Is there a way to back up my Golden Sun: DD save file?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by Smash Br0, Jan 4, 2011.

  1. Smash Br0
    OP

    Member Smash Br0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    I'm talking about backing up the save file from the legit retail card, of course. I'm borrowing the real game from a friend, but I'd like to save a copy of my save file when I'm done... Is there any way to do that?

    Right now, I only have an old DSTT for my DS Lite, but I may get a Supercard DSTWO soon. I was thinking about getting an EZ Flash 3-in-1, but I'd rather save the $20... Unless it's the only way I can make a backup of my save file?

    I also have an Action Replay MAX DUO, by the way... I think it has a backup/restore feature, but I heard it doesn't work on some games?

    Thanks in advance for any info or advice!
     
  2. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The NDS backup 3in1 tool detects the GSDD game. It can dump the save and the rom from the retail game.

    The NDS adaptor plus also detects GSDD and can dump the save.
     
  3. Smash Br0
    OP

    Member Smash Br0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the info. Is the "NDS backup 3in1" tool hardware or software, though? I guess I can just look it up... Unless you have a link?

    I take it that I can't back up my save with my DSTT or AR MAX DUO...?
     
  4. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    First one is a homebrew app you run from slot1. You will need a 3in1 to use this.
    If you got a 3in1+ (v3): http://filetrip.net/f9407-NDS-Backup-Tool-3in1-0-31a.html
    If you got a 3in1 (v1 or v2): http://filetrip.net/f2486-NDS-Backup-Tool-3in1-0-31.html

    You shouldn't have a problem with running it on a DSTT, you still need a 3in1 to use. Wood dumper should work too.

    The other one is an actual usb cart reader. I bought mine here:
    http://www.renchi.com/renchi/NINTENDO_DSi_...dapter_Plus.htm


    Any of these will dump the save you need. If you use an AR anything, you will need to convert the save file format.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Smash Br0
    OP

    Member Smash Br0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    If you use an AR anything, you will need to convert the save file format.

    Would you please tell me more about this, or link me to a guide? I'd like to get this save file dumped ASAP, so if my AR MAX DUO will do the job, I'd prefer to use it. I just need to know how to convert the save file, right?

    (thanks for the info on the EZ Flash 3-in-1 - I do plan to get one eventually. Is the EZ Flash V you posted a picture of the same as the 3-in-1? And what's the difference between the regular 3-in-1 and the 3-in-1 plus?)
     
  6. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Action Replay devices save format for NDS save files is *.DUC. You can use shuny's online file converter.
     
  7. Smash Br0
    OP

    Member Smash Br0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    Well, it doesn't look like my AR MAX DUO can rip Golden Sun: DD save files properly. I saved the file to the device, copied to my PC, sent the save to my DSTT, and... It doesn't work. I only get the "initializing" message every time, along with empty save files.

    I tried naming it both "Golden Sun - Dark Dawn (U)" and "Golden Sun - Dark Dawn (U).sav", but neither worked, so I suspect the save file is just too complex for my AR MAX DUO to rip correctly. :/
     
  8. xakota

    Member xakota GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United States
    Did you convert it properly with shunyweb?
     
  9. Smash Br0
    OP

    Member Smash Br0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, from .dss to .sav (DSTT), using Shuny's online converter...?
     
  10. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You probably want to get a AR DSi, AR MAX DUO isn't updated anymore. You can get one at walmart for like 20 bucks.
     
  11. Smash Br0
    OP

    Member Smash Br0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    I've got an Action Replay DS, but it does not have the ability to read/write save files, that I know of...

    If it can somehow, please let me know. [​IMG]
     
  12. how_do_i_do_that

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,811
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The AR DSi is a alot less fugly at navigation and saves to a microSD.


    To dump the save on a AR DS you have to be connected to the computer. The game manager program does the save dumping, not the device itself. I don't see a dump save button, nevermind.
     
  13. junn

    Member junn .

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    383
    Location:
    Somewhere
    Country:
    United States
    probably it should work,
    i tested a dragon quest IX retail cart and it works.
    as in this pic:
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    won't work on pokemon soul silver though,you need a NDS adaptor plus.
    btw,action replay max duo save output is in .DST format.
     
  14. Smash Br0
    OP

    Member Smash Br0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    504
    Country:
    United States
    I couldn't get my AR MAX DUO to rip the GS: DD save properly. After it would say "Checking EEPROM...", the connection to the PC would drop.

    It's not a big deal...
     

Share This Page