Hacking Is it possible to hack classic controller support in games?

JJBro1

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Messages
849
Trophies
0
XP
518
Country
United States
Being as though we can hack the crap out of brawl and create levels for new super mario bros wii, I'd have to imagine that this is not impossible. Is there a way to hack the wii to allow classic controller support for games such as donkey kong country returns and new super mario bros wii? These games (especially DKCR) are just begging for this.
 

s3phir0th115

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
728
Trophies
0
XP
803
Country
United States
I'm not sure, but it'd certainly be nice DKCR. I think it's more likely for there to be an IOS hack to redirect buttons to other buttons though. I'm not sure how feasible that is though.
 

JJBro1

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Messages
849
Trophies
0
XP
518
Country
United States
megafanzero said:
There's already a Classic Controller/CC Pro hack out already.
Edit: the hack is for DKCR and if you are wondering, Classic Controller = Classic Controller Pro
Found on this thread...http://gbatemp.net/t266085-donkey-kong-country-returns

PS-Do I have to code internal links? Just wondering.
cool, thanks for the link. Do you know if they've done the same for new super mario bros wii? Some people were saying that they did the same thing for metroid other m. Where can I find the link for that?
 

jelbo

Ōkami!
Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2003
Messages
853
Trophies
0
Location
Netherlands
Website
cursors.pocketheaven.com
XP
638
Country
Netherlands
It's certainly not easy as DKCR involved writing ASM code and using hooks and that kind of cool hacks
smile.gif
So I don't think a sort of (semi) universal hack can be made.
 

WiiUBricker

News Police
Banned
Joined
Sep 19, 2009
Messages
7,828
Trophies
0
Location
Espresso
XP
7,409
Country
Argentina
QUOTE said:
Is it possible to hack classic controller support in games?
Yes, the man crediar proved that it's possible with ASM, but in order to do that, you have to find a dev with sufficient knowledge and will to do that for you.
 

SifJar

Not a pirate
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
6,022
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
1,172
Country

JJBro1

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2008
Messages
849
Trophies
0
XP
518
Country
United States
k, i put the GTC file in the USBloader/codes folder and when i go into configurable usb loader it won't find the codes in options. But when I load the game it says the code is found and gives me a black screen. What am I doing wrong?
 

lulwut

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2010
Messages
331
Trophies
0
XP
34
Country
SifJar said:
lulwut said:
DarkMario616 said:
lulwut said:
DKCR solution : use nunchuk

The classic controller hack is far more superior.
using nunchuk comes down to the same thing. if you disagree; youre an idiot
So anyone with an opinion of their own instead of mimicking yours is an idiot? Right.
no its all line of logic.

using a nunchuk makes the game only use 3 things ( bye bye motion controls )
analoge, A and some other button i dont know which.
how would using a classic controller make that any different?
the feel in your hands? big whoop, go play on the snes
more buttons you will never use since you only need 2?

im just saying...


EDIT : btw, this is a discussion like the good old other m controls shit. those weren't THAT horrible...
and now you get nunchuk support so no weird shit needs to be done and it still isn't good enough eventho its perfectly fine? daaaaamn man
 

SifJar

Not a pirate
Member
Joined
Apr 4, 2009
Messages
6,022
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
1,172
Country
lulwut said:
SifJar said:
lulwut said:
DarkMario616 said:
lulwut said:
DKCR solution : use nunchuk

The classic controller hack is far more superior.
using nunchuk comes down to the same thing. if you disagree; youre an idiot
So anyone with an opinion of their own instead of mimicking yours is an idiot? Right.
no its all line of logic.

using a nunchuk makes the game only use 3 things ( bye bye motion controls )
analoge, A and some other button i dont know which.
how would using a classic controller make that any different?
the feel in your hands? big whoop, go play on the snes
more buttons you will never use since you only need 2?

im just saying...


EDIT : btw, this is a discussion like the good old other m controls shit. those weren't THAT horrible...
and now you get nunchuk support so no weird shit needs to be done and it still isn't good enough eventho its perfectly fine? daaaaamn man

Some people prefer to hold a classic controller over a nunchuck and wii remote. Personally I would prefer a nunchuck and wii remote, that doesn't mean anyone who disagrees is wrong or stupid.
 

Blue-K

No right of appeal.
Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
2,572
Trophies
0
Location
Helvetica
XP
179
Country
Swaziland
Wait, don't you still need to waggle with the Nunchuck? I thought so...and that stupid waggle was the reason for me to buy a Classic Controller Pro, and apply the cheat (also I like it's shape, much better than a WiiMote+Nunchuck, imo).

Then again, use what you want, as long as you like it (and don't call other people idiots).
 

The Frenchman

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Messages
713
Trophies
0
XP
1,287
Country
Canada
you could have ocarina controller enabler cheats that simply tells to activate one other button function when triggered. Like pressing A on classic controller activates the cheat that emulates pressing B on wiimote. what I wonder is if you do that maybe if you add more, pressing B no longer pressing b at all and then A =/= anymore. could lock up on a loop coming from the action of pressing all these buttons switch them all because each code switches codes and their reactions.

it could work well though.
 

kupo3000

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2009
Messages
467
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
244
Country
This would be great on Okami.
The classic controller pro is nearly identical to the PS2 controller, but no rumble.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: I hear if you talk too much you have to cut off a finger... What parts do you cut off for other...