Is there a way to disable my wiikey?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by rsyss, May 8, 2011.

May 8, 2011
  1. rsyss
    OP

    Newcomer rsyss Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Brazil
    i have a japanese wii but i changed the firmware to 4.3 usa

    the wii has a wiikey 1 installed with japanese firmware (wiikey firmware is for japanese wii)

    now my dvd drive does not read any disc, not original, nor back up, nor gamecube discs.

    i think that wiikey is interfering on disc detecting. the drive runs the disc but suddenly stops and i get the message "disc cannot be read"

    i cant remove de soldered wiikey chip and cant run a config disc to corrupt wiikey firmware (and disable it)

    so my question is:

    if i fisically break the wiikey chip, cut half of it, destroy it or something like that, can i disable it, or will i break the entire dvd drive?

    is there another way to disable the wiikey, so it lets my wii to read the discs normally?

    my wii used to read all discs moments before i changed the firmware to 4.3u (and got my homebrew channel and bannerbom removed, i dont have forwarder channels nor bootmii as boot2) and at the moment just after i finished to install 4.3 the drive suddently stopped reading discs on the disc channel. so lens dirty or something like that may not be the case.


    help me please, does anyone know why my wii cannot read any discs anymore, and how to disable my wiikey1 chip? thanks

    i only want to run super smash bros or indiana jones to trigger the exploit and install the homebrew channel again, but the wii cant read any disc


    (sorry for my bad english, but please help, lol)
     


  2. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Don't try to remove the chip, since you can do some big damage. The problem is that you updated your System Menu to 4.3. 4.2 and above disable region free gaming. You need to try switching the region to USA using a firmware disc, then using a burned copy of one of the exploitable games, or buy a US retail copy of one of the games and use that.
     
  3. leo.uff

    Newcomer leo.uff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Brazil
    Install priiloader with "region free on" and run your wiikey configuration disc again.
     
  4. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I think you have your chip set to play games "region free" = changes all discs' region to japanese while reading them. Since system menu 4.2, this doesn't work anymore and you need a patched system menu to play region free from disc channel even with a modchip.

    So if the chip's firmware is sh*t, and i guess it is, then it even changes the region of the config disc to japanese -> won't boot. I think that the config disc is a gamecube disc, is that right? Does anybody know if there are region universal disc ids for gamecube games and if they work on 4.3? Well, i doubt it, but asking doesn't harm.

    Or is there some way to reset the chip to default settings without soldering? [Hoping that region free is not default!]
     
  5. urherenow

    Member urherenow GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,526
    Location:
    Japan
    Country:
    United States
    The configureation disc is burned, so there is no region for it. Just run it and disable the region free part.
    Then, use the latest priiloader to make your Wii region free.

    What was said earlier is correct. The Wiikey cannot do its own region free stuff after 4.2
     
  6. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    You realize that it only enables Region Free for retail discs, right? Besides, he can't install Priiloader yet because he is on 4.3 and no softmods.
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I assume that the disc either has a region, or worse, the disc really has no region and the chip sets its region always on-the-fly. A Wii modchip only mods the drive, if the drive/chip doesn't present the disc channel a disc it likes, the disc channel will refuse to load it.
     
  8. rsyss
    OP

    Newcomer rsyss Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Brazil
    all discs start to spin for a few seconds and stop

    gamecube retail disc, backup, gamecube-like wiikey config disc, smash bros original (double layer), i've tried every type of disc. all discs spin for about 4 seconds and then the drive stops

    it seems that something interrupts the process or disables the drive, preventing it from boot backups. some conflict extended this problem to original retail discs too.

    result: the disc channel does not recognize any type of disc. but the dvd drive tries to read them

    before i change the firmware to 4.3u, i had a 4.0j (i am talking about the very same wii, i changed the firmware region from 4.0jpn to 4.3usa) and since that time i couldnt boot games from disc channel. my disc channel never worked (stopped when i jumped to 4.0j) i used to boot my DVD games from homebrew channel

    now that i have lost my homebrew channel due to 4.3usa update, i cant boot any discs anymore, even retail discs.

    if i remove the wiikey (with jpn firmware config), will i be able to run retail discs from disc channel again?

    it may be a "region free" problem causing a conflict

    i only wanna run a retail super smashbros to use the smashstack exploit

    i am afraid to break the wii while trying to remove de soldered wiikey,

    and if i cut half of it with a cutter? may it work to disable its functions?
     
  9. RchUncleSkeleton

    Member RchUncleSkeleton Skeletron 9000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,131
    Location:
    California, USA
    Country:
    United States
    The problem is going to be there whether you have the wiikey or not. The problem is you have a japanese wii with USA firmware and no modifications to make it region free. I'd say unless you can get a copy of an expoit game for the region that the system menu is then you're stuck.
     
  10. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Are you saying that you had this issue since 4.0j? If yes, i don't know what's going on.
     
  11. leo.uff

    Newcomer leo.uff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Brazil
    You have a usa firmware with a wiikey set to another region. I think you can disable your chip only cutting the power pin.


    ***Dá uma lida nas suas mensagens pessoais.***
     
  12. rsyss
    OP

    Newcomer rsyss Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Brazil
    i used a region changer homebrew

    before that, when my wii was japanese, i installed all de cIOS to make newest backup games working, from all regions, like new mario bros usa, monster hunter tri jp etc

    then i wanted to change the firmware to make my wii access the US nintendo channels, like, weather channel, news channel, nintendo preview channel. and to change menus to english, i couldnot read japanese.

    but i made a mistake when i updated to 4.3u, that disabled and deleted all my homebrew.

    before i change the region, my disc channel did not work already, since i installed region free methods to run new super mario, and fix 002 error

    someone told me that its normal, and the disc channel will only work with ciscorp installed. i used to run all my games inside homebrew channel using geckos or neogamma

    but the drive was working, i was successful in running all my dvd games throught this method

    so the dvd drive is not broken, but now something is disabling it

    i dont know if it is the wiikey or the 4.3u official firmware. i cant play any disc. my disc channel send me the message "disc cannot be read", i tried super smash bros, backup single layer and double layer, i tried the original retail japanese and usa version too. got no luck. it does not recognize the wiikey config disc as well

    so i cant reinstall homebrew and my wii is sort of semi-bricked

    i can run all my previous installed wiiware games from sd card. i can play them all. but i cant run discs and install new ones

    my fear about that is to break the connection between the disc drive and wii while i attempt to remove de solder, i could burn the circuits. is there a safe way to remove my wiikey? it is preventing the booting of all my discs
     
  13. urherenow

    Member urherenow GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,526
    Location:
    Japan
    Country:
    United States
    again, the wiikey config disc doesn't care about region at all. RUN THE CONFIG DISK! of THAT doesn't run then either the drive itself or the Wiikey is damaged. Period.
     
  14. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I just don't see how that is possible. The disc is executed by the Wii -> the system menu has to like it. And the system menu never liked discs from other regions. And if that disc is truly region free, then i don't see why the chip can't make at least gamecube games region free working, even on 4.3.
     
  15. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Going back to my original statement that the OP needs to buy/rent a US copy of one of the exploitable games.
     
  16. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Hmm, when playing games from discs, did you notice stutter in cutscenes and such? There's a chance your chip doesn't even work and you can just play NTSC-U discs. How sure are you that you 1. have 4.3u? and 2. you tried a retail NTSC-U disc? Oh and please don't only try with SSBB NTSC-U, it's double layer and the wii doesn't really like double layer discs.
     
  17. urherenow

    Member urherenow GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,526
    Location:
    Japan
    Country:
    United States
    My bad... I forgot that the config is loaded from the system menu. If you don't have the latest firmware, the config disc will upgrade the Wiikey BEFORE the Wii system menu even kicks in. In this case it might reset the region settings on the Wiikey.

    Does the OP have firmware 1.9s or 1.99beta installed on the WiiKey already? If not, booting with the new firmware disc may solve the problem.

    I have a Wiikey 2, so the firmware and config disc is one in the same. If your firmware needs updating, then it will do so on its own before you get to the Wii system menu. After that I guess you would be screwed. But you know what? I don't think I've run the config disc since before 4.2 so my Wiikey2 is probably still set for region free. I was still able to hack my Wii just fine (the region free on the chip simply didn't work anymore, but it didn't cause the system to not read ANY discs)

    The Wiikey (original) has a firmware only disc, so perhaps it will allow you to reinstall the firmware? I'd try that, but in light of my region free setting not causing me problems, I'm leaning towards the drive itself failing.


    AND edit #500: Why doesn't the OP run the USA Firmware disc to see if it will install? The firmware is definitely done before any Wii system files are loaded.
     
  18. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I think your firmware discs were executed before the system menu because of a hack that is very similar to the region-free hack the chips use. The autoboot hack that also allows to autoboot game discs. Well, it could be executed by the drive itself, which would be indeed very smart. Does that firmware disc have any output on the screen? If yes, it actually runs on the wii -> won't work.

    PS: If the modchip manufactures were smart, the chip would identify the firmware/config disc, automatically install the contained firmware and reset the settings. Just as fail safe for situations like this. But i don't actually expect any of them to be smart enough to do something like this, or alternatively something better of course.
     
  19. rsyss
    OP

    Newcomer rsyss Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    82
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thank you all very much for the support

    i manage to hack my wii again, my friend borrow me his wii dvd drive unit. i removed mine and installed his, then i could run original discs. so i got lego exploit and hacked my wii back.

    after that i returned his drive unit, reinstalled mine and all got back to normal.

    i still cant run any disc via disc channel like ever, but now i can run all my discs via homebrew channel, gecko or neogamma. everything is just like before.

    wiikey is the guilty but i cant remove it, i dont have the skills to do it properly. now i will be more careful to prevent another inconvenient update from nintendo.

    wiikey + 4.3u could be a problem, but you have the option to borrow a drive ou buy another. if you have the means you must remove the chip.

    this chip was useful but now it sucks. softmode is better

    thank you all again, this forum is the best
     
  20. Ryoku83

    Member Ryoku83 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Canada
    If 4.3 and your wiikey aren't working well together you could always use modmii downgrade to another lower System menu (wouldn't recommend downgrading but its another option).
     

Share This Page