Is there a way to preventing access to the Mii Channel?

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by W007, May 15, 2010.

  1. W007
    OP

    Newcomer W007 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    My brother (with down syndrome) keeps messing up my Miis. I have tried hiding the channel by moving it to another screen-thingy (the thing you use + or - button to switch), but he figured that out. However, if there isn't a way currently to do it (by hacking, I mean), could someone get me started with it (I already know C++, so don't give me that)?
     
  2. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I believe if you have system menu 4.0+ you can use the SD Mii Channel and then delete the mii channel using ATD
     
  3. W007
    OP

    Newcomer W007 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks; I will try that.
     
  4. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Yep, you can just delete the channel, Miis will still continue to work.
     
  5. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    I'm also interested in this, so that I can hide the Mii channel from younger kids. Would it be possible to make it into a hidden channel (like the EULA), and then launch it with Waninkoko's Channel Launcher?
     
  6. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    I'm not sure if Waninkoko's Channel Launcher lets you launch hidden channels, but you should be able to make it hidden by changing the titleID from 00010002-HACA to 00010008-HACA.
     
  7. Fun_Zephyr

    Member Fun_Zephyr GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    320
    Location:
    Victoria
    Country:
    Australia
    Why not just back the Mii's up to the Wiimote? Or is that not the same as having the original in the Mii Channel when you copy it back?
     
  8. WiiThoko

    Member WiiThoko GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Country:
    United States
    Because you find a Mii is messed up in a game that doesn't support getting Mii's from a Wii Remote, you have to go to the Mii Channel, delete the Mii, put the original on, then start up the game again.

    It's just way easier if they aren't messed up in the first place, mirite?
     

Share This Page