1. RyuShinobi500

    OP RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    United States
    I have updated my OpenGL driver from 1.5 to 2.1 because I was having some issues with some software but after updating I have noticed not improvements and the software is still having issues is it possible that the PC is still running OpenGL 1.5 and needs to be switched to OpenGL 2.1 my PC is a Thinkpad t410 and it is running Linux Kubuntu 18.04 LTS thanks to anyone who can shed some light on this subject
     
  2. MythicalData

    MythicalData GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,421
    Country:
    United States
    What issues with software are you having? Drivers are a good place to start, but that probably isn't your issue in this case atleast
     
  3. RyuShinobi500

    OP RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    United States
    Well I am trying to make a theme using the 3DS theme Editor Kame but the top screen it black and will not display images the creator of Kame said it is a OpenGL problem link to thread I was wondering however if a old PC could support OpenGL 3.1 thanks
     
  4. MythicalData

    MythicalData GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,421
    Country:
    United States
    It may be a problem. Did you install/update opengl via a software manager or via terminal?
     
  5. RyuShinobi500

    OP RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    United States
    I updated it via the terminal link to the instructions I followed
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2020
  6. MythicalData

    MythicalData GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,421
    Country:
    United States
    What kind of graphics card do you have? or do you only have integrated graphics?
     
  7. RyuShinobi500

    OP RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    United States
    Screenshot_20200115_110209.png
    I have a Intel HD graphics card
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2020
  8. MythicalData

    MythicalData GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,421
    Country:
    United States
    I would try running these commands
    "
    sudo add-apt-repository ppa:oibaf/graphics-drivers
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get upgrade
    "
    Then I'd restart then try your application again
     
  9. RyuShinobi500

    OP RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    United States
    Okay I have tried this and reinstalled the application but it still has a black screen if I run the application via the Terminal I get this output :unsure:

    Code:
    [email protected]:~$ kame-editor
    libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
    libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
    QOpenGLTexture::setData() requires a valid current context
    QOpenGLTexture::setData() requires a valid current context
    libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
    libpng warning: iCCP: known incorrect sRGB profile
    ALSA lib pcm.c:2495:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.rear
    ALSA lib pcm.c:2495:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.center_lfe
    ALSA lib pcm.c:2495:(snd_pcm_open_noupdate) Unknown PCM cards.pcm.side
    ALSA lib pcm_route.c:867:(find_matching_chmap) Found no matching channel map
    ALSA lib pcm_route.c:867:(find_matching_chmap) Found no matching channel map
    ALSA lib pcm_route.c:867:(find_matching_chmap) Found no matching channel map
    ALSA lib pcm_route.c:867:(find_matching_chmap) Found no matching channel map
    Cannot connect to server socket err = No such file or directory
    Cannot connect to server request channel
    jack server is not running or cannot be started
    JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for -1, skipping unlock
    JackShmReadWritePtr::~JackShmReadWritePtr - Init not done for -1, skipping unlock
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Vertex): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Vertex shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    layout(location = 0)in vec3 vertex;
    layout(location = 1)in vec2 texCoords;
    
    out vec2 uv;
    
    uniform mat4 mvpMatrix;
    
    void main() {
        uv = texCoords;
        gl_Position = mvpMatrix * vec4(vertex.x, vertex.y, vertex.z, 1.0);
    }
    
    ***
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Fragment): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Fragment shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    in vec2 uv;
    
    uniform vec4 color;
    uniform sampler2D image;
    uniform sampler2D ext;
    uniform float alpha;
    uniform float gradientbrightness;
    uniform float gradientalpha;
    uniform float alphaext;
    uniform float time;
    
    out vec4 fragColor;
    
    void main() {
        vec2 newuv = uv;
        float ratioX = uv.x / 6.40625;
        float rate = 1 / 8000.0;
        newuv.y += 0.3 * (-2.0 * newuv.y + 1.0) * ratioX * (ratioX - 1.0);
        vec2 offset = vec2(newuv.x - (time * rate), newuv.y + time * rate);
        // Moving tiles
        vec4 c = texture(image, offset);
        // Ensure textures are grayscale
        c.rgb = vec3(dot(c.rgb, vec3(0.299, 0.587, 0.114)));
        c.a = min(c.r, c.a) * alpha;
        c.rgb = vec3(1);
        // Static tiles
        vec4 fixedTexture = texture(ext, newuv);
        fixedTexture.rgb = vec3(dot(fixedTexture.rgb, vec3(0.299, 0.587, 0.114)));
        fixedTexture.a = min(fixedTexture.a, fixedTexture.r) * alphaext;
        fixedTexture.rgb = vec3(1);
    
        // Background color
        vec4 bottom = color;
        bottom.a = 1;
        vec4 top = mix(bottom, vec4(gradientbrightness, gradientbrightness, gradientbrightness, 1), gradientalpha);
        top.a = 1;
        vec4 gradient = bottom * (1 - mod(uv.y / 3.75, 1.0)) + top * mod(uv.y / 3.75, 1.0);
        gradient.a = 1;
        vec4 opaque = mix(c, fixedTexture, 0.5);
        opaque.a = min(1, opaque.a * 2);
        opaque.rgb = vec3(gradientbrightness, gradientbrightness, gradientbrightness);
        fragColor = vec4(mix(gradient.rgb, opaque.rgb, opaque.a), gradient.a + opaque.a);
    }
    
    ***
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Vertex): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Vertex shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    layout(location = 0)in vec3 vertex;
    layout(location = 1)in vec2 texCoords;
    
    out vec2 uv;
    
    uniform mat4 mvpMatrix;
    
    void main() {
        uv = texCoords;
        gl_Position = mvpMatrix * vec4(vertex.x, vertex.y, vertex.z, 1.0);
    }
    
    ***
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Fragment): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Fragment shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    in vec2 uv;
    
    uniform sampler2D image;
    uniform float time;
    
    out vec4 fragColor;
    
    void main() {
        vec2 newuv = vec2(uv.x - time / 1008.0, uv.y + 16 / 256.0);
        fragColor = texture(image, newuv);
    }
    
    ***
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Vertex): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Vertex shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    layout(location = 0)in vec3 vertex;
    layout(location = 1)in vec3 aNormal;
    
    uniform mat4 mvpMatrix;
    uniform mat4 mMatrix;
    
    out vec3 fragPos;
    out vec3 lightPos;
    out vec3 normal;
    out vec3 vertexOut;
    
    void main() {
        gl_Position = mvpMatrix * vec4(vertex.x, vertex.y, vertex.z, 1.0);
        fragPos = vec3(mMatrix * vec4(vertex, 1.0));
        lightPos = vec3(mMatrix * vec4(0, 15, 1, 1.0));
        normal = aNormal;
        vertexOut = vertex;
    }
    
    ***
    QOpenGLShader::compile(Fragment): 0:1(10): error: GLSL 3.30 is not supported. Supported versions are: 1.10, 1.20, and 1.00 ES
    
    *** Problematic Fragment shader source code ***
    #version 330 core
    #define lowp
    #define mediump
    #define highp
    #line 1
    in vec3 fragPos;
    in vec3 lightPos;
    in vec3 normal;
    in vec3 vertexOut;
    
    uniform vec4 maincolor;
    uniform vec4 dark;
    uniform vec4 light;
    
    out vec4 fragColor;
    
    void main() {
        vec3 ambientcolor = mix(vec3(maincolor), vec3(light), min(1, abs(vertexOut.z - normal.b)));
        ambientcolor = mix(ambientcolor, vec3(dark), min(1, abs(normal.r)));
        vec3 lightColor = vec3(1, 1, 1);
        float ambientStrength = 0.7;
        vec3 ambient = ambientStrength * lightColor;
    
        // diffuse
        vec3 norm = normalize(normal);
        vec3 lightDir = normalize(lightPos - fragPos);
        float diff = max(dot(norm, lightDir), 0.0);
        vec3 diffuse = diff * lightColor;
    
        vec3 result = (ambient + diffuse) * ambientcolor;
        fragColor = vec4(result, 1.0);
    }
    
    ***
     
  10. MythicalData

    MythicalData GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,421
    Country:
    United States
    Seems like your computer or the application can only run on opengl 1.1 or 1.2, but I could be wrong
    I learned linux in 2 days lol (got an A tho)

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    You could set up a virtual machine to run the application if you'd like. You could set up windows or possible even another linux that could run the opengl you need because it's ran through emulation.
    I would only do this for basic applications though
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2020
  11. RyuShinobi500

    OP RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    United States
    the computor ran OpenGL 2.1 when the OS was Linux Mint so I am unsure of what is going wrong:wacko:

    So different Linux disros can run different versions of OpenGL ?
     
  12. MythicalData

    MythicalData GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,421
    Country:
    United States
    The driver may have been updated to that version, but your computer can only go so far it seems and probably uses as high of a level driver that it can.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    And the opengl drivers are individual to the hardware generally (even though there can be multiple versions of them; open source drivers, nvidia drivers, and so on)
    The reason a vm would help is that you're emulating the hardware you don't have that can run newer versions of opengl
     
  13. RyuShinobi500

    OP RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    United States
    Okay I will be getting a new PC in February so maybe a more modern hardware will work:(
     
    MythicalData likes this.
  14. MythicalData

    MythicalData GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,421
    Country:
    United States
    If I were you when I get the new pc I would install windows first then install linux mint (or whatever version you'd like)
    then dual boot the system
    if you're having trouble with the dual boot menu (grub)
    you can use grub customizer to change the entries, rename them, and reorder them among other things.
    (this is a linux software so to run it you would boot from your linux install or a live linux install)
    Though yes newer hardware should definitely have your back
     
  15. RyuShinobi500

    OP RyuShinobi500 C0D3 N1Nj4
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2019
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    United States
    Okay thanks
     
    MythicalData likes this.
  16. Joom

    Joom  ❤❤❤
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    5,169
    Country:
    United States
    This isn't possible. VMs can only do what the host hardware can.
     
  17. Argonitious

    Argonitious Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    United States
    I feel your pain. I used a 2006 Mac Mini for several years which maxed out at OpenGL 2.1 (Linux) or 1.4 (Mac/Windows). I didn't use Linux in those days, so I was stuck with 1.4. A lot of 3D software didn't work on it as a result.

    The built-in graphics in the Westmere series Intel processors from 2010 don't have good OpenGL support. Although you have the newest OpenGL drivers (Mesa in this case), your hardware simply isn't capable of anything higher than OpenGL 2.1. Your software requires GLSL 3.30, which means you need at least OpenGL 3.3. Pretty much any computer made within the last 5 years will support that.

    Interestingly, GLSL version numbers didn't match up with OpenGL versions until 3.3 was released. They have been lined up ever since.

    Since it sounds like you are thinking about getting another PC...

    Avoid HP and MSI computers if you use Linux. A friend of mine has had nothing but problems with Linux on his HP laptop (glitchy audio, crashing/freezing). I had an MSI laptop which had multiple BIOS bugs (that only affected Linux) and strange hardware that didn't work very well with current Linux drivers.

    If you want something that is guaranteed to play nice with Linux, you should look at Purism's Librem 13/15 laptops ($1399/$1599) or any of System76's laptops (2 models are just under $1000). They can be a bit more expensive than other brands, but they are relatively small companies. An unfortunate effect of economics.

    Most of the Lenovo ThinkPad laptops (I use one now) are also known to work nicely. I know your T410 didn't allow some Linux distributions on USB, but that problem appears to be gone on newer models. The last generation T480 with Intel graphics (not the Nvidia version that eats up battery power on Linux) often goes for less than $700 on eBay.
     
  18. eyeliner

    eyeliner Has an itch needing to be scratched.
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    914
    Country:
    Portugal
    Slap this in the terminal:

    glxinfo | grep OpenGL:

    From my basic Google-fu, you can go max to OpenGL 1.1 on that Intel Graphics device.
     
  19. smf

    smf GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,696
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Theoretically you could software emulate a higher level of functionality, but it would be so slow that it's not worth it.

    If it were possible to do it in a practical way then of course nobody would ever need to buy a new graphics card :D
     
  20. MythicalData

    MythicalData GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,421
    Country:
    United States
    Was unaware of this limitaton. Thanks for pointing it out :D
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - possible, outdated, version