Is my internal battery dead?

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by rendil, Aug 9, 2006.

Aug 9, 2006

Is my internal battery dead? by rendil at 5:47 PM (830 Views / 0 Likes) 3 replies

  1. rendil
    OP

    Newcomer rendil Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    I'm using a chinese G6 Lite with v4.1b software on it. I've had it for nearly 2 weeks and I've never been able to save in a game, turn off the DS, and have the save written when turning it back on. The only way to get the "saving data ... please do not turn power off" (I don't know the english wording) screen to show up is to use a soft reset or very quickly turn the power off and back on.

    I decided to let the G6 Lite charge in its USB cradle overnight, but that didn't seem to fix it.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. yuwing

    Member yuwing GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    Canada
    sounds like a dead battery... but since i don't have a G6, I can't be 100% sure
     
  3. XxMxVxPxX

    Member XxMxVxPxX GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    i thought the g6 lite batter was rechargeable. anyway it sound like you picked that option when you patched the rom
     
  4. rendil
    OP

    Newcomer rendil Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Picked what option? You mean the ability to soft reset? I'm not complaining about the ability to soft reset, but rather the necessity to do so.

    The battery is supposed to be rechargeable. Mine just doesn't seem to be working. The battery is supposed to keep the SRAM from clearing so that I can come back hours/days/weeks later and still have my save be permanently stored to the flash drive.

    As it stands, I need to reset so that my SRAM doesn't lose power and clear the save. Which, quite honestly, isn't that bad. But there have been a few times where I've forgotten and lost my progress.

    I guess I'm just hoping there's an easy solution.

    Has anyone ever replaced their battery? I opened up the unit and it looks like I should be able to just pull it out and put in my own, but I'm wary of breaking it.
     

Share This Page