Is it worth flashing the 360 for me?

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Delta517, Aug 3, 2010.

Aug 3, 2010
  1. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    So I was wondering about flashing my 360, but I also have bought a gaming pc, so is it really worth flashing it for me?

    Can you also get free arcade games on a flashed 360?
     


  2. snico1995

    Member snico1995 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Country:
    United States
    im pretty sure you need jtag for free downloadable stuff
     
  3. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Flashed 360's are only good for running your 360 disc game backups. Other than that...no. JTAG is needed for all that.
     
  4. wyndcrosser

    Member wyndcrosser GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Country:
    United States
    IF you know how to acquire games then YES OF COURSE IT IS. IF you don't then don't bother... honestly this is like the 1,000 post about this.

    if your gaming pc can do it, use it to flash the drive, instead of paying some loser to do it.

    Wynd
     
  5. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    Srry for creating the 1001th post about this then. [​IMG]

    Anyways, I have tried looking for tutorials on how to do this on the internet, but they are all so different in what you need. Like someplaces they say you can use a USB port instead of a SATA port, but some other places they say you cant on Lite-On players (I got mine at the same time as you, Living in a box, december 2008).

    I would be grateful if someone could post me to a guide or tell me exactly what I need to do, to make flashing a Liteon player easy. For example: If I can flash it through a USB port, I would rather do that. [​IMG]
     
  6. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    im fairly certain you cant flash through usb. though you can get the keys from usb

    the gist is:
    connect to pc, open jungleflasher, grab keys, erase and flash.

    check out jungle flasher's site. they have a huge guide
     
  7. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I used this guide to flash mine, worked well.
     
  8. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    good quide i admit, but he probably doesn't have a lite-on let alone a via sata card

    .... no offense but it seems you don't have any experience with such things as this, either way i'd worry more about opening the 360 (no matter how many countless times ive opened it and put it back together it is the most annoying apart of the whole thing)
     
  9. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    i got my 360 december 08 too, it had a liteon. it also had a manufacture date from july. it probably is a liteon.
     
  10. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need to open it to make sure- I was sure mine was a BenQ, opened it and it was a damned Lite-On.

    Opening is the most frustrating part, namely the clips on the back of the console. I've broken all mine off to make it easier to open it; it was taking me aaages to get the damned things to come undone. And then when I did, it kept on catching on the bloody metal...it's a pain. But if you try to follow a guide you'll know what you're doing.

    @Maz again I bought myself a VIA card, why can't Delta do the same?
     
  11. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    i thought he didn't have one, plus he didn't clarify it was a Lite-on

    sorry, didn't intend anything [​IMG]
     
  12. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    Im sorry too. [​IMG] Forgot to say that Im pretty sure I have a Lite-On.

    Thanks for the guide, Living in a box. I'll check it out later. [​IMG]
     
  13. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dec. 08 Lite-Ons can be a pain, you need a probe, SATA card that's compatible with the 360 and...XP, preferably. It was a nightmare for me trying to get it to run on Windows 7, so I had to install XP. ¬_¬
     
  14. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
  15. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not sure, I've always been told to never buy cheap media. Trust Verbatim and Memorex.

    As for screwdrivers- you need a Torx 10 to get into it. If not, then it's impossible- you can't use a phillips or something and force it because you'll ruin the screw and not be able to get it back in.

    EDIT: Verbatim DVD+R DL is what you're looking for, really.
     
  16. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    hm? i didnt get one because i had a compatible chipset (and i had an esata port), if thats what you mean?
     
  17. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry, I got confused, I thought you were the OP for a moment then...My mistake.
     
  18. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    oh ok, haha, its all good
     
  19. Delta517
    OP

    Member Delta517 Its okay...Im a ninja ;)

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,327
    Country:
    Norway
    Looks like I have to ask again.

    Should I flash my Xbox 360? I have a gaming pc, but are there some games I would miss out if I don't use my 360 anymore, like Halo Reach, Alan Wake and more? [​IMG]
     
  20. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    no one can give a right answer. its up to you. you can flash it cheap if you make your own probe, and if all you need is the via port (if you dont have a compatible chipset), you do get benifits from flashed (ive had discs fuck up on me even when the xbox hasnt moved, at it costed me more money to buy the game over than a pack of 20 dual layers).
     

Share This Page