Hacking Question Is there a way to play games that require a higher firmware without updating?

Umbreon

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 11, 2018
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
41
Country
Switzerland
Yes, newest Tinfoil builds ignore the "minimum required firmware"-info in the xml-files of any NSP. However better use the ChoiDujourNX homebrew to upgrade the firmware without burning fuses. If the game requires things that are only available in a newer firmware it will obviously crash. Tinfoil requires CFW + fs patches to work and es patches if the NSP isn't signed for your console.
 
Last edited by Umbreon,
  • Like
Reactions: Subtle Demise

Kafluke

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
5,474
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
4,455
Country
United States
Yes, newest Tinfoil builds ignore the "minimum required firmware"-info in the xml-files of any NSP. However better use the ChoiDujourNX homebrew to upgrade the firmware without burning fuses. If the game requires things that are only available in a newer firmware it will obviously crash. Tinfoil requires CFW + fs patches to work and es patches if the NSP isn't signed for your console.
When you recommend this method you should also note to users that it requires autoCRM. AutoCRM is not for everybody.

For example my fam likes to just power on and play. I have official versions running on OFW for this. AutoCRM makes this complicated for them so I dont use it. I dont have a dongle but I purchased SX OS so I would have to use my laptop or an android phone on every boot and that's not an option for my kids
 
  • Like
Reactions: MarkDarkness

Umbreon

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 11, 2018
Messages
9
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
41
Country
Switzerland
When you recommend this method you should also note to users that it requires autoCRM. AutoCRM is not for everybody.

For example my fam likes to just power on and play. I have official versions running on OFW for this. AutoCRM makes this complicated for them so I dont use it. I dont have a dongle but I purchased SX OS so I would have to use my laptop or an android phone on every boot and that's not an option for my kids
Yes, true but the vast majority of people leave their Switches in Sleep Mode. Not only that, but it's meant to be left in that mode. The device is constructed to always be in Sleep Mode. Its CPU and most other hardware components are completely off while being in Sleep Mode and so barely uses any energy. You only need to resend the payload if you turn it off completely so just always leave it in Sleep Mode and your problem is solved. But yes, I get your point why updating without burning fuses is nothing for you because I also often turn it off for absolutely no reason.
 
Last edited by Umbreon,
  • Like
Reactions: MarkDarkness

Amino

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Messages
75
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
208
Country
Gambia, The
Failed to install NSP!
OpenFileSystemWithId:95 Failed to open file system with id.
Error code: 0x00236e02

My switch is on 3.0.0 newest tinfoil
atmosphere + Sigpatch
tumGER/SDfiles
 

Lacius

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2008
Messages
17,000
Trophies
2
XP
16,022
Country
United States
Failed to install NSP!
OpenFileSystemWithId:95 Failed to open file system with id.
Error code: 0x00236e02

My switch is on 3.0.0 newest tinfoil
atmosphere + Sigpatch
tumGER/SDfiles
Even if you get them to install, very few games are going to run successfully on 3.0.0.

You might want to update without burning your efuses.
 

Ezrever

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
3
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
53
Country
Belgium
Yes, newest Tinfoil builds ignore the "minimum required firmware"-info in the xml-files of any NSP. However better use the ChoiDujourNX homebrew to upgrade the firmware without burning fuses. If the game requires things that are only available in a newer firmware it will obviously crash. Tinfoil requires CFW + fs patches to work and es patches if the NSP isn't signed for your console.

Did this already happen to anyone?
My switch is on 4.0.1 (out of the box) and I think to keep it that way, at least for a while. Yesterday I installed ReiNX, Tinfoil, ... . Super Mario Odyssey works like a charm, Super Meat Boy and Steam World Dig 'needed' higher firmware. So I installed them again with Tinfoil, this time with "ignore minimum required firmware". They seem to be working just fine.

So anyone experience with using Tinfoil's ignore minimum required firmware and having a game crash?
 
Last edited by Ezrever,

Zap2000

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2018
Messages
456
Trophies
0
Age
40
XP
615
Country
United Kingdom
When you recommend this method you should also note to users that it requires autoCRM. AutoCRM is not for everybody.

For example my fam likes to just power on and play. I have official versions running on OFW for this. AutoCRM makes this complicated for them so I dont use it. I dont have a dongle but I purchased SX OS so I would have to use my laptop or an android phone on every boot and that's not an option for my kids

I’m trying to decide weather autoCRM or not. Is there a risk with burnt fuses with non autoCRM? Not sure the best to use for young kids
 

Kafluke

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 6, 2006
Messages
5,474
Trophies
0
Age
44
XP
4,455
Country
United States
I’m trying to decide weather autoCRM or not. Is there a risk with burnt fuses with non autoCRM? Not sure the best to use for young kids
This was a while ago. I've been using autorcm for months without issue. Switch just goes to sleep and all is well
 

chippy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Age
121
XP
931
Country
Australia
It all depends what master key the game/update is used to encrypt if it works. So it might need say 5.1 but uses a 4.0 key then it will work but not if I it's a 5.1 key on a 4.0 console.

Get the switch backup manager for your pc. It will tell you the key version used and what not
 

mdmachine

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Messages
190
Trophies
0
XP
873
Country
United States
AFAIK you can ignore or patch most games to a point. If the game/update is calling upon a function that your firmware does not have, it'll crash.
 

Irocadiext

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 19, 2018
Messages
66
Trophies
0
Age
38
XP
156
Country
United States
honestly updating with choidujournx is so simple a fast. finally updated the otherday and happy I did. As long as you stay in autoRCM mode no fuses will be burnt, but you will have to stay in autoRCM forever if I understand correctly. Also when in autoRCM, even when you shut down power totally it really gets kicked back into RCM mode so its never really off and it charges poorly in RCM so you may wake up to a dead battery. It is best to just leave in sleep mode where it charges normally. if left in sleep mode it will be easy for any age kid to just pop back on.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ezrever
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
1,220
Trophies
1
XP
2,218
Country
Poland
It all depends what master key the game/update is used to encrypt if it works. So it might need say 5.1 but uses a 4.0 key then it will work but not if I it's a 5.1 key on a 4.0 console.

Get the switch backup manager for your pc. It will tell you the key version used and what not
Can I manually override the keys needed by editting the NSP, since we know the keys? Is this sorta what Tinfoil already does?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ezrever

chippy

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2017
Messages
320
Trophies
0
Age
121
XP
931
Country
Australia
Is this sorta what Tinfoil already does?
Tinfoil doesn't do that. There is an xml file inside the nsp that says what OS version it's min is. Tinfoil just changes that value to 1.0
It doesn't use any keys. If your system doesn't have the key e.g. a 5.1 game encrypted on a 4.0 system, it can't decript the game seeing the 4.0 doesn't have 5.1 keys
 
  • Like
Reactions: MarkDarkness
Joined
Dec 17, 2009
Messages
1,220
Trophies
1
XP
2,218
Country
Poland
Tinfoil doesn't do that. There is an xml file inside the nsp that says what OS version it's min is. Tinfoil just changes that value to 1.0
It doesn't use any keys. If your system doesn't have the key e.g. a 5.1 game encrypted on a 4.0 system, it can't decript the game seeing the 4.0 doesn't have 5.1 keys
That's very interesting to know, thank you. I don't suppose I could derive the keys by upgrading and then dowgrading, huh... Atmosphere would not know WTF to do witht the 5.1 keys.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu: Though the bed in the Guest Bedroom is so large there's ironically not much space leftover...