Is it worth it to buy a Wii u in 2021?

Anxiety_timmy

vanCFW tester
Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2019
Messages
536
Trophies
1
Location
The void
XP
1,363
Country
United States
Even though most of the wii u's games have been ported to switch, its still a good buy. Strikes me as odd that they dont port twilight princess hd and wind waker hd
 

Psd99

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2021
Messages
66
Trophies
0
Age
120
XP
73
Country
United Kingdom
What does the year date have to do with such questions? "Is […] worth it in […]?" Either you want a thing and have use for it – or not.



As already mentioned above: The Wii U is an excellent emulation machine and able to play most Nintendo games from NES/GB up to Wii U.

That said, I prefer the Wii¹ as an emulation system because of its fast boot time, better resistance to softbricking (I tend to try out things and play around…) and simplicity – as well as the native controls for GameCube games. So my Wii U serves only one purpose: Playing Wii U games. The library might be small compared to other consoles, but there are still plenty of Nintendo first party titles which I enjoy.
With or without using emulation for older systems (as well as the backwards compatibility with Wii games and the Nintendont hypervisor for GameCube games), I would say the Wii U is worth having.


Good luck and have fun!





_________________
¹Note: The Wii doesn't have digital output by default while the Wii U has HDMI which is a plus on newer TVs that lack analogue inputs.


So i take it you have both the wii and the wii u?

Thats interesting if so
I think the one thing that stands out about the wii u is the modding ability

Also the range of emulators doesnt just extend to nintendo
There is also an amiga emulator
Still trying to get it to work

The wii u is an awesome console and i do believe it is worth purchasing
 

CrashMidnick

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
323
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,344
Country
France
So i take it you have both the wii and the wii u?

Thats interesting if so
I think the one thing that stands out about the wii u is the modding ability

Also the range of emulators doesnt just extend to nintendo
There is also an amiga emulator
Still trying to get it to work

The wii u is an awesome console and i do believe it is worth purchasing
UAE wii is working great, it has USB keyboard and mouse support. If you know how to set up an HDF + WHDLOAD, it is almost a real AMIGA.
 

Psd99

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2021
Messages
66
Trophies
0
Age
120
XP
73
Country
United Kingdom
UAE wii is working great, it has USB keyboard and mouse support. If you know how to set up an HDF + WHDLOAD, it is almost a real AMIGA.

So i got stuck on uae wii

Found a good video guide online, got the wad file successfully installed.
I see the amiga icon on the vwii menu but when i launch it, i end up getting back to the vwii menu

Any ideas?
 

CMDreamer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2014
Messages
1,082
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
1,954
Country
Mexico
It's great as an emulation box, for sure. If you already have a PC that can handle emulation of those systems, though, it renders most of the reason to own a Wii U null.

Not really. There's nothing like emulating using the Wii U Gamepad's screen, it's just great. If we have a Wii U Controller Pro it gets even better.
 
  • Like
Reactions: lafleche

fvig2001

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 21, 2006
Messages
631
Trophies
0
XP
1,853
Country
Philippines
Do you own a Switch?

I feel a Wii U is only worth it for the few exclusives it has left. I rarely use mine lately and if I do, it's mostly to play Wii games when I'm too lazy to setup Dolphin
 

CrashMidnick

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
323
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,344
Country
France
So i got stuck on uae wii

Found a good video guide online, got the wad file successfully installed.
I see the amiga icon on the vwii menu but when i launch it, i end up getting back to the vwii menu

Any ideas?

1st, try to launch it via the Hombrew channel, 2nd, be sure to have the right Kickstart rom renamed to kick.rom and placed in the right location as per installation manual here : https://wiibrew.org/wiki/UAE_Wii#Installation
 

Psd99

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2021
Messages
66
Trophies
0
Age
120
XP
73
Country
United Kingdom
1st, try to launch it via the Hombrew channel, 2nd, be sure to have the right Kickstart rom renamed to kick.rom and placed in the right location as per installation manual here : https://wiibrew.org/wiki/UAE_Wii#Installation

Ok thanks i will try renaming that file
For the vwii

On the wii u itself
I have downloaded retroarch
It took like more than 1 hour to install but i dont see it anywhere in the homebrew menu.

Does winuae actually work on the wii u also?
 
  • Like
Reactions: CrashMidnick

CrashMidnick

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
323
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,344
Country
France
Ok thanks i will try renaming that file
For the vwii

On the wii u itself
I have downloaded retroarch
It took like more than 1 hour to install but i dont see it anywhere in the homebrew menu.

Does winuae actually work on the wii u also?

You mean puae via retroarch ? I do not use it since wii uae is very good. But, AFAIR I tested it with some ADF and it worked as it should but sometimes retroarch updates break it.
 

Psd99

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 1, 2021
Messages
66
Trophies
0
Age
120
XP
73
Country
United Kingdom
You mean puae via retroarch ? I do not use it since wii uae is very good. But, AFAIR I tested it with some ADF and it worked as it should but sometimes retroarch updates break it.


Nah what i mean is i have installed retroarch via the homebrew menu
Took ages… this is on the wii u

Although retroarch is installed
I do not see it on the list of programs in homebrew such as ftpwii n disktorip etc


However i saw ur link earlier
Do them files habe to be on the root parttion of the sd drive and how would i even launch uae via the wii u
Once the files r copied over?
 

CrashMidnick

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2015
Messages
323
Trophies
0
Age
39
XP
1,344
Country
France
Nah what i mean is i have installed retroarch via the homebrew menu
Took ages… this is on the wii u

Although retroarch is installed
I do not see it on the list of programs in homebrew such as ftpwii n disktorip etc


However i saw ur link earlier
Do them files habe to be on the root parttion of the sd drive and how would i even launch uae via the wii u
Once the files r copied over?
Please open a new thread in the Wii or Wii U forums, we are OT. You can install it like any other homebrew on vWii side : put uae + app folders in the root of your SD card. I you want to launch it from Wii u Menu, you need to create a forwarder.
 

UltraDolphinRevolution

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2016
Messages
1,223
Trophies
0
XP
1,768
Country
China
It's sad that the Wii U in all its potential was abandoned so early in life. Easily the best console to use, especially if modded.
In a way they repeated the decision to go for a new console instead of extending the support for a less successful console like in the Gamecube era. The hardware capability is similar (GC-Wii, WiiU-Switch). Only difference is the Switch didn´t get better controllers (WiiU Gamepad and Wiimote beat anything on the Switch).
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ruryk
General chit-chat
Help Users
    LeeLeeLee @ LeeLeeLee: sr, chiaki android to play ps4 remote play