Is My Korean Wii Pal or NTSC???

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by darkrai1009, May 26, 2009.

May 26, 2009
  1. darkrai1009
    OP

    Newcomer darkrai1009 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Philippines
    is my korean wii pal or ntsc???i need to know bcoz im gonna use duplicate channel remver that is pal,,,,My wii is converted to 3.2u so i have an english menu...
     
  2. dlxowhd

    Member dlxowhd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    korean wii is neither pal nor ntsc.
    it has its own region (korean).
    so if you try to run pal or ntsc or ntsc-j on unmodded korean wii, they won't run.
    korean wii is designed to run korean-region specific titles only.
     
  3. jefffisher

    Member jefffisher GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,235
    Country:
    United States
    It's NTSC
     
  4. KamuiX

    Member KamuiX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Greece
    Yeah maybe korean Wii use NTSC format as standar (i don't know the korean's format). But the firmware maybe let's say 3.2K or 4.0K (not E or U or J) this means korean specific firmware and also korean specific channels i think.
     
  5. dlxowhd

    Member dlxowhd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    it's not ntsc.
    just try running ntsc or ntsc-j games on korean wii... it won't work.
     
  6. powser

    Newcomer powser Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    I have a korean wii, but the shop owner flashed english firmware on it before selling.

    Generally u can always use anyregion changer to check (make sure u get one that supports korean firmware). If you don't know what i'm talking about, it's best not to do anything.
     
  7. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    neither.

    it has its own firmware K, it even had a korean specific firmware release or 3.5 or something
    Korean = K, whereas:

    PAL = E
    US = U
    JPN = J

    so none of them will work probably XD

    any title delete duplicate channels?
     
  8. Slade.AU

    Member Slade.AU GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    Australia
    Are you seriously that dense ? I almost never attack people in a post, but honestly... The stupidity in this post frightens me.

    The OP is asking what TV standard his Wii outputs. Not what region it is. Spend 10 seconds in Google and you'd know that PAL and NTSC are two different TV standards, and have little to do with region, other than groups of people / countries (or regions!) often adopt one standard over another (and lets not go into the myriad of sub-standards nor will I delve into SECAM).

    So here is a page that tells provides you with the information you need.

    ps. if you're too lazy to go read it: South Korea is NTSC-M
     
  9. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    from these three things you can clearly see he is NOT talking about TV output.

    he needs to know what region his wii is so he can use a program designed for that specific wii region.


    and if you have converted to 3.2U then what do you think it is??
     
  10. Smartpal

    Member Smartpal The Guitar Guy

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,037
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Country:
    India
    I think it's PAL, I have one myself.
     
  11. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,359
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    he converted it to 3.2U so its obviously not PAL is it?

    yours is probably region changed too.
     
  12. powser

    Newcomer powser Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    like i said, anyregion changer will be able to tell you which video standard you are on...

    or atleast it has the ability to change it.
     
  13. raptor5001

    Newcomer raptor5001 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United States
    South Korea is NTSC, as said many times in this thread.

    Source: I lived there.
     
  14. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Just run the anyregion changer and see for yourself which video mode it's using... you can change it too...
    If it's converted to 3.2U then software wise it's NTSC-U (region of the wii)
     
  15. dlxowhd

    Member dlxowhd GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    382
    Country:
    United States
    he didn't mention anything about tv or video mode... not even 1 word.. my stupidity might frigten you, but your stupidity is just mind-boggling.
     

Share This Page