Is there a downside to force R/W?

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by Destructobot, Nov 3, 2006.

Nov 3, 2006
  1. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Does Force R/W ever cause problems? Is there any reason not to use it on every game I load onto the G6 lite?
     
  2. Killermech

    Member Killermech Cookie Monster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,809
    Country:
    Sweden
    On all the new releases, i've been checking the 'Force R/W'. Hasn't caused any freezing or anything so I don't see why not.
     
  3. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I've also been using that option for all the new releases, and it hasn't caused any problems for me. The question is, if this option only increases compatibility without any drawbacks, why can you turn it off? Shouldn't it at least be enabled by default?
     
  4. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe it changes a few things like soft reset that might affect something like download play. just a hunch. I only use it when it won't work without it.
     
  5. wabo

    Member wabo GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    i never used once the "Force R/W" option on my M3 and i NEVER had any problems. All games works and save just fine.
     
  6. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    quite simply, no there isn't a downside, it's just to force read/write from the flashcart instead of slot1 on some games that's adamant about working from slot1 without the new software being out already to properly patch the game.
     
  7. Deaddy

    Member Deaddy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    568
    Country:
    Canada
    I've used it once, Need for Speed Carbon seems to require it, and see no downside. soft reset works, it loads fast, saves fine.
     
  8. wabo

    Member wabo GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I play NFS carbon and i didnt use it. Game works & save fine
     
  9. Destructobot
    OP

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I've had to use the force r/w option to get several recent games (including NFS Carbon) to work on my G6. I hate having to reload the games with different options, so I usually turn force r/w on just in case it's needed.

    The M3 doesn't use the same software as the G6 does it? Perhaps the M3 loader/flasher is better in this regard.
     
  10. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    similar on m3, but it's nto too much trouble to check force r/w before you hit the ok button.
     

Share This Page