Is there a way to get GBA ROMs to run on Acekard 2?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by usafwilson, May 27, 2008.

  1. usafwilson
    OP

    Newcomer usafwilson Newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I made a folder on my microSD card for my Acekard 2 and dropped a couple GBA roms in it. I set my Acekard 2 to show "all files" and it shows both of the roms along with an icon that says, "GBA Game".

    When I try to click it it does nothing.

    Is there a way to get these to run on the Acekard 2? Or do I need to get an emulator?
     
  2. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    There is no emulator for GBA on a slot1 card, nor is there any way to run them that way. You need a slot2 card for GBA games.
     
  3. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    The bottom line:
     
  4. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    The EZ 3in1 and eWin 2in1 are slot2 GBA expansion carts made specifically for playing GBA games stored on your slot1 microSD, and both will work in conjunction with the AK2 and the Bliss menu. They also work as extra memory required by the browser.

    -Bri
     
  5. usafwilson
    OP

    Newcomer usafwilson Newbie

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    So there is no emulator you can boot up in Acekard that runs GBA games?

    Yet you can run SNES/NES games.. why?!
     
  6. Kellicros

    Member Kellicros GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    Because the DS isn't powerful enough, and I personally thought it is stupid to emulate GBA on a console that has the whole hardware in it. Although, when the DS is put into GBA mode, it can't reach any of SLOT1 features, hence roms on SLOT1 cannot be read, you will need a SLOT2 card to store the roms.
     
  7. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Not quite accurate, Kellicross. With a slot1 cart and a slot2 GBA expansion cart, the GBA games are stored on the slot1 microSD card and then loaded to the slot2 cart in order to play them.

    -Bri
     
  8. Kellicros

    Member Kellicros GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    Uh... maybe I worded it wrongly but my point is, the rom has to be loaded into a SLOT2 cart before you can play it, because all SLOT1 features are not reachable once the DS goes into GBA mode.
     
  9. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, that's true. Your wording made it sound as though the slot2 cart was used to store the roms. Sorry if I misunderstood.

    -Bri
     

Share This Page