Is it possible to tell if a Wii has been custom IOSed?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by OzModChips, Sep 11, 2008.

  1. OzModChips
    OP

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I admit that I up not up to date with all the software hacking for the wii....just hardware.

    Is it possible to tell through some application if some custom IOS has been installed on a wii?
    Someone has returned a premodded wii, and its exhibiting some retarded behaviour. I swap out the DVD drive, same deal - so its something on the mobo.
    its not the video card, as the DVD drive doesnt even initialise....the wii just doesnt turn on, 9 out of 10 times :/

    The HBC has been installed...
    I would love to help my customer out, i just need to find out if the firmware has been messed with or not.

    Is there an application i can run on the HBC to check?

    Thanks Guys
     
  2. linuxares

    Member linuxares GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,370
    Country:
    Sweden
    You can run "Anytitle Deleter" to check if he got Custom IOS installed.
     
  3. OzModChips
    OP

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
  4. Sir-Fritz

    Member Sir-Fritz GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,336
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    You didnt look very hard lol. Heres a direct link.
     
  5. OzModChips
    OP

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I did look hard --- i just was thrown off from

    Image:AnyTitle Deleter.zip

    cheers
     
  6. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    Easiest way is to fire up bushing/marcan's system menu loader - if it lets you choose IOS254 it has cIOS installed.

    Also, I've seen some weird stuff with corrupt save data.... might be a last resort - but worth trying an erase user data.

    http://hackmii.com/2008/08/menuloader-04-test-version/
     

Share This Page