1. Polarise

    OP Polarise GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2016
    Messages:
    827
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, I have a windows 10 laptop

    I wonder if it is possible to install macOS on a laptop. I know that for desktops you can using hackintosh but I want to know if you can for laptops. Do you think I should do it? Would it mess up my laptop?


    [Lenovo Y520]
    Specs:
    • NVIDIA GTX 1050Ti 4GB
    • 16GB of RAM
    • 256GB SSD + 2TBHDD
    • Intel Core i7 7700HQ
     
    Last edited by Polarise, Jun 11, 2017
  2. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    What processor do you have? What network card do you have?
    It's not as easy as installing other OSes.
     
  3. Kingy_

    Kingy_ GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    907
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It is possible depending on your hardware. There are many hackintosh communities out there that may have tested your hardware on macOS Sierra, I advise that you go and check the compatibility first.
     
    Last edited by Kingy_, Jun 11, 2017
    Deleted User likes this.
  4. MionissNio

    MionissNio GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    310
    Hmm usually on laptop it's tough as hell to do so, sometimes even essentials don't work such as Input devices or even USB ports! It's best to not do that, though I sympathize with you as windows is an utter peace of evil and should be halted.
     
  5. Seliph

    Seliph Resident Anarcho-Commie
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2016
    Messages:
    938
    Country:
    United States
    What did Windows ever do to hurt you?
    Personally, I really like it. Plus it has a right click button which imo makes it way easier to navigate.
    Maybe it's just because I've grown up on windows but I find macos to be hard to navigate.
     
    VinLark likes this.
  6. tedmg091309131

    tedmg091309131 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    United States
  7. RevPokemon

    RevPokemon GBATemp's 3rd Favorite Transgirl
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    4,845
    Country:
    United States
    Also he could try a Linux distro or BSD which is still better than OSX
     
  8. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    iAtkos causes everything to be way slower than it should because of all the extra stuff it has crammed in there to make it compatible with as much hardware as possible.
     
  9. Kingy_

    Kingy_ GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    907
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I wouldn't use distros as they do seem to show a performance decrease in some hardwares, and they're usually bloated.
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  10. VinLark

    VinLark This Machine Used To Kill Bourgeois Sentimentality
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2016
    Messages:
    4,347
    Country:
    United States
    Well, he is asking if he can switch to MacOS of all things. Even if he did install something like Ubuntu or Mint, his hardware could handle it.

    Ignore this
     
    Last edited by VinLark, Jun 11, 2017
  11. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    9,471
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yes, you need to google it.. and ask hackintosh team about the laptops. They have the best answer for you.
     
    Polarise likes this.
  12. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Install Linux Mint instead... More functions rather than this MacOSX shit which tends to take alot of space and IT STILL CREATES PROBLEMS even with Hackintosh installers.
     
  13. Kingy_

    Kingy_ GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    907
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Now that's just dependent on the hardware. I have a laptop that is running macOS Sierra just fine without any problems.
     
    Deleted User likes this.
  14. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Can we please not turn this thread into an OS war?
     
    Kingy_ likes this.
  15. azoreseuropa

    azoreseuropa GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    9,471
    Country:
    Portugal
    Please no more OS war at all!!! He is not asking about Linux Mint. He is asking about macOS. Have a respect for people's preference. Thanks. I have macOS laptop and doesn't have a problem for 3 years. If you are talking about macOS in Windows 10 then perhaps but if he really like macOS then he should buy a macOS LAPTOP instead. :)

    I agree!
     
  16. naddel81

    naddel81 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,212
    Country:
    United States
    I like to have both on simultaneously:

    [​IMG]

    both run great in VMware! win 7 is the base. win10 and macOS on top.

    and yes, I like f.lux. :)
     
    Last edited by naddel81, Jun 11, 2017
  17. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    What the fuck, can't I say my opinion anymore?
    MacOS isn't that good as everyone says and it will never be. Just like Linux and Windows.
     
  18. tech3475

    tech3475 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,754
    Country:
    Personally, unless you can get this thing running relatively simply (e.g. 1 or 2 kexts and a DSDT file), I wouldn't bother.

    Hackintoshes can be a pain if your setup gets complicated, especially when updates get involved as they can break things.

    Your biggest issue could be any 'media' buttons, main reason I didn't hacintosh my old HP.
     
  19. MionissNio

    MionissNio GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    310
    I'm a windows user, never owned Mac just tried Linux mint and Ubuntu, and believe me when I say M$oft are becoming greedier and dumber than their fruit counterpart.

    Personally I have to clean install Windows every 4 weeks to get my devices running smoothly, Surface pro 4 and HP (that had hard disk so idk how it will perform with SSD) gladly I never had a virus and never installed anti virus for that matter. Still not a big issue and I don't mind the hassle since you know windows struggles to make itself compatible with every device out there. The new windows update destroyed my touchscreen on surface and I fixed it by going back to the previous version, shouldn't happen to an expensive hardware which is produced in house! I should not be expected to pay premium and still face bugs from their end.

    But their development practices are becoming horrible! Windows 10 S, seriously the store is a ghost town I only used it to install like Calculator updates. They are trying to make windows a walk garden, I don't know when to expect them dropping win32 all together, speaking if win 32 it is the same since the xp days no single improvement, I would love to see the new fluent design system on win 32, but no because win 32 is a deadly Laser.

    Such things were to be expected before since the laptops and devices weren't so premium back in the day, but know they are just struggling and nothing else, and I can still talk for hours. Right now the best PC os is Mac, wether Hackintosh or original hardware.

    Edit: I have grown up with Windows, but it hasn't changed since 7 years, it's the same problematic mess it was, and I never have owned a Mac, despite temporarily for like 3-5 months.
     
    Last edited by MionissNio, Jun 11, 2017
  20. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    You can say your opinion, but the dude is just asking if he can get macOS working on his laptop, not for opinions on what OS people prefer, so it's just annoying.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Possible, Install, Windows