Is there a way for me to AP patch an English version of Tomodachi Collection?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by RandomRows, Jun 14, 2019.

  1. RandomRows
    OP

    RandomRows Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 14, 2019
    United States
    In between space and time.
    I want to play Tomodachi Collection, but it crashes (gets stuck on a white screen) after it tells me to make a mii. Is it AP patching?
    If not, is there a fix?
     
  2. PityOnU

    PityOnU GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    5
    Jul 5, 2012
    United States
    how are you running it?
     
  3. RandomRows
    OP

    RandomRows Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 14, 2019
    United States
    In between space and time.
    I'm using Twilight Menu ++ on a New 2DS XL.
    I patched the file using a premade patcher.
     
  4. PityOnU

    PityOnU GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    5
    Jul 5, 2012
    United States
    There are a million different things that can go wrong with ROM's and patching.

    Are you sure the ROM file you have is a clean dump to begin with?
    Are you sure it is the correct revision of the game targeted by the patch (some games have multiple releases/revisions)?
    Is the patch you are using even meant to be used on a clean dump?
    Have you tried running the ROM file without the patch?
    Can the ROM run in an emulator?

    EDIT - I see that Tomodachi Collection was never actually released in English, suggesting you have already applied a translation patch. Patches on top of patches are no bueno.
     
    Last edited by PityOnU, Jun 14, 2019
  5. RandomRows
    OP

    RandomRows Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 14, 2019
    United States
    In between space and time.
    The patcher doesn\t except anything BUT the correct version.
    I'm not sure what a clean dump means.
    No, I haven't ran the file without a patch or emulator.
    I'll try those an let you know.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Okay. So does that mean that there's nothing I can do?
     
  6. JoeGrom

    JoeGrom Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 13, 2019
    United States
    I'm having a similar problem. The english patched rom that I have runs on desmume fine as far as I can tell but NDS Bootstrap seems to be having some problems. I tried AP patching the english rom with both xdelta and the DS Scene Rom Tool but as stated above it doesn't look like the patches can stack on each other. What we need is a combination AP and translation patch, all in one file. I can't find anything like that online though.
     
  7. Sophie-bear

    Sophie-bear The Coolest Bear Around

    Member
    6
    Jan 4, 2017
    United States
    I'll make a dual patch for it a little later and follow up here.
     
  8. Sophie-bear

    Sophie-bear The Coolest Bear Around

    Member
    6
    Jan 4, 2017
    United States
    Here it is. This should work on a clean v1.1 ROM and apply both the English Translation Patch (v0.8) and the Anti-Piracy Patch.
     
  9. colinthomas5

    colinthomas5 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 11, 2019
    United States
    I just tried using your dual patch on my fresh 1.1 rom and xdelta did not want to patch the rom. Any ideas?
     
    Sophie-bear likes this.
  10. Sophie-bear

    Sophie-bear The Coolest Bear Around

    Member
    6
    Jan 4, 2017
    United States
    You may either need to disable Checksum validation on your patcher (in Delta Patcher, this is done by clicking on the cog next to the Apply patch button) or make sure your ROM has the MD5 checksum "52623C499D4B7C63FCCC9E6707028682".
     
  11. colinthomas5

    colinthomas5 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 11, 2019
    United States
    Haven't been able to find a rom with that MD5 checksum, but will update once one is found and report back with the results!

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Also to note: haven't gotten working with a rom with a different MD5 checksum if I disable Checksum validation.
     
  12. EthanF44

    EthanF44 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Monday
    Canada
    Brampton (Canada's India), Ont
    [QUOTE="Sophie-bear, post: 8708494, member: 410237"]Here it is. This should work on a clean v1.1 ROM and apply both the English Translation Patch (v0.8) and the Anti-Piracy Patch.[/QUOTE]
    It doesn't patch.
     
  13. RandomRows
    OP

    RandomRows Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 14, 2019
    United States
    In between space and time.
  14. EthanF44

    EthanF44 Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Monday
    Canada
    Brampton (Canada's India), Ont
    nvmd @Sophie-bear reached out and gave me a clean ROM of Tomodachi Collection to patch and it worked.
     
  15. RandomRows
    OP

    RandomRows Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Jun 14, 2019
    United States
    In between space and time.
    It worked! Thanks!
     
Loading...