Is it possible

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by xjuniorx, Jun 14, 2008.

Jun 14, 2008

Is it possible by xjuniorx at 7:07 PM (802 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. xjuniorx
    OP

    Member xjuniorx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Inside My Acekard 2
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible for someone to make a homebrew that is RTS for AK2 ??

    *using bliss*
     
  2. LagunaCid

    Member LagunaCid GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't think so.
     
  3. xjuniorx
    OP

    Member xjuniorx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Inside My Acekard 2
    Country:
    United States
    why? wouldent it just be simple homebrew making...they make emulators/programs for psp like this..why not DS sure it would be little harder but they can still make???
     
  4. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    It wouldn't be a seperate program, it would have to be built in to the rom loader. I don't see any reason that this feature can't be added to any flashcart that can save directly to the microSD card instead of a seperate save chip. The real question is if anyone working on the AK2 has the skill, time, motivation and access to the source code needed to do it.
     
  5. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    Homebrew like that is impossible, because NDS is able to do one think at the time..It would mean that it needs to run that homebrew in behind while running a game, and thats not gonna happen..Adding it to a firmware is something completely different..It can be done, but as Destructobot said, it takes great skills and programing knowledge to do something like that..
     
  6. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States

    The Ace Kard RPG is open source and from what I heard, if you ask the Ace Kard team nicely, you can get the source for the Ace Kard 2 as well via an email. They just don't want it publicly available.
     
  7. xjuniorx
    OP

    Member xjuniorx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Inside My Acekard 2
    Country:
    United States
    Ah I see..and do you guys think in future when they make updates of osmenus they will add that feature?
     
  8. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe, maybe not. AFAIK it has not been announced as a planned feature, though I may be wrong about that.
     
  9. Toni Plutonij

    Former Staff Toni Plutonij *has TrolleyDave & tiny p1ngy on moderating shelf!

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    8,153
    Location:
    Depths of Nuclear powerplant
    Country:
    Croatia
    It's not announced for sure!! But there's always a possibility..
    It's really hard to program feature like that, so I don't know if they'll be adding it..
     
  10. xjuniorx
    OP

    Member xjuniorx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    257
    Location:
    Inside My Acekard 2
    Country:
    United States
    Ah alright i got it!
     

Share This Page