Is my r4 broken?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Mehdi, Oct 2, 2007.

Oct 2, 2007

Is my r4 broken? by Mehdi at 1:34 AM (1,611 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. Mehdi
    OP

    Member Mehdi Lemonade by Psyfira

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,071
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So here's what happened, I let my 3 year old nephew borrow my Nintendo DS cause I'm a nice uncle. 2 weeks later when my sis brings me the ds back I load the thing and all it says is Loading on the screen. I dont have the adapter for the microsd (left it in a different continent) and now I'm wondering if its possible for someone to accidentally delete files through the menu or through the media option. Can anyone tell me please [​IMG]

    Thanks
     
  2. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    You can delete files from the R4 by pressing x. Then a message appears asking if you are sure that want to delete the file. If you confirm it, the files go bye bye. You can also switch from games to saves to files in the games menu by pressing select. So yes it is possible.
     
  3. Mehdi
    OP

    Member Mehdi Lemonade by Psyfira

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,071
    Country:
    Netherlands
    sweet thanks man, now to verify it myself once I buy the adapter.
     
  4. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Yah I figured that yer little nephew was just ramming the buttons, and accidentally deleted some files. Must have been a thrill to play with one when you're that young. [​IMG]

    After all, NDS, OMG!!!!!
     
  5. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    o_o sorry man, but your R4 might be busted...

    AFAIK, you can't delete folders with files inside, or system files...

    Maybe I'm wrong, maybe I'm right. (=P)
     
  6. pkprostudio

    Member pkprostudio No

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, you can. The same way you delete everything.
     
  7. Nero

    Member Nero GBAtemp RPG Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,919
    Country:
    United States
    pkprostudio, try it yourself.

    Try deleting a Folder with some files inside.

    IIRC, for me, it says: Can't delete non-empty DIR or system files.
     
  8. fastvipa14

    Newcomer fastvipa14 Newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    he could've went to ds organize and deleted it from there. but why would you let him borrow an easy break system in the first place?
     
  9. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Cuz, like he said, he's a nice uncle. [​IMG]
     
  10. BakuFunn

    Member BakuFunn Flameproof.

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    But a little kid will go into DSO and click on browser, scroll to the system files, click a few L's, and click delete? I dont think so. I think that it just got busted. Buy another card reader and try it out or get another r4
     
  11. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Being a kid, he's probably like OMG FLASHING LIGHTS!!! OMG OMG OMG SHIIIIINY.

    Anyways, he's three years old, has no idea wth he is doing, and just randomly smashed the buttons and touch screen. Just deleted files by accident. Happens to me too, sometimes. I admit.

    EDIT: HE also may have just dropped the DS and somehow busted the R4, I dunno. Anything is possible.
     
  12. R1C3 N1NJA

    Member R1C3 N1NJA GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 13, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United States
    or maybe it can just be ure micro sd card :]] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  13. DarkAura

    Member DarkAura Offline

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,388
    Location:
    Over there.
    Country:
    Canada
    Yah, but if his SD was damaged, then the R4 shouldn't be able to read anything at all, and this message that says cannot find SD/TF card will show up when you boot it up. Can't be the SD.
     
  14. striderx

    Member striderx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Beg, borrow or steal an adapter. Hell, you need another microSD card and SD adapter anyway, right?

    Copy what's on the suspect card to the harddrive of the donor computer.

    Reformat the card and then copy the stuff back to it from the harddrive.

    If that fails, reformat again then download and install the latest firmware to see if that works. Then add yer favorite files afterward and see if they work.

    You said you're getting the "Loading..." splash screen, so the R4 is making contact with the DS. I had a problem with my 1st gen R4 for a while where the DS failed to see the R4 at all. A few layers of paper (3-layers of folded Post-It note to be specific) slipped in between the label-side of the R4 and the DS slot forced contact and it worked after that. Since then I keep my kids' grubby hands away from my R4 (they have their own now!) and swab the contacts with isopropyl alcohol every now and then. Haven't had R4 detection problems in weeks... but I digress. [​IMG]

    Good luck!

    striderx
     

Share This Page