Question is it worth to unlink your Nintendo account?

Discussion in 'Switch - Backup Loaders & Modchips' started by Terabvte, Sep 14, 2018.

  1. Terabvte
    OP

    Terabvte Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Jul 26, 2018
    United Kingdom
    so it has been confirmed that when 6.0 will roll out you will no longer be able to unlink ur nintendo account, is this a way to prevent getting banned or something else?

    Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk
     
  2. nando

    nando GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    6
    Jan 1, 2008
    United States
    i would imagine if you ever plan to sell your switch, you wouldn't want it linked.
     
    Terabvte likes this.
  3. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    17
    Aug 6, 2017
    United States
    New York City
    This is a growing misconception. You can still unlink your Nintendo Account on firmware 6.0; the only thing that is actually different is that you cannot unlink it from your console. Rather you will have to call Nintendo to unlink it for you.

    Regardless, a linked Nintendo Account has 0 bearing on whether or not you get banned or not as bans are typically applied to the console not the account. And when the console gets banned, you have to call Nintendo to unlink it anyways. The only reason I see for unlinking the Nintendo Account is if you have any purchases you wish to hold onto in the unfortunate event that your console gets banned.
     
  4. Terabvte
    OP

    Terabvte Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Jul 26, 2018
    United Kingdom
    oh ok thx for the reply I don't really have any purchase on my Nintendo account since I always been that cartridge guy so yeah I think I'm gonna leave it like that

    Sent from my LG-H840 using Tapatalk
     
  5. EmanueleBGN

    EmanueleBGN GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    6
    Jul 22, 2015
    Italy
    If you want to hack your Switch, unlink your Nintendo Account
     
  6. RHOPKINS13

    RHOPKINS13 Geek

    Member
    7
    Jan 31, 2009
    United States
    It's a bit different from what you guys are thinking. The account gets permanently linked to your Switch User.

    You can still remove your User from the Switch, which would remove the Nintendo account. It seems like mostly a way of dealing with cloud saves and Nintendo's Online Subscription.
     
Loading...