Is it possible to get Netflix working on 4.1E

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by aaii, Mar 15, 2011.

Mar 15, 2011
  1. aaii
    OP

    Newcomer aaii Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Norway
    Hi [​IMG]

    Ive been searching all over on how to get my netflix account up and running on my 4.1E wii.
    Im able to stream it on my pc so the connection is no problem.
    Here what I got so far:

    Wii 4.1E with newest shop channel v20
    Used region changer to set shop country code to US, and was able to download Netflix.
    Been trying to use Configurable USB loader, but gives me the message disc cant be used anymore.
    Tried offline wad installation with wad manager 1.7 ...black screen
    Ive read that Netflix uses ios56 but I allready have this since I updated my shop channel.
    Ive been trying different settings in the system menu hacks...like region free channels1-2
    But when loading Netflix..... the screen goes black
    Also tried Gecko, force NTSC, load channel.....black screen

    Is there a way to get this to work??? Really dont want to change the region on my console and start all over again.

    Any ideas??? [​IMG]
     


  2. scooby74029

    Member scooby74029 "fake coder"

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    oklahoma, USA
    Country:
    United States
    i know netflix uses the new version of ios 56 i think it is v5662 but not sure of version number

    you can use modmii to get it
     
  3. UniqueGeek

    Member UniqueGeek PMD Researcher

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,371
    Country:
    United States
    I have it on either 4.1 or 4.2. I don't remember which firmware I have at the moment...
     
  4. aaii
    OP

    Newcomer aaii Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Norway
    Thanks for quick response [​IMG] ......this problem is driving me nuts


    I got the ios56 v5662 installed cause of the wii shop. But maybe Netflix uses another version??? or doesnt it matter??
     
  5. aaii
    OP

    Newcomer aaii Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Norway


    You got it working on a european wii?
     
  6. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    cant you get it on a pal shop?
     
  7. aaii
    OP

    Newcomer aaii Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Norway
    I wasnt able to download it from the european shop channel, but anyregion changer helped me out on that by changing the shop channel code [​IMG] .....if that was what you meant?
     
  8. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    yeah. did it not exsist on the shop or did it just error out?
     
  9. aaii
    OP

    Newcomer aaii Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Norway
    It didnt exsist on the european shop. Guess its since Netflix is a service only within US, not sure but thats the only reason I can think of.

    I read on one page on the net that if I got the black screen on loading a channel, I had to make sure of that I had the right ios installed. But Netflix uses ios56 and its already installed on my wii. I just dont get it....hmmmmm
     
  10. UniqueGeek

    Member UniqueGeek PMD Researcher

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,371
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, sorry, I missed that detail. Try AnyRegionChanger to change the region. Then all you need is a Netflix account.
     
  11. aaii
    OP

    Newcomer aaii Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Norway
    I was hoping to avoid having to change the region on my console, and have to start all over again.

    Im hoping there is others out there somewhere who also have the same problem as me......maybe they even figured it out what to do [​IMG] wish thinking he he
     
  12. M1r0

    Member M1r0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    One way to avoid changing the region on your wii (kind've) and install it on 4.1e (or any version), is to use nand emulation. I'm not sure if mighty channels or others will work, they might be better, but if you're despserate, install sneek, with US region and 4.3u. It won't actually change your wii's region, just change the emulated wii.
     
  13. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    This came up on another site I belong to...I think it was because of the PAL video mode.

    Your best bet is probably to use SNEEK to set up a USA NAND on your SD/USB and run Netflix from there.
     
  14. M1r0

    Member M1r0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] What I just said, thanks for confirming though.
     
  15. aaii
    OP

    Newcomer aaii Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Norway
    [​IMG] thanks guys

    Never heard of sneek, so I'll check it out now.
    Allways learning something new, he he
     
  16. M1r0

    Member M1r0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    Also try installing a cIOS and then mighty channels, might work.. I'll check for region support in a sec
     
  17. aaii
    OP

    Newcomer aaii Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Norway
    [​IMG] THANKS GUYS [​IMG]

    This is GREAT!!!

    Got it working by using SNEEK. This is awesome! It took me allmost 3 days of finding out how to get it up and running. And Im now the proud owner of an 4.3U emulated Wii on SD.

    Movie time tonight [​IMG]
     
  18. Donkey Plonk

    Member Donkey Plonk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    421
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Out of interest how do you get around the needing a us mailing address for an account?
     
  19. M1r0

    Member M1r0 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Country:
    United States
    Could have bought a used PAL wii in the United States. Or has a freind who shared account.
     
  20. Donkey Plonk

    Member Donkey Plonk GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    Messages:
    421
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was asking the person with the Norweigan flag as their location, I'm assuming that means they're in Norway.

    I know this could help someone with a PAL wii in the states, as said, they appeared to be from Norway and I was intrigued.
     

Share This Page