Is my DSTwo safe to use on my Zelda LE 3DS?

Discussion in 'Supercard' started by Doyouwantaspoon, Jan 25, 2012.

Jan 25, 2012
  1. Doyouwantaspoon
    OP

    Newcomer Doyouwantaspoon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    I heard that your 3DS can get bricked if you use flashcarts on them, so I need to ffind out first.. I have the Ocarina of Time 3DS that came with the game.Will using my SC DSTwo mess it up?
     
  2. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    Nah, in the past flashcarts have been bricked on the 3DS, but never the system.
    Things have changed though. We're pretty much safe if you update your things in the proper order.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. Doyouwantaspoon
    OP

    Newcomer Doyouwantaspoon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    I have been out of the DS scene for quite a while.. Can you give me some quick tips? I am pretty sure I need to update mt DS2's firmware, but I don't remember how or how to check what version I have.. What is the most current firmware?
     
  4. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    You're safe to put the cart in the 3DS. If it shows a "fake" game in the menu then it will work already with the firmware you have.
    If it doesn't show anything then you'll need to use an original ds, ds lite, or a dsi / 3DS with a low firmware that the SC works on to update the card. If you don't have one, hopefully you can borrow one from someone.

    I've heard something about DSTWO being able to update on any firmware, though. But I'm not sure.
    I don't know the specifics anymore, but I used to own a dstwo and I just saw your question, so.. (:
    Hopefully someone else can come along and help you out with the exact steps.
     
  5. Majorami

    Banned Majorami Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    1st off the Zelda 3DS is just like any other 3DS. I don't know if you were being specific because you thought the appearance matters, or that you just wanna brag. Its ok... its a system worth bragging about.

    And like above, you will be presented with 2 possible outcomes when running a DSTwo on a 3DS.

    If the 3DS firmware is of a version that does not yet block your current DSTwo firmware, you're good to go.
    If the 3DS firmware is of a version that does block your current DSTwo firmware, there is a way to bypass the block without needing another system.

    Simply go to the DSTwo Download page, download the update file, put on root, and rename it with "-b" at the end.
    You may also take this time to also include any other updates and patches to put on the SD card.
    Place SD card in DSTwo, run on 3DS.

    If you still get a blank screen, wait up to 3 minutes to power-off the DS. I'm no expert, but supposably the cart is running a background patching process. Just to be safe, allow the cart some time to run any background updates. After 3 minutes, Power off the 3DS and power back on. You should see a NDS Icon for an x title game. This shows that the 3DS can now boot the DSTwo.

    Also take note there there are some 3DS settings to take care of before booting the DSTwo, as you can't change them in DS Mode. #1 is you can only adjust your system's brightness settings before booting. DSTwo's GUI does not control these settings like on a DSLite.
    #2 You will need to activate the systems wifi before booting should you want to play games online. Having Wifi on on a no-wifi game will drain battery that you're not using. Although you cannot turn Wifi on in DSMode, you can turn it off, so you don't need to reset the system if you turn disable it. Though you will need to reset should you want to re-enable.
    #3 Last to consider before booting the DSTwo is what resolution to play in. Regular booting method is regular. Though holding Select button before boot will scale your NDS games to their native resolution.
     
  6. Doyouwantaspoon
    OP

    Newcomer Doyouwantaspoon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, awesome. My DSTwo comes up as Alex Rider Stormbreaker in my 3DS, so I guess that means it's good to go! Thanks a ton man.

    No no no, Iwasn't bragging or anything stupid like that, I was just clarifying exactly what model i had in case there were any hardware revisions..

    But thanks for the tips on how to update, and the bit about how to make games their native resolution, I appreciate it!
     
  7. Majorami

    Banned Majorami Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Country:
    United States
    Its okay to brag. Everyone knows its the sweetest 3DS
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. Themanhunt

    Member Themanhunt GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No worries mate, nothing bad will hapen. I use an Acekard, DSTWO and an R4i Gold 3DS on my Zelda 3DS and have had no problems. Running on latest firmware, too.
     
  9. warmo161

    Newcomer warmo161 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    A house
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wait, its just select? I thought it was both start and select, oh and I think it scales DSi-ware stuff too. As it does with 4 swords, oh and somthing cool happens when you do this on GB games :)
     

Share This Page