Is it possible to make/port a ds emu for android tablets?

Discussion in 'Android' started by Alex221, Jul 3, 2012.

  1. Alex221
    OP

    Member Alex221 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Woudnt it be possible to make or port a ds emulator for an android tablets such as the upcoming nexus 7? I know there are some nds emulators out there for android devices right now but theyre still at a beta stage. Im not trying to ask for someone to make such a thing,im just wondering about the possibilities.
     


  2. Tom Bombadildo

    Contributor Tom Bombadildo Honk!

    pip
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,782
    Location:
    I forgot
    Country:
    United States
    There are ones in the works, but none run fast enough to be playable. Chances are one won't be made specifically for any device, but you could hope eventually when tablets that powerful are normally available.
     
  3. Shano56

    Member Shano56 noobie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States
    ITS IMPOSSIBLEEEEEEE!

    Jokes aside, its not android thats the deciding factor, its hardware capable. Once hardware improves, chances are you'll be seeing full speed emulators
     
  4. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    It is definitely possible but probably won't happen. There aren't any devs that work on emu's anymore really, I don't remember when any emulator got updated on Android for the past year. I'm talking about the big ones (GBA,N64,PS1, etc)
     
  5. Alex221
    OP

    Member Alex221 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure the hardware is not the problem here,i mean compare the technical specifications of a ds vs a high end tablet. I think we just need some persistent devs as well as beta testers to make a great emu.
     
  6. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,186
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    the guy who makes the .emu emulators update them frequently and just released a gba emu
    and Fpse is updated alot
     
  7. nl255

    Member nl255 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,995
    Country:
    Actually, it is usually fairly easy. Usually it is just a matter of obtaining the .apk and installing it manually. The rest of the time it is almost always just a matter of decompiling (unzipping) the apk, editing a couple of plain text files (or worst case, decompiling the java/dalvik code) to remove device restrictions, and then packaging it back up again. A few like Amazon Video use multiple highly obfuscated integrity checks in native code to prevent that but those are rare.
     
  8. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Really? I haven't got any updates from the Android market for these emu's that I have in a long time.
     
  9. Lastly

    Member Lastly Honorable UltimateAdmiin - Highest Rank

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United States
    Most emulators are not in the Market anymore. N64oid for example.
     
    1 person likes this.
  10. Flame

    Member Flame Me > You

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    3,389
    Country:

    Fpse gets updated on a regularly basis if you dont get the updates than you have a problem with your market/app updater.
     
  11. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,661
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Too bad that FPSE is absolute crap, at least on my Mali400 GPU.

    Anyway, it's probably feasible. The Nexus7 has enough horsepower to run a heavily-optimized DS emulator.

    Will someone work on it, or do something more than a crappy straight port? Well, that's another issue entirely ;)
     
  12. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    Some of those really don't even need updates though. At least for Yongzh's apps (the only ones I've used), NES, SNES, GBC, and GBA already work flawlessly. Genesis also works flawlessly, except for a transparency bug deal that was never fixed.
     
  13. Shano56

    Member Shano56 noobie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States
    Emulators need like 10x times better hardware than what they are emulating in order to play back 100% speed
     
  14. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    That's a gross exaggeration. But you're right, they generally have to be multiple times more powerful than the hardware being emulated.
     
  15. Shano56

    Member Shano56 noobie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    877
    Country:
    United States
    okay maybe more like 3x :P but anyways, It's probably a mixture of lack of devs (or interest) and higher-end specs.
     
  16. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    It depends completely on the hardware, honestly. Example, an older Macbook might not need to be as powerful as a newer one might to emulate gamecube and wii because the older macbooks were powerPC based, like the gamecube and wii. The more similar the hardware, the less overall powerful the emulating hardware has to be compared to the emulated hardware. But yeah, generally 3 or 4 times is about right.
     
  17. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Assuming that there was a powerPC GC emulator? :P
     
  18. xwatchmanx

    Member xwatchmanx GBAtemp's (Un)Ironic Weeaboo

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    6,310
    Location:
    Pittsboro, NC
    Country:
    United States
    I'm just speaking hypothetically. I'm no programmer and I don't know the gritty details.
     
  19. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, just making sure you meant hypothetically.
     
    1 person likes this.
  20. Alex221
    OP

    Member Alex221 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    602
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    So basically the hardware has to be similar and we would need some dedicated devs to make a port? Am i right or am i wrong?
     

Share This Page