Is my new Acekard 2i just flat out broke ass?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by iamnot_bob_dole, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. iamnot_bob_dole
    OP

    Newcomer iamnot_bob_dole Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, so I ordered a shiny new acekard 2i from their website. It is not a knock off, or appears to be physically damaged in any way.

    I formated the card to fat32 and installed the firmware EXACTLY as multiple tutorials have instructed.

    I have tried multiple versions of the firmware, both their software and the homebrew one, of several different versions.

    I have tried it before and after placing a backup file on the card.

    I have basically done everything shy of sacrificing a goat to the dark lords of emulation.

    Every single time, without fail, the DS loads up and says "no card".

    I've heard that having a DS lite, which I have, can cause issues. Is this the sort of issue others have run into?

    Does anyone have any suggestions at all for me?

    Do these cards sometimes come broken?

    Has anyone tried to do a return with the company? If so, what should I expect? (I know, it's Hong Kong so not a whole lot, right?)


    Please help!!!
     
  2. savior-of-twilig

    Newcomer savior-of-twilig Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Escondido, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Try putting a piece of paper between the cartridge and the inside of the DS. If it is a contact problem, that will fix it.
     
  3. iamnot_bob_dole
    OP

    Newcomer iamnot_bob_dole Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    You know what, I misspoke about one detail...

    I didn't get it directly from them...

    I got it from www.dealextreme.com

    Are they known for selling fraud cards?

    I also didn't realize that the fraud cards look exactly like the real ones...
     
  4. Danny Tanner

    Member Danny Tanner GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    361
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    There's a stickied thread that tells you how to spot a fake on the AK board. Also, as the user before said it sounds like a contact issue.
     
  5. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Nope it should be real. Try to use the Paper Trick and clean the contacts.
     
  6. frdv

    Newcomer frdv Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    Brazil
    what system do you have? (NDSi or NDS)
    i think that you have an NDSi and you do not update your flashcard with 1.4 firmware (Danny Phantom icon)

    if is it, please take a look at this thread bellow:
    http://www.gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=174529

    if isn't.. sorry

    (i bought one from DX.. and after read this thread.. everything is fine)
     
  7. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    He has a DSLite. Like the other Tempers on this post said, try the paper trick. Its obviously a contact issue, DX doesn't sell fake cards.

    ~ Jon
     

Share This Page