Is my 3in1 faulty?

Discussion in 'EZ-Flash' started by ringmancz, Dec 1, 2016.

  1. ringmancz
    OP

    ringmancz Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Nov 29, 2016
    I got DS Lite and bought R4i 3DS Gold with the 3in1 (v2) so I can play GBA games. But after playing around with it I found out that GBA games won't load saves. There actually is a savefile of any game I run on my SD card but it doesn't load when I reset the DS or load different GBA game. I suspected it was a dead battery because GBAexploader always asked me to set the Slot 2 card (GBAex is not working on my R4i, don't know why, but I can run it on EZ V I got with the 3in1).

    So I successfully changed the battery (did the SRAM test, it was OK with old battery too) but it didn't help. It always starts new game when I launch it. I tried 2 Pokemon games and TMNT. I'm not doing any patching of the ROMs, Wood 1.64 should do that for me if I'm not mistaken.

    With the old battery, maybe even now, I didn't try it, I noticed that when I turn off the DS and immediately turn it back on and run the game, the save loads. But when I leave it off for a few seconds, it doesn't.

    Is there any fix for this, something I don't know about, or is the card basically useless?
     


  2. how_do_i_do_that

    how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Member
    4,918
    255
    May 16, 2008
    Antarctica
    You have insufficient posts to view location.
    If you do have a v2 of the 3in1, the battery is very likely dead by now. Coin cell batteries tend to only last about 5 years at most, it is almost 10 years since that version was made.

    You choices are:
    A. Solder a new battery to the 3in1.
    B. Use the tape method to replace the battery.
    C. Buy another 3in1.
    D. Do nothing.

    For choices A and B, see the Maintainence section, links and information on what to do and get are provided there: http://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-tell-which-version-of-the-3in1-you-have.130659/
    For choice C, make sure your favorite flashcart website is still around to order from.
     
  3. ringmancz
    OP

    ringmancz Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Nov 29, 2016
    I already changed the battery and it's working, or not working, the same as with the old one.
     
  4. OctoNezd

    OctoNezd *insert some funny quote here*

    Member
    235
    101
    Aug 11, 2016
    Russia
    Moscow
    If still wouldnt work, try changing kernel on your flashcart to YSMenu
     
  5. LightShell

    LightShell GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    124
    13
    Nov 20, 2016
    fat1:/lightshell
    If that not work get GBA emulator for R4 card homebrew.
     
  6. ringmancz
    OP

    ringmancz Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Nov 29, 2016
    How is using an emulator supposed to help?

    And, no. Different kernel won't make it work. I already said that.
     
  7. LightShell

    LightShell GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    124
    13
    Nov 20, 2016
    fat1:/lightshell
    Get emulator for your r4 card


    Get latest gameboy color/advance emulator here
     
  8. Mikemk

    Mikemk GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,488
    522
    Mar 26, 2015
    United States
    lameboy doesn't emulate the GameBoy Advance. In any case, lameboy is abandoned, and gameyob is the current-day fork. The only GBA emulators are for the DS2.

    @OP Are you putting your saves next to the rom or in GBA_SAVE? The r4i Gold loads them from the rom folder.
     
  9. LightShell

    LightShell GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    124
    13
    Nov 20, 2016
    fat1:/lightshell
  10. ringmancz
    OP

    ringmancz Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Nov 29, 2016
    again, emulator is not a solution for me

    I'm not doing anything with the saves. But yeah, they are in the same folder as the rom. And it is even loaded when the DS is turned off for about 10 seconds or less. Longer and it acts like there is no save (it's still on the card)
     
  11. Mikemk

    Mikemk GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,488
    522
    Mar 26, 2015
    United States
    You're not supposed to be turning it off. You select the rom in the menu and it loads immediately.
     
  12. ringmancz
    OP

    ringmancz Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Nov 29, 2016
    That was meant to show that it's useless when I can't continue in a game on the next day.
     
  13. Mikemk

    Mikemk GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,488
    522
    Mar 26, 2015
    United States
    Day 1: Load the game from the r4i menu.
    Day 2: Load the game from the r4i menu.
    Day 3: Load the game from the r4i menu.

    What's the issue here?
     
  14. ringmancz
    OP

    ringmancz Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Nov 29, 2016
    And start a new game each time I do so? I don't know how to say it. It doesn't load my saves.
     
  15. Mikemk

    Mikemk GBAtemp Maniac

    Member
    1,488
    522
    Mar 26, 2015
    United States
    Are you saying the GBA game doesn't load the save on the flashcart, or the flashcart doesn't load the save on the GBA game?
     
  16. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    11,451
    4,769
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    I believe going into the R4i menu again will back up the current save, so you can work around this by going back into the menu every time you're done playing a GBA game. Kind of a pain in the ass but it works.
     
  17. ringmancz
    OP

    ringmancz Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Nov 29, 2016
    I don't know which one. I think the game acts like there is no save

    How do I do that? The LRABdown doesn't work for me in GBA games. But I don't think that will help anyway. I tried the Backup save at startup option and it was the same.
     
  18. The Real Jdbye

    The Real Jdbye Always Remember 30/07/08

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    The Real Jdbye is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    11,451
    4,769
    Mar 17, 2010
    Norway
    Alola
    You'd have to turn the DS off and on quickly before the save has a chance to get wiped then go back into the R4i menu.
     
  19. ringmancz
    OP

    ringmancz Newbie

    Newcomer
    9
    0
    Nov 29, 2016
    I tried that and it did nothing. I think the issue is not with saving but with loading.
     
  20. LightShell

    LightShell GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    124
    13
    Nov 20, 2016
    fat1:/lightshell
    here is my auto saver for gba fix: here