Is it safe to reformat?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by syst3merror, Sep 3, 2009.

Sep 3, 2009

Is it safe to reformat? by syst3merror at 1:50 AM (980 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. syst3merror
    OP

    Member syst3merror GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    I want to start fresh because I've installed/unstalled so many things I want to start fresh and know exactly what is installed.....so is it safe to just do a reformat or do I risk a brick?

    I remember reading a while back that there was something you should reformat if you had installed, but I don't remember what or where I read it.

    Thanks for the info in advance guys!
     
  2. Primenay13

    Member Primenay13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    You should be able to, I haven't heard anything about formatting bricking your wii. The only way it would is if you have bootme or a modchip.
     
  3. syst3merror
    OP

    Member syst3merror GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    yeah, no modchip or bootmii.....just wanted to make sure before I reformatted and ended up with a paperweight!
     
  4. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    You must not have heard anything about formatting a wii at all then. DON'T format your Wii especially with CIOSCORP, it is definitely NOT the best way to "start over" which is a stupid thing to attempt to do in the first place. Yes it CAN brick your Wii.

    And bootmii is for brick PROTECTION, if you don't have it you should get it ASAP.
     
  5. syst3merror
    OP

    Member syst3merror GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    thanks nabster....that was what I THOUGHT I remembered reading.

    Now to figure out how to completely virginize a 4.1U.

    I've read guides, but it normally involves using the 289 wad but that is for 3.2 and I'm higher than that.
     
  6. nabster92

    Member nabster92 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Country:
    United States
    As I said, starting over is a pretty dumb idea as most things can just be installed over. Run dop-IOSv7 and install the latest official IOS's over every IOS to get rid of CIOSCORP and then update with Waninkoko's 4.1U if you're on 4.0 and then just go from there installing whatever you need.
     
  7. syst3merror
    OP

    Member syst3merror GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    I know it is "dumb" to remove everything, I just have OCD like that. [​IMG]

    I have a bunch of channels, game saves, Wiiware, etc. that I would like to start fresh like it was just out of the box but I guess I can live with just writing over all of the files with originals and manually deleting everything.

    Thanks for the info guys.

    (have some reading to do, never heard of dop-IOSv7)
     
  8. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    yea check my sig or something or my guide to viriginize your wii or rid of cioscorp.
     
  9. syst3merror
    OP

    Member syst3merror GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    thanks xzxero....I'll take a look! I appreciate the help guys, really!
     

Share This Page