Is it true that you must re-write roms?

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by Battalia, Aug 13, 2006.

Aug 13, 2006
  1. Battalia
    OP

    Newcomer Battalia Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    I've heard some conflicting reports. I have a G6 Lite and a Passcard 3. When they release an updated loader, do you have to re-write all of your roms to the cart for the update to take effect?
     
  2. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    Only if the game no longer works when you updated.
     
  3. TheSpade

    Member TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Eastern U.S.A.
    Country:
    United States
    Since you have to connect your G6 to your PC when copying over the loader files, take that moment and backup your saves. Make it a habit.
     
  4. Falkentyne

    Member Falkentyne GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    Very useful advice, especially if you're playing a RPG or something that you put a lot of time into.

    And it takes only 5 seconds to right click and copy and paste the save files to a folder on your PC.
     
  5. Battalia
    OP

    Newcomer Battalia Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    I guess to clarify my question, if the new loader includes a fix for any particular game issues, do you have to re-write those games to the G6 for the fix to take affect? Does the loader patch the game when it is loaded or is the game patched when it is written to the cart? Thanks for the input.

    P.S. Outphase...That's a great save converter app...Job Well Done!!
     
  6. sirdaver

    Member sirdaver Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    I have a G6 Lite and a flashed DS lite. Had the 4.2a loader, had quite a few lockups in several games. Updated to 4.2b loader. Those games now work with no lockups, all my saves are intact, did not need to re-flash the roms. Just update the loader and you are ready to go.
     
  7. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Normally you don't have to rewrite the roms, but I would take TheSpade's advice and always back up the saves.
     
  8. Mr-Metal

    Newcomer Mr-Metal Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Hell
    Country:
    Sweden
    Is the "copy and paste" of the 3 savefiles from the G6 "NDS" folder the way to do it? I tried and then transfered to my other NDSL and i didnt have the saves...

    Anyone pro about this? I want to switch saves without loosing it!
     
  9. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    What device do you use on the other NDSL? Make sure the rom and the save have the same name (rom_name.nds and rom_name.0 on G6).
     
  10. pelago

    Member pelago Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    879
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's not the loader (the menu that's shown on the console) that patches the game, it's the U-Disk Manager (the Windows software that you use to write roms to G6). As far as I know it isn't important to rewrite roms when updating the loader, only when updating U-Disk Manager. Even with the latter you probably only need to rewrite roms that aren't working properly.
     
  11. dirtycarrot

    Newcomer dirtycarrot Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    78
    Country:
    Australia
    It's not necessary if the games were previously working on the old loader.
    I second the Backup saves at the same time comment - not that I have had any problems at all with my G6L, but you never know... [​IMG]
     
  12. Mactaetus

    Newcomer Mactaetus Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Does Ultimate Spiderman now work with the new flash software?
     
  13. Picolo

    Newcomer Picolo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    81
    Country:
    Sweden
    I had to re-write Mario Basket 3on3 after I've updated the loader.
     

Share This Page