is it possible to show as a different game on the 3ds?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Rensato, Aug 29, 2011.

  1. Rensato
    OP

    Newcomer Rensato Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Well my acekard 2i shows as a weird japanese game... dorasu something....

    It bothers me a little... is it possible to change this?
     
  2. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    No way...ever...unless the AK team uses another exploitable game to circumvent the AP, it will never change. And btw, most of the known ones don't have great icons.
     
  3. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    Can't just the header info be changed, but the exploit game be the same?
     
  4. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/AKAIO

    Code:
    After updating the AK2i Bootloader (firmware) I no longer see the Acekard icon, why? 
    The DSi security works by verifying that the game about to launch is an actual game by the icon being loaded. For the Acekard to bypass this first check it must present itself as a real game. The icons you can expect to see are Danny Phantom - Urban Jungle (DSi v1.4.0), Alex Rider: Stormbreaker (DSi v1.4.1), Atama de Do! Koten Kotenko DORASU (3DS 1.0.0-0), Chessmaster - The Art of Learning (DSi v1.4.2 & 3DS 2.0.0-2), and Hello Kitty no Panda Sport Stadium DORASU (DSi v1.4.3). 
    
    I want to change the AK2i icon, how can I do this? 
    The original AK2i (Acekard.com) icon is hardcoded into the original firmware and can not be changed. More recently, the icons change with firmware updates, these icons are actually partial game data designed to exploit the DSi/3DS checks. These icons can not be altered and attempting to do so would render the card unusable and unbootable.
    -another world
     
  5. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    Ok. That's good enough of a reason. If they exploit a game I own, I'll be happy.
     
  6. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I've never tried this and don't plan to, but let's say you're still on DSi 1.4.2u. Could you re-flash your card back to the ChessMaster bootloader if you don't like the Hello Kitty-Dorasu icon?
     
  7. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i've never tried this either. i know from flashing my 2.1 (yes 2.1, i'm the 1 and only person with a 2.1 reflasher to fix the bricked bootloader akaio 1.8.2 caused) that the software has checks in it. these checks will halt the flashing proccess and give reasons like "the software is already updated". it may not work but its worth a try. i'm still on 1.4.1 and i'm considering downgrading because i got use to the alex stormrider icon.

    -another world
     
  8. Rensato
    OP

    Newcomer Rensato Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    mmm... interesting...

    thanks for the replies! =)
     
  9. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It worked for me. [​IMG]

    Went from Hello Kitty-Dorasu to Alex Rider and it works perfectly on my 1.4.1 DSiXL. I used my DS lite for the flashing.(HW8181)
    Edit: Just successfully flashed it back.
     
  10. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    i'll have to add that info to the flashing wiki i updated the other day.

    -another world
     
  11. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,176
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    You have to spend more time using your flashcart and less time staring at the DSi Menu.
     
  12. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    some people always have odd complaints. my favorite was how it took 3-5 seconds to load a rom verses 1-3 for other flash kits.

    -another world
     

Share This Page