is it possbile to get a new hard drive for the ps3?

Discussion in 'PS3 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by DJPlace, May 26, 2011.

  1. DJPlace
    OP

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,500
    Country:
    United States
    i mean i don't need one right now. for example can i replace a hard drive 160 gb hard drive and replace it with a one that can play PS2 games or is that stuck in the system? i got a thin model. also one more question how much of a hard drive room can i replace with a ps3? i heard there's 500 GB one's is that true also?
     
  2. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    PS2 game compatibility isn't something that comes with the HDD. It was in the hardware of earlier models.
     
  3. DJPlace
    OP

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,500
    Country:
    United States
    ah damn... oh well. there was some ps2 games i wanted to try but oh well.
     
  4. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You could always pick up a PS2 and Swap Magic to satisfy those needs. If you get a Phat PS2, you can even softmod it via the memory card (I believe).
     
  5. TheDarkSeed

    Member TheDarkSeed I'm a pretentious sack of shit

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Carson
    Country:
    United States
    I saw a ps3 with a terabyte of memory.
     
  6. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,306
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's now possible to connect a 3TB HDD to the PS3. You could probably go a step further and add RAID to the mix (via eSATA) but that just gets messy.

    If you want to just use an internal drive and not deal with eSATA, then the capacity of the HDD will be limited to the physical thickness of the HDD. IIRC, it must be less than 9.5mm thick, and most 2.5" HDDs bigger than 750GB tend to be too thick to fit inside the PS3 without getting the power tools out.
     
  7. DJPlace
    OP

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,500
    Country:
    United States
    i should of asked this before but do you have to open your ps3 to put it in? and would that void the warrenty? also can i copy my saves over to the new hard drive.
     
  8. wyndcrosser

    Member wyndcrosser GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't void the warranty, just keep the old drive handy (replace it in the same bag/box the new drive came in), so if you ever need to return it, it's there.

    Wynd
     
  9. gautam

    Newcomer gautam Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    Dont forget to format ur new hard drive with the FAT32 file system because the ps3 cant recognize the NTFS filesystem.
     

Share This Page