1. Zap Rowsdower

    Zap Rowsdower I am you.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    388
    Country:
    Canada
    Easiest way would be to point your Switch's gateway setting to whatever LAN IP of the machine you'd like to connect it to, and not your actual gateway. (your router) I'm unsure if it would end up actually forwarding anything, but you wouldn't want anything like ICS enabled.
     
  2. Mr. Wizard

    Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,814
    Country:
    Canada
    have been accomplishing this since day 1 using fiddler.
     
  3. Puppydogpals

    Puppydogpals GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I use plusnet access control feature of my router.

    You can block internet access to certain devices/ MAC addresses during certain hours or permanently.

    When I connect by Wi-Fi the switch says It fails internet connection and needs to sign in.

    A web page opens it show a page saying my router is blocking internet.

    Press home. Hey presto I have an connection to the router with an IP that I can connect to with filezilla to transfer files.

    This allows local connections but no connection to outside world. Just make sure any pc you connect to has share my internet connection turned off if you connect to this pc directly

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited by Puppydogpals, Jul 29, 2018
  4. mrblack21

    mrblack21 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    If you only want to access your LAN, then you need to set your default gateway to something other than your router IP. For example, if you Switch IP is setup as IP: 192.168.1.200; Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0; Default gateway: 192.168.1.1, then change the default gateway to something like 192.168.5.1. Your switch will still be able to communicate with devices on your LAN, but not have access to the internet.
     
    0000ff likes this.
  5. ichibaka

    ichibaka Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    United States
    http://receive-lp1.dg.srv.nintendo.net:443 - error reporting
    ---receive-lp1.dg.srv.nintendo.net [52.6.240.127]

    http://receive-lp1.er.srv.nintendo.net:443 - error reporting
    ---receive-lp1.er.srv.nintendo.net [52.1.31.160]

    I use OpenDNS public dns server with my router, create a free account and add your home public facing ip as the network to manage. In Web content filtering section, add the listed domain without the http:// and :443 PORT, and wait 3 minutes for the server to update the blocked domain list for your account.

    To test you can use any domain such as facebook.com or google.com as examples. With this you have full access to your LAN and internet, just not specific domain blocked by OpenDNS. You just let your Switch grab DHCP lease from your router without doing anything. Don't put in custom DNS or you'll bypass the block from OpenDNS.
    ------------------------------

    Another option if you don't want to use the above method is to use your router's static route function

    Add the following to the route list:
    1. Network/Host IP: 8.8.8.8 (I used google's dns server as an example)
    2. Netmask: 255.255.255.255
    3. Gateway: <your router IP> (e.g. 192.168.2.1)
    4. Metric: 2
    5. Interface: LAN
    To test, open a command prompt and type "ping 8.8.8.8" as an example, if it returns as Destination host unreachable then you know it's working.
    -------------------------------

    One more router method for good measure. This time we'll be using your router's firewall or network service filter function. Basically you will assign a static ip address to your Switch's wifi MAC address, for example 192.168.1.135. Then in your router's blacklist you will add that IP (or MAC) address in the Source IP field and leave everything blank.

    In this way the Switch will still be able to access local LAN network and grab an ip address from your router, but will be blocked from access the internet.

    To test this, add the local ip address of any second computer or laptop (that you are not using) to the blacklist, set for all day every day, then Apply. Now try to access the internet from the blocked device and you won't be able to load any sites. But if you try to access local services like NAS then it's still possible.
     
    Last edited by ichibaka, Jul 30, 2018
    bananarama likes this.
  6. machinoman

    machinoman GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    322
    Country:
    United States
    i imagine you could use pegaswitch to do this if you don't want to mess with the router. i remember when i closed out of it the switch would react as if it was connected to the internet although it was only really connected to my server. this would require you setting up a pegaswitch server in a linux environment or win 10 ubuntu though.
     
  7. oleg77

    oleg77 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2016
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    Belgium
    Simply connecting Internet doesn't automatically lead to a ban if you used SX OS previously. This is simply not true. It depends on other factors. Those factors are still not known with accuracy. Be cautious that's all, take extra steps.
     
    Last edited by oleg77, Jul 30, 2018
  8. Clapmaster

    Clapmaster GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    United States
    It blows my mind that the Switch won't even keep a connection with an offline network. I tried blocking the MAC method but if the Switch doesn't see internet it repeatedly disconnects. What the shit Nintendo!?
     
  9. Puppydogpals

    Puppydogpals GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Works for me keeps connection after blocking MAC for internet access.. But it will loose it after sleep

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
     
  10. Zyvyn

    Zyvyn GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2017
    Messages:
    1,952
    Country:
    United States
    this has happened though imjust saying its for sure possible
     
  11. uludag

    uludag Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Fiji
    OP, Who is Ian?
     
  12. Puppydogpals

    Puppydogpals GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Land area network. Cable to router

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
     
  13. uludag

    uludag Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2018
    Messages:
    74
    Country:
    Fiji
    That's Local area network. And it's called LAN.
    I was just joking, asking WHO Ian would be..
    Sorry for having to explain :/
     
    The14thfly and tiliarou like this.
  14. trueicecold

    OP trueicecold Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    United States
    haha true, it lost its edge ;)
     
  15. Clapmaster

    Clapmaster GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    United States
    My wifi symbol on the Switch keeps going back and forth from connected to dis and when I open ftpd it shows my ip for a few seconds and then errors pop up saying something like connection closed by software. I'm getting real tired of turning off the switch and removing the sd card every time I need to do anything.
     
  16. PsychoRabbit

    PsychoRabbit Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Argentina
    If you have a little knowledge about using Docker, you can use my dns image: https://gbatemp.net/threads/yadns-n...our-wifi-without-internet-in-a-docker.510239/
    Once you run the docker image, you only needs to set the Primary DNS on the switch to your computer IP, it will pass the nintendo test and you will have a local connection but without any outside internet connection (unless you specify a secondary DNS to 8.8.8.8 or another)
     
  17. Puppydogpals

    Puppydogpals GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2018
    Messages:
    160
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Strange.... mine will complain that I need to sign in... I press next. My block page comes up press home... it's fine then

    Have ftp'd for over 2 hours docked ,(also no issues in handheld either), just remember to change sleep options while docked to a suitable length

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
     
  18. Targi

    Targi Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2018
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Just use a wrong wifi password.
     
  19. ichibaka

    ichibaka Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2018
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    United States
    You wont even be able to connect to the router to get an IP address
     
  20. DeathGrind

    DeathGrind Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United States
    When my switch was on fw 1.00(been upgraded via fuseless update) i used my esp8266 I use for ps4 exploit hosting to connect to its WiFi hotspot to serve the pegaswitch exploit via fakenews.

    It would fail to fully connect, but in settings it would say connected. I used this method many times to load RCM via pegaswitch before I got a jig. My switch has never connected to the "internet". But has many times connected to my esp8266 WiFi network.

    Now I'm not sure if 5.1 fw changes this, I will test later when I can.

    Edit....just tried connecting to my esp8266 again on fw 5.1 successfully. It connects to network then fails at internet, but remains connected and is given IP address, etc etc.

    If all you want is to connect devices together via wireless network with no chance of internet connection a esp8266 will work.

    Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk
     
    Last edited by DeathGrind, Aug 18, 2018
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - possible, allowing, enable