Hacking Is it possible to take an ingame screenshot using DSTT?

ZhangKhaiEn

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
48
Country
Switzerland
I mean, using a few button combinations or the like to capture and save a screenshot to my SD Card.

Is this possible with my DSTT?
 

ZhangKhaiEn

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
48
Country
Switzerland
So how do game magazines or printed game guides take their screenshots that look so nice?

Camera? But the capture quality looks so nice... >_>

And for ROM download sites, do they use emulators to take screenshots? But as far as I know many DS games still show up horribly on emulators with graphical glitches and such. How do they manage to get perfect shots?
 

Fabis94

Xbawx playa
Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2009
Messages
847
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
141
Country
With emulators i guess. For the magazines, i guess the Game Developer gives them the images. I mean Game DEV can easily get a good quality pic from his own game.
 

Kuschel-Drow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 25, 2009
Messages
417
Trophies
0
Location
Duisburg
Website
kuschel-drow.deviantart.com
XP
112
Country
Gambia, The
Don't they all plug their DS to two huge screens? I've seen that before when they shwo some games... (Although I dunno how this would actually work xD) But as for screenshots... mhm...

I bet they do have the ultimate emulators for PC that work, but would never hande over the source code... x) I mean... game developers KNOW how a game is made so they should really know how to get it working on a PC or whatever... ^^
 

DanTheManMS

aka Ricochet Otter
Member
Joined
Jun 2, 2007
Messages
4,355
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Georgia
XP
479
Country
United States
The NITRO hardware is what game developers use for displaying on large screens and testing and such, and it's what Nintendo uses for demos. Us lowly homebrewers have no access to such hardware unfortunately.

In software, the DS does have a built-in screen-capture function. However, it only captures the main screen (which is decided by the developer) and in a raw format. The only way to get this functionality with commercial games would be for the flash cart manufacturer to add it as a feature, storing the raw data in some temporary location on the card for later conversion to a human-viewable format. The CycloDS team was looking into this, but I believe they gave up on it.
 

HaniKazmi

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 30, 2008
Messages
1,657
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Manchester
Website
Visit site
XP
338
Country
DanTheManMS said:
The NITRO hardware is what game developers use for displaying on large screens and testing and such, and it's what Nintendo uses for demos. Us lowly homebrewers have no access to such hardware unfortunately.

In software, the DS does have a built-in screen-capture function. However, it only captures the main screen (which is decided by the developer) and in a raw format. The only way to get this functionality with commercial games would be for the flash cart manufacturer to add it as a feature, storing the raw data in some temporary location on the card for later conversion to a human-viewable format. The CycloDS team was looking into this, but I believe they gave up on it.

According to what I read, they ran out of room on the card and had to choose between the ingame text reader or screenshot feature. They had a vote and the text reader won.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    T tempBOT: tastymeatball has left the room.