is swapping drives between 360's possible?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by shemmy, Nov 1, 2011.

Nov 1, 2011
  1. shemmy
    OP

    Newcomer shemmy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    my launch 360 has finally given up and bitten the dust. i've got another 360 - a slim - so it's not so bad. however, a friend has offered to give me his 360 that is suffering from the "open tray" error and i have a question. both machines are the fat model, mine is a non-hdmi, his has hdmi. can i just take the good drive from my now dead system and stick it in the other xbox?

    there's been no jiggery-pokery done with either machine, no flashing, etc, neither is banned from live. has anyone tried something similar, and, if so, what was the result?
     
  2. Devin

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    It's a bit more complicated than that. You'd need to grab the keys from your friend's disc drive, and flash it to the new one. Otherwise if you just throw your drive in your friend's Xbox 360 it would only allow you to play DVDs,and not games. I'm not sure exactly how spoofing a drive works, but it may be possible in your case. If not, you could always buy the same model Disc Drive your friend's Xbox 360 has, and flash the keys from the old disc drive so that it would work. (Play games.)
     
  3. 431unknown

    Member 431unknown Greatness Awaits

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,055
    Country:
    United States
    Depends on a number of circumstances, refere to this thread on Xbox-Scene for more info.

    Edit: have you tried to flash your friends drive with CFW yet? I had a box witha drive that gave me an oped drive error and flashed it and never had a problem since. It might not work but it's worth a shot and if you can get some millage out of a quick fix like that it's worth it. My messed up drive was a Benq.
     
  4. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,873
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You can swap them and make them work, but you'll get banned from live since you need to spoof the old non HDMI drive to the HDMI drive.
    Spoofing DVD drives is detectable by MS.

    Its better to just RGH your friends console and spoof the DVD drive from your dead 360 to it.
    If you really want Live on the console you'll need to buy the exact DVD drive and flash the keys on it.
     
  5. shemmy
    OP

    Newcomer shemmy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks for the replys. i should have known it wouldn't be as simple as throwing the drive from one box into the other.

    both drives appear to be of the benq variety (peeked through the little hole to check the cable). guess i'll just open them up and give it a go. nothing lost if it all goes bad.
     
  6. 431unknown

    Member 431unknown Greatness Awaits

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,055
    Country:
    United States

    If they are both Benqs that would make it alot easier for you.
     
  7. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,873
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If their both Ben-q just crack them open, Dump the keys of the dead drive.
    Spoof them on the working drive.
    Reassemble and enjoy ;]
     
  8. dilav

    Member dilav GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,225
    Country:
    United States
    Ben-Q drives do not require any equipment to flash besides a compatible SATA chipset. You should be able to dump firmware of both drives and erase and flash it onto the other using Jungle Flasher, DosFlash..

    If they are the same drive and you can solder, just switch the circuit boards. Or it can be as simple as cutting/splicing wires. The open tray error can occur due to stuck mechanisms or bad laser. Switching or cleaning them might work.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. shemmy
    OP

    Newcomer shemmy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i meant to respond earlier... but forgot.

    thanks to everyone who chipped in with advice. i was able to cobble together one working xbox from the two busted ones. well... my brother-in-law did all the hard work.
     
  10. DinohScene

    Member DinohScene The Gift of Dino

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2011
    Messages:
    12,873
    Location:
    В небо
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You're very welcome sir.
     

Share This Page