Is it worth updating to AKAIO firmware ?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by skweezer, Dec 8, 2008.

Dec 8, 2008
  1. skweezer
    OP

    Newcomer skweezer Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ive ordered a acekard 2.1 cause i think its time to update from my r4.
    is it worth getting the AKAIO firmware. ive read the wiki.
    but are there any issues/bugs with it which make it less better than the OFW.
    is compatibility better/worse than acekard official firmware ? (cause i have read that acekard compatibility is soo near to 100% or is 100%)
     
  2. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, it's worth using the AKAIO firmware. It has all the features of the official firmware plus many others that the official firmware doesn't have.

    The loader used by AKAIO is older than the official loader but, AKAIO allows you to add external loaders, so you'll want to get the "akmenu4.nds" file from the latest official firmware (4.12), rename it to something like "ak_412.nds" and put it in AKAIO's "__aio/ak2loader" folder. Then you can change the settings for any newer games that might require the newest loader so that they will use the official loader when launched from AKAIO.

    -Bri
     
  3. skweezer
    OP

    Newcomer skweezer Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks alot for your reply. cant wait till it arrives [​IMG]
     
  4. ricflairandy

    Member ricflairandy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    where did you order form mate
     
  5. skweezer
    OP

    Newcomer skweezer Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    got it from DX
     
  6. ricflairandy

    Member ricflairandy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    how long did delivery take,
     
  7. skweezer
    OP

    Newcomer skweezer Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i havnt got it yet. but i have ordered from them before and they usally take 1-2weeks
     
  8. SoulAnger

    Member SoulAnger MENUdo's Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    743
    Country:
    Philippines
    Thats pretty long. [​IMG]
     
  9. kobykaan

    Member kobykaan GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,994
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    the savings you make on the cost is worth the wait trust me [​IMG]
     

Share This Page