PS1/2 Is it possible to install free mcboot on PS2 slim with action replay?

Tweaker_Modding

Siezure Dice™
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2017
Messages
387
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere
Website
google.com
XP
934
Country
United Kingdom
hi there

I recently bought a PS2 slim and i am wondering if there’s a way to install free mcboot with an action replay

I’ve seen methods with stuff like 007 agent underfire and swapmagic but i dont have them

And i was wondering if i could do the swap magic method with an action replay
Or a complete different method using action replay


The action replay i have is an action replay max (without the media player)
And my PS2 bios is SCPH-70003
 
Last edited by Tweaker_Modding,

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
2,514
Trophies
2
XP
5,541
Country
Germany
Yes, it is possible with Action Replay Max even without the media player – but more work. It worked for me last year… but I would never do that again. I can’t give you detailed instructions (to long ago), only the basic idea:

You boot up your Action Replay disc and import some “cheat” codes for the AR itself (from usb-drive). Then you need to use “Launch Game” so the AR menu reloads with active codes. After the reload you select “Max Memory”. Because of the active codes the button points to the Free Mcboot installer instead of the AR memory manager.
If you want to try it, use your favorite search engine with:

installing Free Mcboot Action Replay Max without media player

Then you should find instructions and the needed code file.
Another way is buying a memory card with Free Mcboot already installed. These cards are not very expensive.
 

Tweaker_Modding

Siezure Dice™
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2017
Messages
387
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere
Website
google.com
XP
934
Country
United Kingdom
Yes, it is possible with Action Replay Max even without the media player – but more work. It worked for me last year… but I would never do that again. I can’t give you detailed instructions (to long ago), only the basic idea:

You boot up your Action Replay disc and import some “cheat” codes for the AR itself (from usb-drive). Then you need to use “Launch Game” so the AR menu reloads with active codes. After the reload you select “Max Memory”. Because of the active codes the button points to the Free Mcboot installer instead of the AR memory manager.
If you want to try it, use your favorite search engine with:

installing Free Mcboot Action Replay Max without media player

Then you should find instructions and the needed code file.
Another way is buying a memory card with Free Mcboot already installed. These cards are not very expensive.
Omg thank you!! I’ve been looking for something like this for years.
 

Tweaker_Modding

Siezure Dice™
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2017
Messages
387
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere
Website
google.com
XP
934
Country
United Kingdom
Yes, it is possible with Action Replay Max even without the media player – but more work. It worked for me last year… but I would never do that again. I can’t give you detailed instructions (to long ago), only the basic idea:

You boot up your Action Replay disc and import some “cheat” codes for the AR itself (from usb-drive). Then you need to use “Launch Game” so the AR menu reloads with active codes. After the reload you select “Max Memory”. Because of the active codes the button points to the Free Mcboot installer instead of the AR memory manager.
If you want to try it, use your favorite search engine with:

installing Free Mcboot Action Replay Max without media player

Then you should find instructions and the needed code file.
Another way is buying a memory card with Free Mcboot already installed. These cards are not very expensive.
I just have one issue i cant get the ps2 to read the ar save from the usb
 

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
2,514
Trophies
2
XP
5,541
Country
Germany
I just have one issue i cant get the ps2 to read the ar save from the usb

So… I have only one idea: Action Replay seems to be picky. Suggestion: Try some different drives, preferably old ones – and make sure you use FAT16 or FAT32 filesystem and MBR partition table.
I took out my PS2 and tried some drives with AR-Max – this gave mixed results. Now I know again, why I hated this method of installing Free Mcboot. It makes me want to smash the console with a sledgehammer.

Drive no. 1: (Intenso, 32GB)
idVendor=090c, idProduct=1000
Product: Intenso Speed Line
Manufacturer: SMI Technology
Total FAIL! Can’t copy files from memory card to USB-drive. Can’t read the necessary files (for the Free Mcboot installation) from USB-drive. Argh!

Drive no. 2: (Intenso slim line, 32GB)
idVendor=0bb4, idProduct=2910
Product: Slim Line
Manufacturer: Intenso
Partial success. MAX Memory Manager reads and writes from/to USB. But… it is so slow. So extremely slooooow. And sometimes the memory manager throws a strange error (no space left on device although it is almost empty).

Drive no. 3: (very old Kingston, 512MB, FAT16(!))
idVendor=08ec, idProduct=2038
Product: DataTraveler 2.0
Manufacturer: Kingston
Success. Still slow in both directions, but not as bad. Seems to work well.

Drive no. 4: (very cheap USB 2.0 multi card reader made by “Hama”)
idVendor=05e3, idProduct=0716
Product: USB Storage
[Linux does not show any manufacturer in syslog]
32GB (Toshiba) mirco-SD card inserted via SD-adapter.
Success. This weird setup actually worked – slow like number 2 but without any errors.
 

Tweaker_Modding

Siezure Dice™
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2017
Messages
387
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere
Website
google.com
XP
934
Country
United Kingdom
So… I have only one idea: Action Replay seems to be picky. Suggestion: Try some different drives, preferably old ones – and make sure you use FAT16 or FAT32 filesystem and MBR partition table.
I took out my PS2 and tried some drives with AR-Max – this gave mixed results. Now I know again, why I hated this method of installing Free Mcboot. It makes me want to smash the console with a sledgehammer.

Drive no. 1: (Intenso, 32GB)
idVendor=090c, idProduct=1000
Product: Intenso Speed Line
Manufacturer: SMI Technology
Total FAIL! Can’t copy files from memory card to USB-drive. Can’t read the necessary files (for the Free Mcboot installation) from USB-drive. Argh!

Drive no. 2: (Intenso slim line, 32GB)
idVendor=0bb4, idProduct=2910
Product: Slim Line
Manufacturer: Intenso
Partial success. MAX Memory Manager reads and writes from/to USB. But… it is so slow. So extremely slooooow. And sometimes the memory manager throws a strange error (no space left on device although it is almost empty).

Drive no. 3: (very old Kingston, 512MB, FAT16(!))
idVendor=08ec, idProduct=2038
Product: DataTraveler 2.0
Manufacturer: Kingston
Success. Still slow in both directions, but not as bad. Seems to work well.

Drive no. 4: (very cheap USB 2.0 multi card reader made by “Hama”)
idVendor=05e3, idProduct=0716
Product: USB Storage
[Linux does not show any manufacturer in syslog]
32GB (Toshiba) mirco-SD card inserted via SD-adapter.
Success. This weird setup actually worked – slow like number 2 but without any errors.
Hmm the usb’s i tried are

Blue integral 8gb USB
PS2 recognises it but it wont read files on it throws an error at me when i attempt to copy a file over to it

White toshiba 16GB USB
does the same as the blue integral USB

the thing is those are the only USBs i have i could try both my PS Vita (hacked so it can work as a usb to transfer stuff) and my PSP (bricked but ik how to fix it using my jailbroken PS3)

If i can’t get this to work i’m just gonna say “fuck it” and buy a free mcboot memory card off eBay
 
Last edited by Tweaker_Modding,

Tweaker_Modding

Siezure Dice™
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2017
Messages
387
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere
Website
google.com
XP
934
Country
United Kingdom
So… I have only one idea: Action Replay seems to be picky. Suggestion: Try some different drives, preferably old ones – and make sure you use FAT16 or FAT32 filesystem and MBR partition table.
I took out my PS2 and tried some drives with AR-Max – this gave mixed results. Now I know again, why I hated this method of installing Free Mcboot. It makes me want to smash the console with a sledgehammer.

Drive no. 1: (Intenso, 32GB)
idVendor=090c, idProduct=1000
Product: Intenso Speed Line
Manufacturer: SMI Technology
Total FAIL! Can’t copy files from memory card to USB-drive. Can’t read the necessary files (for the Free Mcboot installation) from USB-drive. Argh!

Drive no. 2: (Intenso slim line, 32GB)
idVendor=0bb4, idProduct=2910
Product: Slim Line
Manufacturer: Intenso
Partial success. MAX Memory Manager reads and writes from/to USB. But… it is so slow. So extremely slooooow. And sometimes the memory manager throws a strange error (no space left on device although it is almost empty).

Drive no. 3: (very old Kingston, 512MB, FAT16(!))
idVendor=08ec, idProduct=2038
Product: DataTraveler 2.0
Manufacturer: Kingston
Success. Still slow in both directions, but not as bad. Seems to work well.

Drive no. 4: (very cheap USB 2.0 multi card reader made by “Hama”)
idVendor=05e3, idProduct=0716
Product: USB Storage
[Linux does not show any manufacturer in syslog]
32GB (Toshiba) mirco-SD card inserted via SD-adapter.
Success. This weird setup actually worked – slow like number 2 but without any errors.
Ok so i tried it and sadly i couldnt unbrick the psp and the ps2 refused to recognise the vita so imma just buy a free mcboot memory card off eBay
 

Vorde

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2015
Messages
416
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
960
Country
Canada
Isn't the PS2 Slim limited at USB1.1 speeds? Doesn't it break compatibility with a lot of games and cause a bunch of slowdown or something? I remember trying to load backups from an external HDD once and it was god awful. I ended up picking up a Fat PS2 and installing a 250GB HDD into it with the network adapter, and loaded my games that way.
 

Tweaker_Modding

Siezure Dice™
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 1, 2017
Messages
387
Trophies
0
Location
Somewhere
Website
google.com
XP
934
Country
United Kingdom
Isn't the PS2 Slim limited at USB1.1 speeds? Doesn't it break compatibility with a lot of games and cause a bunch of slowdown or something? I remember trying to load backups from an external HDD once and it was god awful. I ended up picking up a Fat PS2 and installing a 250GB HDD into it with the network adapter, and loaded my games that way.
Tbh idk i never loaded backups off a usb before

Hecc i never even used free mcboot before
 

Vorde

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2015
Messages
416
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
960
Country
Canada
Tbh idk i never loaded backups off a usb before

Hecc i never even used free mcboot before
Okay well if I were in your shoes I would do some more research into USB loading on a PS2 Slim, and I would likely just burn my backups to DVD-R or DVD+R if you can find those where you live (finding DVD+R usually tend to be more difficult, but I found over the years that I had much less problems with them over DVD-R for some reason)
 

tech3475

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2009
Messages
2,528
Trophies
1
XP
3,277
Country
Depending on the price, it might be worth seeing about going the phat + HDD route, particularly since it may possible to then hack the PS2 via the HDD for free (well, if you have a method to write to an IDE HDD to from a PC).

It is possible to have both a hacked HDDOSD and FreeHDBoot.

Okay well if I were in your shoes I would do some more research into USB loading on a PS2 Slim, and I would likely just burn my backups to DVD-R or DVD+R if you can find those where you live (finding DVD+R usually tend to be more difficult, but I found over the years that I had much less problems with them over DVD-R for some reason)

Isn't it possible to run games over SMB?
 

Vorde

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 8, 2015
Messages
416
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
960
Country
Canada
Depending on the price, it might be worth seeing about going the phat + HDD route, particularly since it may possible to then hack the PS2 via the HDD for free (well, if you have a method to write to an IDE HDD to from a PC).

It is possible to have both a hacked HDDOSD and FreeHDBoot.



Isn't it possible to run games over SMB?
Yeah but it's limited at your networking speeds of the console + any overhead used by the SMB protocol, so it still ends up being slower than disc reading afaik. I believe there's a way to get IDE to SATA working, I just never bothered cuz I'm using an old 250GB IDE drive by Western Digital in mine, and the last time I used it, it worked well. With that being said, it has been about 8 years since I powered it up and had a chance to play on it.
 

KleinesSinchen

GBAtemp's Backup Reminder + Fearless Testing Sina
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Mar 28, 2018
Messages
2,514
Trophies
2
XP
5,541
Country
Germany
Yeah but it's limited at your networking speeds of the console + any overhead used by the SMB protocol, so it still ends up being slower than disc reading afaik. I believe there's a way to get IDE to SATA working, I just never bothered cuz I'm using an old 250GB IDE drive by Western Digital in mine, and the last time I used it, it worked well. With that being said, it has been about 8 years since I powered it up and had a chance to play on it.

Fat PS2 with HDD is super – if you have the network adapter and a suitable IDE-drive. Buying the adapter, possibly an IDE-SATA bridge and a hard disk is pretty expensive for an old console – in my opinion.
Loading from USB is a pain. Many games do not work at all, or cutscenes don‘t play or the games crash. So… NO. Using DVD-backups patched with ESR patcher works considerably better.
Personally I prefer network/SMB on the slim PS2. This was my reason to install Free Mcboot in the first place: Not wearing down the laser anymore and no disks lying around. Network IS slower than DVD but it is usuable. I just did some quick tests comparing SMB with original disks in good condition.

Rayman 3:
Loading first level takes about 10 seconds from SMB and 8 sec from disk.

Tomb Raider Anniversary:
Loading “Croft Manor” takes 26 sec SMB / 20 sec disk.
Loading first level takes 21 sec SMB / 16 sec disk.

I tried some more games from network share. All intro cutscenes played good via network – no skipping, no crashes. Network throughput maxed at only 12MBit/s on the Raspberry Pi 1b, which provides the samba-server. The Pi is not the bottleneck. It can deliver at about 50MBit/s to a “big” computer.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    lol
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    PS5 games are actually considerably smaller than PS4 games
    +1
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    better compression/optimization i guess
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    But it only has like 4 games :tpi:
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    what is something you can say about console homebrew but also in the bedroom
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Time to transfer files
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    "it was so hard the first time"
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    "Time to transfer files" bro having sex with robots
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    honestly knowing ken that isn't that unbelievable
    +1
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    arent many ps5 exclusives it's true, but there are a whole lot of ps4 games that got ps5 upgrades
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    and those have to be stored on one of the SSDs
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    "time to smash the stack"
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Uremum does like to call me dadbot
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Nothing beats a midnight shower
    Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    I'd say there would be more PS5 exclusives...if people could actually buy PS5s.
    Gift
  • Gift
  • AkiraKurusu @ AkiraKurusu:
    I mean, if no-one can buy a PS5, and thus is stuck with PS4 (Pros), then companies would still see some profit from developing PS4 games with PS5 upgrades; meanwhile, if they developed a PS5 game, then everyone who can't get that console won't buy that game, especially at launch.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Nah every console starts early with low libraries
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    well theyre churning them out as fast as they possibly can, not like Xbox or PC are faring much better with the chip shortages
    Gift
  • Xzi @ Xzi:
    and games still take 4-6 years to develop regardless, so its not like sony can conjure up new exclusives out of thin air
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Makes me wonder what they have now and are actually hiding from the public
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I hope in the next 5 years they can move on to even more realistic skin renders and not just make characters look like Shiney clay molds
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I'm waiting for the ultimate DLC, "The Most Dangerous Game".
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Let me hunt people or GTFO :angry:
    Gift
    Veho @ Veho: Let me hunt people or GTFO :angry: