Is the M3DS Real Rumble Pack compatible with other Slot1 Carts

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Dark^'^Knigh, Jul 29, 2008.

  1. Dark^'^Knigh
    OP

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm wondering whether the Rumble Pack works with an R4 (or any other Slot1, for that matter)?

    edit: reason for question = my son has a phat console with a new m3ds real. thinking about giving/selling it to a friend to go with their ds lite / R4 setup.
     
  2. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    This is a guess, so don't take my word for it, but I'd think that the M3 rumble pack would behave the same way as an official rumble pack and work with any game pak or flashcart, but the rumble RAM pack would not work with game paks or other flashcarts. That's just a guess though.

    If you want a rumble pack that will work with any cart, you can get the eWin rumble pack from dealextreme.com for just over $4 shipped worldwide.
     
  3. Beanor

    Newcomer Beanor Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    ok, I have the chinese m3 with the files prescribed earlier in the thread. when I try to load a rom from the sakura: it gives me "filesystem error 1"

    When I launch the Itouch, works fine.

    any way to rid myself of the filesystem error? I didnt have to use 2 apps before and its gonna be annoying having to run the app just to play games. sudgestions?

    oh, I also tried to do my research as you can always find SOMETHING in there to try and remedy just about anything...all I found about this particular error is that it happens when somone tries to patch the [g6dsload.GB] I have not done this and I tried other versions (original m3, hacked, etc...) and have various results: none of which end in practical function. helpmuch?
     
  4. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I think you replied to the wrong thread.
     
  5. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    it might work but is not really worth it
    there are only few games compatible with the rumble pack
     
  6. Dark^'^Knigh
    OP

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    reason for question = my son has a phat console with a new m3ds real (with 'free' rumble pack).
    If it does work with other slot1 carts, thinking about giving/selling it to a friend to go with their ds lite / R4 setup.
     
  7. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    You could quite possibly test it yourself and tell us the results before we can give you a solid answer.
     
  8. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    rumble-ram certainly works with real gamepacks.
    i tested it with metroid prime hunters(only rumble game i have) and i did get rumble.
    also, the rumble ram's ram functions have been tested to work with an R4.

    so i see no reason why the rumble wouldn't work on other flashcarts/games.
     
  9. Dark^'^Knigh
    OP

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah, it does work with the R4 (tried it on Metroid Prime Pinball). What a load of crap the DS Rumble 'feature' is!
     
  10. DarkRey

    Member DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Location:
    Rotating around Toni
    Country:
    Croatia
    happy that u found out
     
  11. Dark^'^Knigh
    OP

    Member Dark^'^Knigh GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2007
    Messages:
    1,043
    Location:
    Paradise
    Country:
    Australia
    It's enough to drive a man to [​IMG] lol......I'm surprised any game manufacturer would even bother incorporating it into their releases. Not sure if I've got the heart to sell the Rumble Pack to my friend,instead might give it to some "property disadvantaged" person lying in the street to stir their mudslice coffee with.
     
  12. xJonny

    Member xJonny ...

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,395
    Country:
    It gets detected on the DS firmware that it is an DS option Pack or something, so it most likely acts like an official one.
     
  13. o RedSheLL x

    Member o RedSheLL x GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Houston TX
    Country:
    United States
    Ya I know what U mean. And yes it is compatible. But the rumble duz suck.
    "instead might give it to some "property disadvantaged" person lying in the street to stir their mudslice coffee with"
    Do that instead [​IMG].
     

Share This Page