Is it possible to play NTSC games in colour on a non-NTSC TV?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Tir, Aug 14, 2009.

  1. Tir
    OP

    Member Tir GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Australia
    Or am I wasting my time fiddling more? Using Neogamma and I suppose it was naive of me thinking that just selecting "force PAL" and fiddling with the patch options would do the trick, MH3 just green screens with that, and it's black and white if I let it use NTSC. Googling brings up quite old threads and I don't know if any of those old ISO patchers are worth wasting DVDs on, will they just do the same thing Neogamma does in the end? Same with other loaders, are they worth trying or do they basically use the same method?

    Reason I thought it would be possible was I had success with patching NTSC PS2 ISOs with a little known program that allowed me to play them fine in full colour with swap disc, even though my TV doesn't support NTSC mode.
     
  2. Black_Knight_666

    Member Black_Knight_666 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    So long as your tv can support NTSC, you should be able to load them in colour via neogamma R7.
     
  3. Black_Knight_666

    Member Black_Knight_666 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Just fiddle around with the settings in neo gamma, and you will eventually get it. If you want, i can send u a screenshot of what to do? I have a fairly old tv, and after about 5 mins of fiddling, i got it [​IMG]
     
  4. Senbonzaku101

    Member Senbonzaku101 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Country:
    United States
  5. Black_Knight_666

    Member Black_Knight_666 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    457
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I wouldnt recommend USB loaders for that. Stick with neo gamma [​IMG] Best backup loader. Ever.
     
  6. Tir
    OP

    Member Tir GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Australia
    Do you know if your TV supports NTSC signals?

    Mine doesn't, I'm sure if I went out and bought a newer TV the settings that were previously in B&W would be in colour but I was hoping there was a workaround like how I got NTSC PS2 games converted. And I don't really want to buy a new TV that I otherwise don't need, I wish Wii had a VGA cable for my two LCDs.

    edit: your settings might help, do you have "force PAL" set?
     
  7. imapterodactyl

    Member imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    Most NTSC games should work fine with "force PAL" set. There are a few games however (and the number is ever increasing), that don't have PAL video code on the disc, so those games will NOT work in PAL.... if you try to force, you'll just get a green screen. These games will run in NTSC ONLY (and this works both ways... I've been dying to play Little King's Story for months, but had to wait until it finally got released in the States because there was no NTSC code in the PAL version).

    It really makes no difference at all that you were able to patch your PS2 games... this is a different beast altogether.
     
  8. Tir
    OP

    Member Tir GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Australia
    Alright, guess I'll go hunt for a cheap used TV /w NTSC today then, even Twilight Princess just green screens me with force PAL.
     
  9. Nikj14

    Member Nikj14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Canada
    my friend has a tv that plays both NTSC and PAL games, no fiddling with force NTSC/PAL or anything and they play fine with neogamma.
     
  10. Tir
    OP

    Member Tir GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah hopefully that's what I'll be experiencing by the end of the day, my current TV is some really really ancient Sony from Germany or something. Maybe I can even find a used TV with component input.

    A component > VGA converter would probably cost me about the same but I bet 480p on my 1080p LCD would look like shit.
     
  11. Unfortune

    Member Unfortune GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Country:
    Pakistan
    swap magic is awesome... although my ps2 cover stays open all the time lol...
     
  12. Tir
    OP

    Member Tir GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Australia

Share This Page