Is there a way to make Japanese font work on System Menu 4.1E?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by bastlwastl, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. bastlwastl
    OP

    Newcomer bastlwastl Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    I got a European Wii running a soft-modded 4.1E System Menu.
    Everything is working flawlessly except some Japanese WiiWare.
    The games start normally but most in-game text is garbled and unreadable. [​IMG]
    I tried Tsuppari Oozumou Wii Heya and the name entry screen is completely unusable.
    (Others like Mojipittan run perfectly though but the channel names are not displayed at all.)
    Is there any way to fix this problem without installing a Japanese System Menu (i.e. 4.2J)?
    I understand that my 4.1E System has no Japanese font support in it so it's showing me the messed up letters.
    I faced the same problem when running NTSC-J games through Cfg USB Loader at first but it was easily fixed by setting the language to Japanese in the USB Loader options.
    Now when I press the home button during a game using these settings all buttons are displayed in Japanese!
    Does that mean the Japanese font is somewhere inside the Wii but the European System Menu can't access it?
    If that was the case this should be easily fixed right? [​IMG]
    I used AnyRegionChanger to set my Wii's video output to NTSC, which worked great.
    Can I safely switch the region to Japanese to make my Wii use the Jap font or will it end up semi-bricked?
    I really don't want to mess up my Wii because of a handful of WiiWare titles but I wondering if there was any way to fix this quickly.

    Any help is greatly appreciated! [​IMG]
     
  2. Tagg7

    Member Tagg7 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    394
    Country:
    United States
    Can't you change your System Menu language to Japanese?
     
  3. bastlwastl
    OP

    Newcomer bastlwastl Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Nope, because I have System Menu 4.1E the available languages are English, German, French, Spanish, Dutch and Italian.
    No Japanese here.
    How can I change to Japanese? Only with AnyRegion Changer?
    I'm afraid ARC might brick my Wii if I change the Region settings.
    I dont't have BootMii installed in boot2, only IOS...
     
  4. Hatsu

    Banned Hatsu Someone's been killing, eh?

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2,143
    Location:
    __________________ Warn: 50%
    Country:
    Australia
    first, install Priiloader.
    second, use AnyRegion Changer. [​IMG]
     
  5. bastlwastl
    OP

    Newcomer bastlwastl Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    I got priiloader installed!
    So if i just switch region and language in AnyRegion Changer to Japanese, my System Menu will be Japanese?
     
  6. bastlwastl
    OP

    Newcomer bastlwastl Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Just switching the language setting didn't do the trick. [​IMG]
    I guess I have to install 4.1J?
    Is there any guide I can follow?
     

Share This Page