Is it possible to take an ingame screenshot using DSTT?

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by ZhangKhaiEn, Apr 19, 2009.

  1. ZhangKhaiEn
    OP

    Newcomer ZhangKhaiEn Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    China
    I mean, using a few button combinations or the like to capture and save a screenshot to my SD Card.

    Is this possible with my DSTT?
     
  2. Fabis94

    Member Fabis94 Xbawx playa

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    Latvia
    I believe, none of the flashcarts have such an option. It sounds possible though.
     
  3. ZhangKhaiEn
    OP

    Newcomer ZhangKhaiEn Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    China
    So how do game magazines or printed game guides take their screenshots that look so nice?

    Camera? But the capture quality looks so nice... >_>

    And for ROM download sites, do they use emulators to take screenshots? But as far as I know many DS games still show up horribly on emulators with graphical glitches and such. How do they manage to get perfect shots?
     
  4. Fabis94

    Member Fabis94 Xbawx playa

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    Latvia
    With emulators i guess. For the magazines, i guess the Game Developer gives them the images. I mean Game DEV can easily get a good quality pic from his own game.
     
  5. Reaper

    Member Reaper Tͩ͒ͥ̈́ͧ̓͑̆̂

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    United States
    Or a video/image capture device that's hardware and not software. There was a video with one.
     
  6. Kuschel-Drow

    Member Kuschel-Drow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Duisburg
    Country:
    Germany
    Don't they all plug their DS to two huge screens? I've seen that before when they shwo some games... (Although I dunno how this would actually work xD) But as for screenshots... mhm...

    I bet they do have the ultimate emulators for PC that work, but would never hande over the source code... x) I mean... game developers KNOW how a game is made so they should really know how to get it working on a PC or whatever... ^^
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The NITRO hardware is what game developers use for displaying on large screens and testing and such, and it's what Nintendo uses for demos. Us lowly homebrewers have no access to such hardware unfortunately.

    In software, the DS does have a built-in screen-capture function. However, it only captures the main screen (which is decided by the developer) and in a raw format. The only way to get this functionality with commercial games would be for the flash cart manufacturer to add it as a feature, storing the raw data in some temporary location on the card for later conversion to a human-viewable format. The CycloDS team was looking into this, but I believe they gave up on it.
     
  8. HaniKazmi

    Member HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    According to what I read, they ran out of room on the card and had to choose between the ingame text reader or screenshot feature. They had a vote and the text reader won.
     
  9. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Ah so that's what happened, gotcha.
     

Share This Page