Hardware Is my computer old?

xcalibur

Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
3,163
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Sacred Heart
XP
667
Country
Maybe you should get some more ram...
I haven't heard good things about the core duo processors so you might want to get a core 2 duo.

Except for that you're fine but that doesn't mean your computer is the greatest either.
 

superrob

H4X H4X H4X!
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2007
Messages
2,464
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
GBATemp factory.
Website
zabbo.dk
XP
349
Country
2.16 Ghz Core Duo
- Keep that.

1 GB RAM.
- 1 GB more wont hurt.

24x DVD drive.
- Fine

15 inch monitor.
- 15 INCH???? How can you survive with that little monitor??

256 MB ATI Radeon x1600 Pro with Avivo.
- Nice but if you are a hardcore gamer get a never card.

100 GB HDD.
- Maybe a little bit small...
 

JPH

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Jul 11, 2006
Messages
6,881
Trophies
0
Website
jphtemp.net
XP
1,140
Country
United States
Maybe you should get some more ram...
I haven't heard good things about the core duo processors so you might want to get a core 2 duo.

Except for that you're fine but that doesn't mean your computer is the greatest either.

No, I'd have to disagree - 1gb of RAM is sufficient for almost all needs
wink.gif


And dude, your computer is old if you bought it like 5 years ago.


...or where you just making this topic to brag on how awesome your computer is?
biggrin.gif
 

Mewgia

drifter
Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2006
Messages
2,161
Trophies
0
Age
105
Location
Boston, MA
Website
Visit site
XP
205
Country
United States
Maybe you should get some more ram...
I haven't heard good things about the core duo processors so you might want to get a core 2 duo.

Except for that you're fine but that doesn't mean your computer is the greatest either.


No, I'd have to disagree - 1gb of RAM is sufficient for almost all needs
wink.gif
You obviously don't play many games on your computer. 2GBs ram is basically the minimum now for current games.
 

ZeWarrior

TheWarrior
Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
2,810
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
298
Country
Brazil
Maybe you should get some more ram...
I haven't heard good things about the core duo processors so you might want to get a core 2 duo.

Except for that you're fine but that doesn't mean your computer is the greatest either.


No, I'd have to disagree - 1gb of RAM is sufficient for almost all needs
wink.gif


And dude, your computer is old if you bought it like 5 years ago.


...or where you just making this topic to brag on how awesome your computer is?
biggrin.gif

How awesome His system is? No. His rig isn't awesome. It's meh. It's not bad, it's not all great. His GPU is pretty bad... His CPU should be overclocked ( unless it's a laptop, in this case might as well just give up on upgrading it and buy a desktop ), and he should get another 1GB of RAM. His HDD and Monitor also seem kinda small. Upgrade to a 19'' Widescreen or bigger, and get something like a 250GB HDD.
 

jalaneme

Female Gamer
Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2006
Messages
6,256
Trophies
0
Location
London
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
537
Country
old? my computer is old (pentium 4, 700mb ram), your specs are no way near old lol i hate upgrading anyway as the latest components get out of date very quickly and cost a lot.
 

Banger

Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?
Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2007
Messages
1,781
Trophies
0
Age
35
Website
Visit site
XP
174
Country
United States
At the rate of technology increase mine is technically "old" but it does what I need it so I can not complain. I do need a new DVD burner though 1 of mine is dead/dying.
 

TheNeck

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 27, 2007
Messages
366
Trophies
0
Location
Southern California
Website
Visit site
XP
299
Country
United States
2.16 Ghz Core Duo
perfectly fine

1 GB RAM.
for gaming add 1gig more, if you want to use vista eventually upgrade to 3gigs for 32bit vista, 4gigs for 64bit vista

24x DVD drive.
doesnt matter unless you want to burn dvds, then get a dual layer dvd burner

15 inch monitor.
for gaming get at least a 20" lcd widescreen monitor

256 MB ATI Radeon x1600 Pro with Avivo.
for gaming get at least a nvidia 8800 card, at least 320megs of memory

100 GB HDD
doesnt matter, for gaming 100gigs is ok, but if you d/l alot of stuff, upgrading to a bigger hdd would be nice
 

cubin'

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 12, 2007
Messages
1,865
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
130
Country
Hrmmmz pretty much everyone here has listed good computers. They could play most the latest games with at least low graphics.

Some computer elitists are quite anal about what computers are 'teh sux'. Not everyone needs the newest stuff...yours will get you through just fine
wink.gif
unless you want good graphics on new games

brb computer bout to crash. lol put RAM in the wrong slot. fixed now.

My Specs:

Just got a Athon64 Dual Core 4200+. It's awesome. Upgraded this week from a 3000+ single core
2GB of RAM. Just upgraded from 1GB
7800GT 256MB. It's pretty awesome, had it for a while. I'll probably upgrade it late next year.
Some hard drives
DVD burners n shitz
19' Flatscreen CRT (LCD screens suck)

My computer can play all games fine and is awesome.
 

R-Unit 4

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 22, 2007
Messages
161
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
63
Country
I have a laptop. I was wondering whether it could play Crysis considering the fact that I have a GPU just above the minimum...2 gen's above I think. But the thing is, it said that ' It MAY work with laptop GPUs but is is not supported. So...has anyone tried?

Oh and what settings can I run it on...do I have to run it on low...I settle for nothing less than Med...and this would be the first time I have said that. I usually have high or very high settings.

If I have to run Crysis on low I will do it but by December next year I am getting a new Computer. If I Have to run it on
Med...I'll get a new one in 2 years.
 

gh0ul

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
128
Trophies
0
Location
bleh
XP
270
Country
United States
I have a laptop. I was wondering whether it could play Crysis considering the fact that I have a GPU just above the minimum...2 gen's above I think. But the thing is, it said that ' It MAY work with laptop GPUs but is is not supported. So...has anyone tried?

Crysis will run on your laptop but it will most likely run so bad (laggy) you'll want to rip your eyes out. unless you have a $5,000 laptop, you wont be having any fun with crysis :'(
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: How we all doin?