Is it safe to upgrade to official 4.2?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by SanzioSan, Oct 24, 2009.

Oct 24, 2009
  1. SanzioSan
    OP

    Newcomer SanzioSan Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    Hi im having problems with my wii can be found here: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=187252
    and ive decided im going to try to get a "clean" install. I was thinking maybe i should downgrade and upgrade to officially to
    4.2. But whats the risk in this? I know it erases the homebrew channel and such but is it still hackable?
    and do you think this would solve my problem?
     
  2. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    The risk is that the Boot2 gets corrupted by the update, no one can save you.
     
  3. Pakatus

    Member Pakatus GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    after you reading 1000000000000001 post in this forum, you might get your answer...

    "no"....it's "not" safe
     
  4. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    There's not a whole lot of risk in updating to 4.2. The boot2 update can go wrong, but really hasn't for too many people.

    DOWNGRADING, however, does pose risks and I advise you don't do it. Just do the upgrade.
     
  5. 2yugimoto

    Member 2yugimoto GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Philidelphia
    Country:
    United States
    these people are just scaring you just update your wii to 4.2 and use xzxeros guide to hack it easy and painless
     
  6. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    Not sure I'd trust this ^ guy to provide you with any safe answers.

    Some people have bricked (unrecoverably) from this update because it uses a buggy updater to update the boot2. When I say some people, i'm referring to people have haven't even modded their wii also.
     
  7. 2yugimoto

    Member 2yugimoto GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    417
    Location:
    Philidelphia
    Country:
    United States
    mi9ne was a vergin 3.1 updated offically to 4.2 and has hombrew channal and bootmii as boot 2 backed up aswell....
     
  8. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    I hate to quote my own post but some people can't seem to process what they read.

    If that's a chance anyone is willing to take...I hope they have money to burn replacing their Wii. It may happen, it may not...

    And to the OP, I don't think that doing an "official" update would solve the issue you're having. I would double check the SDHC card because it seems that it's more of a hardware failure than a software failure since it connects and disconnects like it does.
     
  9. SanzioSan
    OP

    Newcomer SanzioSan Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    ive already downgraded my wii i just need to upgrade to fix all my ios problems.
    I think my ios's are whats wrong with my wii... all i wanted to do is pretty much install
    all clean ios's and rehack it from scratch. Downgrading it and upgrading it is the only
    way i know how... if any1 knows another way.. be my guest! cause i really doont feel like updating
    my wii now.
     
  10. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States
    If the update goes wrong, just call nintendo and say you bricked updating to 4.2 it's that simple and it's the truth.
     
  11. jazvdb

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States

    You could use DOP-IOS
     
  12. SanzioSan
    OP

    Newcomer SanzioSan Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    yeah... ive tried using that dunno wat the function is really but i followed a guide but when i use it the whole screen gets all
    these lines. after that i just restart the wii and im not sure if it did anything.
     
  13. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Are you using Dop-IOS MOD or the original one from Marc? The v8 works like a charm for me, though...
     
  14. SanzioSan
    OP

    Newcomer SanzioSan Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2009
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    im using mod v7 is that bad?
     
  15. DarkMatterCore

    Member DarkMatterCore I like turtles.

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    886
    Location:
    Cabimas, Zulia, Venezuela.
    Country:
    Venezuela
    I have that problem, too, but the original version works for me.
     

Share This Page