1. DJPlace

    OP DJPlace the hater of something i can't recall.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Country:
    United States
    i mean i don't need one right now. for example can i replace a hard drive 160 gb hard drive and replace it with a one that can play PS2 games or is that stuck in the system? i got a thin model. also one more question how much of a hard drive room can i replace with a ps3? i heard there's 500 GB one's is that true also?
     
  2. Nathan Drake

    Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    PS2 game compatibility isn't something that comes with the HDD. It was in the hardware of earlier models.
     
  3. DJPlace

    OP DJPlace the hater of something i can't recall.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Country:
    United States
    ah damn... oh well. there was some ps2 games i wanted to try but oh well.
     
  4. Nathan Drake

    Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    You could always pick up a PS2 and Swap Magic to satisfy those needs. If you get a Phat PS2, you can even softmod it via the memory card (I believe).
     
  5. TheDarkSeed

    TheDarkSeed I'm a pretentious sack of shit
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,180
    Country:
    United States
    I saw a ps3 with a terabyte of memory.
     
  6. Originality

    Originality Chibi-neko
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,708
    Country:
    It's now possible to connect a 3TB HDD to the PS3. You could probably go a step further and add RAID to the mix (via eSATA) but that just gets messy.

    If you want to just use an internal drive and not deal with eSATA, then the capacity of the HDD will be limited to the physical thickness of the HDD. IIRC, it must be less than 9.5mm thick, and most 2.5" HDDs bigger than 750GB tend to be too thick to fit inside the PS3 without getting the power tools out.
     
  7. DJPlace

    OP DJPlace the hater of something i can't recall.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,320
    Country:
    United States
    i should of asked this before but do you have to open your ps3 to put it in? and would that void the warrenty? also can i copy my saves over to the new hard drive.
     
  8. wyndcrosser

    wyndcrosser GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    724
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't void the warranty, just keep the old drive handy (replace it in the same bag/box the new drive came in), so if you ever need to return it, it's there.

    Wynd
     
  9. gautam

    gautam Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    Dont forget to format ur new hard drive with the FAT32 file system because the ps3 cant recognize the NTFS filesystem.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - possbile, drive,