gif
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: My fetish is getting fired lol