Is my computer old?

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by R-Unit 4, Dec 15, 2007.

Dec 15, 2007

Is my computer old? by R-Unit 4 at 8:54 PM (3,424 Views / 0 Likes) 35 replies

  1. R-Unit 4
    OP

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    I have a:
    2.16 Ghz Core Duo
    1 GB RAM.
    24x DVD drive.
    15 inch monitor.
    256 MB ATI Radeon x1600 Pro with Avivo.
    100 GB HDD.
     


  2. xcalibur

    Member xcalibur Gbatemp's Chocolate Bear

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    3,166
    Location:
    Sacred Heart
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Maybe you should get some more ram...
    I haven't heard good things about the core duo processors so you might want to get a core 2 duo.

    Except for that you're fine but that doesn't mean your computer is the greatest either.
     
  3. laminaatplaat

    Member laminaatplaat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 25, 2007
    Messages:
    605
    Country:
    United States
    define old, what is its general purpose?
     
  4. R-Unit 4
    OP

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    Old as in for games...and video...and music...and work.
     
  5. BoneMonkey

    Banned BoneMonkey The cheese stash is a lie.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States

    look good to me !

    might need a graphics card update if you wanna play some of the newer games on higher settings

    maybe 1 more gig of ram
     
  6. R-Unit 4
    OP

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    Ok. Thanks. More Ram and a better Card COming up. A maybe a 2.4 GHZ Core 2 Duo.
     
  7. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    Get a bigger monitor.
     
  8. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    2.16 Ghz Core Duo
    - Keep that.

    1 GB RAM.
    - 1 GB more wont hurt.

    24x DVD drive.
    - Fine

    15 inch monitor.
    - 15 INCH???? How can you survive with that little monitor??

    256 MB ATI Radeon x1600 Pro with Avivo.
    - Nice but if you are a hardcore gamer get a never card.

    100 GB HDD.
    - Maybe a little bit small...
     
  9. JPH

    Banned JPH Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,892
    Country:
    United States
    No, I'd have to disagree - 1gb of RAM is sufficient for almost all needs [​IMG]

    And dude, your computer is old if you bought it like 5 years ago.


    ...or where you just making this topic to brag on how awesome your computer is? [​IMG]
     
  10. Mewgia

    Member Mewgia drifter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,161
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Country:
    United States
    You obviously don't play many games on your computer. 2GBs ram is basically the minimum now for current games.
     
  11. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    How awesome His system is? No. His rig isn't awesome. It's meh. It's not bad, it's not all great. His GPU is pretty bad... His CPU should be overclocked ( unless it's a laptop, in this case might as well just give up on upgrading it and buy a desktop ), and he should get another 1GB of RAM. His HDD and Monitor also seem kinda small. Upgrade to a 19'' Widescreen or bigger, and get something like a 250GB HDD.
     
  12. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    old? my computer is old (pentium 4, 700mb ram), your specs are no way near old lol i hate upgrading anyway as the latest components get out of date very quickly and cost a lot.
     
  13. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    How do you sleep at night knowing you have to wake up to that?
     
  14. Doggy124

    Member Doggy124 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    831
    Location:
    Thailand
    Country:
    Thailand
    Then my PC is antiques...T_T
    P4 2.93
    ram512
    ATI Radeon X300SE
    HDD480GB = )
    18X DVD drive
    15" monitor (17" broken last week)
     
  15. jefffisher

    Member jefffisher GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,242
    Country:
    United States
    howcome nobody said anything about the 24x dvd drive?
    they kinda don't make them that fast
     
  16. Banger

    Member Banger Me > | | < You ..Wanna Line dance?

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,783
    Country:
    United States
    At the rate of technology increase mine is technically "old" but it does what I need it so I can not complain. I do need a new DVD burner though 1 of mine is dead/dying.
     
  17. TheNeck

    Member TheNeck GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    357
    Location:
    Southern California
    Country:
    United States
    2.16 Ghz Core Duo
    perfectly fine

    1 GB RAM.
    for gaming add 1gig more, if you want to use vista eventually upgrade to 3gigs for 32bit vista, 4gigs for 64bit vista

    24x DVD drive.
    doesnt matter unless you want to burn dvds, then get a dual layer dvd burner

    15 inch monitor.
    for gaming get at least a 20" lcd widescreen monitor

    256 MB ATI Radeon x1600 Pro with Avivo.
    for gaming get at least a nvidia 8800 card, at least 320megs of memory

    100 GB HDD
    doesnt matter, for gaming 100gigs is ok, but if you d/l alot of stuff, upgrading to a bigger hdd would be nice
     
  18. cubin'

    Member cubin' GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,866
    Country:
    Australia
    Hrmmmz pretty much everyone here has listed good computers. They could play most the latest games with at least low graphics.

    Some computer elitists are quite anal about what computers are 'teh sux'. Not everyone needs the newest stuff...yours will get you through just fine [​IMG] unless you want good graphics on new games

    brb computer bout to crash. lol put RAM in the wrong slot. fixed now.

    My Specs:

    Just got a Athon64 Dual Core 4200+. It's awesome. Upgraded this week from a 3000+ single core
    2GB of RAM. Just upgraded from 1GB
    7800GT 256MB. It's pretty awesome, had it for a while. I'll probably upgrade it late next year.
    Some hard drives
    DVD burners n shitz
    19' Flatscreen CRT (LCD screens suck)

    My computer can play all games fine and is awesome.
     
  19. R-Unit 4
    OP

    Member R-Unit 4 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    Australia
    I have a laptop. I was wondering whether it could play Crysis considering the fact that I have a GPU just above the minimum...2 gen's above I think. But the thing is, it said that ' It MAY work with laptop GPUs but is is not supported. So...has anyone tried?

    Oh and what settings can I run it on...do I have to run it on low...I settle for nothing less than Med...and this would be the first time I have said that. I usually have high or very high settings.

    If I have to run Crysis on low I will do it but by December next year I am getting a new Computer. If I Have to run it on
    Med...I'll get a new one in 2 years.
     
  20. gh0ul

    Member gh0ul GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    bleh
    Country:
    United States
    Crysis will run on your laptop but it will most likely run so bad (laggy) you'll want to rip your eyes out. unless you have a $5,000 laptop, you wont be having any fun with crysis :'(
     

Share This Page