Is my soldering kit OK?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by playallday, Oct 16, 2009.

Oct 16, 2009

Is my soldering kit OK? by playallday at 1:49 AM (1,370 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 23, 2015
  2. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Bumpy.

    Hello...?
     
  3. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    [​IMG]

    What should we write if we don't know WHAT do you try to solder, also nobody need a multimeter to solder.



    Sorry, but your question ist ยง"Q$%&T$R/&(%&.



    Regards
     
  4. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    The multimeter is to test for shorts.

    I'm going to be soldering in modchips.
     
  5. HiBit

    Member HiBit GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    477
    Country:
    Germany
    That is possible with your "kit".
    But with no knowledge - and i think if you ask you have no knowledge - the best solder tip can't help you.

    Sorry, buy it and learn on a dead pc motherboard, a controller card or whatever, but ... ^^


    [​IMG]


    Btw, i suggest to buy a solder tip from weller or ersa.
     
  6. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 23, 2015
  7. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    Hmm... Could I use copper phone wires for installing? I already have a ton of that.
     
  8. Armadillo

    Member Armadillo GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,102
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'd add a stand for the soldering iron and go with normal solder, rather than paste. As for copper phone wire, well that depends, if it's a small enough gauge, then there should be no problems using it, but if it's multicore stuff, then it'll make it a lot harder than if you were using single core. Also I'm unsure exactly what type of wire you mean by copper phone wire, but if it's enamelled wire, then depending how old it is, you might have to sit there scraping the ends with a knife to remove the enamel before you can use it.
     
  9. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 23, 2015
  10. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You would be better with a temperature controllable ESD safe solder station with .2mm conical tips.
    That multimeter looks a bit nasty too. You need a proper bench multimeter and illuminated magnifier. You do realise the probes will be the thickness of like 2 IC pins.
    Do you mean the wire from like a 3 pair telco cable if so I honestly think you should stop now, I don't think you realise the scale of soldering.
     
  11. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 23, 2015
  12. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is too thick.
    Its not you that needs ESD protection only its the iron too! AC fixed wattage irons are rubbish.
     
  13. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sorry just noticed it's a GC modchip not Wii so should be ok.
     
  14. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 23, 2015
  15. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 23, 2015
  16. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 23, 2015
  17. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 23, 2015
  18. olliepop2000

    Member olliepop2000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    North West UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    do you really need to ask
     
  19. playallday
    OP

    Member playallday Group: GBAtemp Ghost

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    3,773
    Location:
    [@N@[)@
    Country:
    Canada
    .
     
    Last edited by playallday, Jun 23, 2015

Share This Page