Is my wii's usb port dead ?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by patientx, Jul 8, 2010.

Jul 8, 2010

Is my wii's usb port dead ? by patientx at 7:37 PM (2,677 Views / 0 Likes) 31 replies

  1. patientx
    OP

    Newcomer patientx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Turkey
    Hi there.I softmodded my wii for over two years and have been using cfg-usbloader without any problem.Up until now everything was working perfect. Yesterday when I opened cfgusbloader as usual, the countdown contniued and went to 30 saying in cant find my usb hdd which was working just a day ago.First I thought hdd might be damaged or corrupted so I formatted it just put one game in it and tried again.I converted it to wbfs and later ntsc nothing happened fat32,ntfs,wbfs always loader couldnt find it.So I tried other hdd's and usb drives wihch I formated to fat32 and ntfs, they werent detected either. I thought maybe loader is faulty so changed to another card and just put loader in it it still didnt see the hdd's. I tried gx loader and wiiflow too. gx wont open and wiiflow just waited at the loading screen forever. And lastly I tried am usb keyboard on that specific usb port to see if it is working , which to my suprrise worked on mii channel... Now what do you tihnk guys ? Is it realy the port at fault here ? If so what are my options ?

    Thanks.
     


  2. gameboy13

    Member gameboy13 Orange and fluffy since 1995.

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    976
    Location:
    The Fur Side.
    Country:
    United States
    Which port are you using? You need to use the port closest to the edge of the Wii.
     
  3. patientx
    OP

    Newcomer patientx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Turkey
    Thanks for remending but, of course I am using that one [​IMG]
     
  4. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    have you updated your cIOS's lately and correctly setup the HDD
     
  5. patientx
    OP

    Newcomer patientx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Turkey
    Nope no cios or system update lately.I just updated usb loader but thats irrelevant because other loaders dont work too...
     
  6. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    it cant be the port because if you can power up and use a USB keyboard the ports still live and kicking, it means its still giving power and data still streaming
     
  7. OncleJulien

    Member OncleJulien tool of peers

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,170
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    could be your cioses are due for an update - you havent mentioned which ones you use and what versions they may be.
     
  8. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    I agree, but ...
    Otherwise it's a very very rare problem with the usb controller.
     
  9. patientx
    OP

    Newcomer patientx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Turkey

    Sorry ut I dont really get this, do we need to update cios's froam time to time like this ? ?t was working yesterday . I didnt change any part of the system.
     
  10. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    when did you first mod your Wii?
    2 years ago so your out dated

    what version cIOS's did you install?
     
  11. bowser

    Member bowser Mwa ha ha ha!

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,177
    Location:
    GBAtemp ↑↑↓↓← → ← →BA
    Country:
    India
    Is your Wii connected to the internet? Maybe it performed a system update and erased your cIOS. What version is your system menu?
     
  12. OncleJulien

    Member OncleJulien tool of peers

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,170
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    and yet it isn't today, and we're trying to help you fix it...and since the cios is pretty much the pathway from the wii to the hard drive, and youve eliminated the hard drive itself as a possibility, it seems like a prudent place to start.
     
  13. patientx
    OP

    Newcomer patientx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Turkey
    Here is the report from signcheck :

    CODEIOS number "Trucha bug" "Flash access" "Boot2 access" "Usb2.0 IOS tree"

    IOS250 (ver 65535) Enabled Disabled Disabled Enabled
    IOS249 (ver 14) Enabled Disabled Disabled Enabled
    IOS223 (ver 4) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS222 (ver 4) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS202 (ver 4) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS70 (ver 6687) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS61 (ver 5405) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS57 (ver 5661) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS56 (ver 5405) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS55 (ver 5406) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS53 (ver 5406) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS38 (ver 3867) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS37 (ver 3869) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS36 (ver 3351) Enabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS35 (ver 3349) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS34 (ver 3348) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS33 (ver 3091) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS31 (ver 3349) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS30 (ver 1040) Enabled Enabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS28 (ver 1550) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS22 (ver 1037) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS20 (ver 12) Enabled Enabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS17 (ver 775) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS14 (ver 520) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS13 (ver 273) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
    IOS12 (ver 269) Disabled Disabled Disabled Disabled
     
  14. pepxl

    Member pepxl GFX W!Z4RD

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    im curios as how yo saying you softmodded your wii 2 years ago yet you have hermes v4 and wanin v14 when you havent updated and those weren't available then and it also looks like your a SM 4.2
     
  15. patientx
    OP

    Newcomer patientx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Turkey
    I meant I started softmodding two years ago.Of course I updated from time to time.I think my last update was 4-5 months ago.
     
  16. patientx
    OP

    Newcomer patientx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Turkey
    Update: I just found out that I can load apps from the usb hdd in homebrew borwser.That confirms my dd is really OK and my usb port is good ? But, I cant run ay loaders from the usb , cfg just hangs and the opening screen.Others wont load.
     
  17. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    did u update your cios already?
     
  18. patientx
    OP

    Newcomer patientx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Turkey
    Did you see the versions on the first page, do I still need an update *
     
  19. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
    yes, u should
    do it and if u still have problems, let us know
     
  20. OncleJulien

    Member OncleJulien tool of peers

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,170
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    but we still dont know which cios you are using with the loader - but it wont be the same one your hbc runs under, thats for sure.

    can we see your config file for cfg?
     

Share This Page