Is it possible to run GBA games on acekard?

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Unzaree, Oct 12, 2009.

Oct 12, 2009
  1. Unzaree
    OP

    Newcomer Unzaree Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Portugal
    Just as the topic title says, sorry if it's a dumb question [​IMG]
     
  2. Drucifer

    Newcomer Drucifer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    Canada
    As far as I know you have a Phat DS or DS Lite but you need a Slot 2 flash card as well. The Slot 1 Acekard will just let you boot from the Slot 2 device you have, kind of like a Passme device.

    If you have a DSi the simple answer is no.
     
  3. asdf

    Member asdf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Short answer: No

    Long answer: Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
    ooooooooooooooooooooo

    Sorry, couldn't resist [​IMG]

    But in all seriousness, no, it's not possible unless you have a slot-2 device.
     
  4. jphriendly

    Member jphriendly GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    367
    Country:
    United States
    The only way to play GBA games from a slot-1 card (alone) is if you own an iPlayer. Otherwise you must have a slot-2 device.
     
  5. Unzaree
    OP

    Newcomer Unzaree Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Portugal
    Bah, how much does a slot 2 flashcard cost +/-?
     
  6. asdf

    Member asdf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Country:
    United States
  7. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
  8. darkdenizen

    Member darkdenizen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    Is the iPlayer worth it though? I don't use homebrew much in all honesty but I'd get it just for the GBA games. Can it play games smoothly?
     
  9. TheDude879

    Newcomer TheDude879 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States
    Honestly, not really. If you have a DS phat or DSL, then slot 2 is WAAAAAAAAYYYYY better, as it is near perfect emulation. And as far as the emulation goes, its not anywhere near as good as a Slot 2 card.
     
  10. Yuan

    Member Yuan GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,271
    Country:
    Brazil
    True. iPlayer (for GBA Emulation purposes) is only recommended to DSi, since there isn't another solution yet.
     
  11. rockstar99

    Member rockstar99 Hi

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    7,375
    Location:
    Toronto
    Country:
    Canada
    you need a slot 2 cart like ez flash 3in1
    other tha n that if you dont have one you can get an iplayer
    but if you only have an acekard then:
    NO
     

Share This Page