Is my Board Xenon or Opus

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by gundalf, Dec 4, 2011.

Dec 4, 2011

Is my Board Xenon or Opus by gundalf at 3:57 PM (1,622 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. gundalf
    OP

    Member gundalf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Spain
    [​IMG]
    Well actually easy to know what Revision your console is by just at the look of the Power Socket, and in fact i have the first one without HDMI, but the thing is, that my motherboard looks different, look at the photo i made:
    [​IMG]

    So yeah, it has the extra Heatsink, just like Opus, so what do you think what i have?
    Sadly i dont remember when i send my xbox to microsoft for repair :-/
     
  2. RandomOddness

    Member RandomOddness GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    3 Coils next to V1 heatsink and you returned it to microsoft? Very likely to just be a xenon with upgraded heatsink.
     
  3. gundalf
    OP

    Member gundalf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Spain
    I found the repair letter from microsoft, it has no date on it and it says that the dvd drive and mainboard was replaced.
    Well seems like i have bad luck and it's like you say an xenon with new heatsink. The Glitch Hack is at the moment not possible on this, right?
     
  4. RandomOddness

    Member RandomOddness GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're correct, Xenon can't be glitched as it does not have the hana chip.
     
  5. gundalf
    OP

    Member gundalf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Spain
    Thanks for the confirmation, then i will need to find on ebay an old banned Jasper for cheap money, or maybe even an slim 4GB.
     
  6. RandomOddness

    Member RandomOddness GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I'd go with the slim, I've only glitched a few consoles so far and have been lucky that they all now glitch either instantly or within 10 seconds, but slims run alot nicer. Just make sure the slim isn't the new corona motherboard without the hana chip.
     
  7. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    I have the same one. Yeah, it's a Xenon. Wish I had one with HDMI >_>
     
  8. gundalf
    OP

    Member gundalf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Spain
    Well it's not like a new Console is expensive, since the 4Gb goes regularly for 99€, the difficulty is in finding one with an older board :-/
     
  9. RandomOddness

    Member RandomOddness GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah, I think most of the ones on sale at the moment are new boards, getting quite hard to find one that isn't second hand.
     
  10. gundalf
    OP

    Member gundalf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Spain
    Do you know if there is list of Console Bundels? Looking at the date of the Games bundled with the console could be an indicator for which mainboard the console have.
     
  11. RandomOddness

    Member RandomOddness GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There really is no way to tell without seeing the MFR date, if it's before August 2011 then there is a chance it's not corona, also I do hope you've done quite abit of soldering before if you'll be doing the RGH yourself, although it's quite a simple install if you're not the best at soldering there is alot that can go wrong.
     
  12. gundalf
    OP

    Member gundalf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Spain
    I am not the best at soldering, but the points that have to be soldered don't seem to be that tiny.
     
  13. RandomOddness

    Member RandomOddness GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, if you must attempt it, atleast get an old board to practice on first, making sure that you don't knock off any resistors on the board or destroy any pads and checking continuity to alternate points before hand so that you don't damage a perfectly good xbox, or buy an already glitched xbox.
     
  14. gundalf
    OP

    Member gundalf GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Spain
    I soldered the wiikey to my wii but you are right, better to get some practice again.
    So long, thanks for your advices, it helped a lot.

    And that's about it for this Thread, i think there is nothing more to be added :)
     
  15. mocalacace

    Member mocalacace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    United States
    You do know that the photos that you see of the points that have to be soldered are extremely high resolution. They are quite tiny to say the least, but as long as you practice it shouldn't be a problem.
     

Share This Page