Is it impossible to play backup Gamecube games on a black wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by brandonspikes, Jun 2, 2010.

  1. brandonspikes
    OP

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Just wondering if at this point in time if there are any kind of hacks that allow such things without physically opening the system?

    I've tried burning both the Original .GCN and .ISO versions of the game to a disc but from my understanding the new Wii bundles will not allow for backup discs, am I correct or misinformed?
     


  2. zero80472

    Newcomer zero80472 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    if your wii is softmodded go look for CMIOS and neogemma then you can play GC games [​IMG]
     
  3. Phr3d13

    Member Phr3d13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    But i thought the newer wii's (white or black) didn't support backups (wii or GC).
     
  4. brandonspikes
    OP

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Do I load it via my External hdd or is it disc only?

    From my understanding, your usb devices get locked up during GC mode.
     
  5. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    To my knowledge, newer wiis are installed with a different disc drive (and possibly slightly modificated, yes I made that word up, motherboard) to prevent loading back-ups. As far as this is concerned, it's a hardware modification and in order to reverse the effects of these new components, you would have to modify it hardwarely wise which is a contradiction if you don't want to open up the wii and still want to play back ups on newer wiis.
     
  6. brandonspikes
    OP

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    See, thats what I thought, And I really didn't want to emulate them on my PC.
     
  7. Juanmatron

    Member Juanmatron Slater Color

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667
    Location:
    SEGA's World
    Country:
    Spain
    [​IMG]

    DIOS MIO(S)
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    SD-Boot and USB-Boot from emu_kidid might work. You need to boot them as gamecube homebrew and not from HBC.
     
  9. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    did emu_kidd ever finish updating those apps? Last I heard he improved on it A LOT but didn't release his updates yet. He also said he would change the name of the app when he did release it... so since u are still referring to it by the old name, i'm assuming he still hasn't released his updates.
     
  10. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    No updates, and yes the next version will have a new name and all loading methods joined. The last he did was asking for incompatible games for the latest sd-boot in his forum.
     
  11. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    I was hoping for some clarification on this, this method may work because in order to run a gamecube iso, the wii must first revert to gamecube mode. The reason why most attempts fail at loading gamecube iso's is because not only gamecube mode is limited to certain hardware but also loading into gamecube mode clears the memory of wii software. Because of the memory being cleared, IOS modules used to try and loading the ISO would be cleared too. The reason this may work is because if you can get a loader to run in already a gamecube state (or emulated gamecube state perhaps), it would eliminate the problem of running into trouble with the memory being cleared. However, back to the limited hardware available (memory card slots and controller ports) things like SD boot are available to get the job done. Also based on the performance of the memory card slots (it's not par with usb that's for sure), even this is limited.
     
  12. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    IOS simply can't run in gamecube mode, there's no code running on the arm when gamecube games are running. And the memory isn't cleared, which made it possible to read the common key the 1st time.

    SD-Boot and USB-Boot should work, because they don't need the drive to be able to read DVD-Rs, and so they work the same way on old and newer Wiis.
     
  13. silva79

    Newcomer silva79 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    To get GC games running from USB do you need to already have the .iso's or can you backup the game to a flashdrive/harddrive using something like usbloader?
     
  14. Zetta_x

    Member Zetta_x The Insane Statistician

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,844
    Country:
    United States
    By the sounds of it, gamecube games have a different structure then wii games. Wii games can be loaded by a specified IOS while gamecube must be loaded by a MIOS or gamecube specific software/hardware (otherwise as gamecube mode). Trying to load a gamecube ISO with a usb loader will attempt to load the iso using wii IOS's which of course won't work in gamecube mode as mentioned above posts.
     
  15. Ugothacked

    Member Ugothacked GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  16. brandonspikes
    OP

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for your help, with it I gained knowledge of a thousand stars.

    After this here post I feel like I can start working on that rocket surgery I was almost meant to do.
     
  17. Juanmatron

    Member Juanmatron Slater Color

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667
    Location:
    SEGA's World
    Country:
    Spain
    The truth hurts.
     
  18. Ugothacked

    Member Ugothacked GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I am sorry to say that the black wii has that D2-3 drive, some new wiis (white) have that to, i had one a while ago, it can not play any type of DVD, it doesnt matter if you use gamma or neo gamma, it will still not work, even if its GC, and there is no GC USB loader, You can do anything on the black wii, but not play DVDs of any type...
     
  19. brandonspikes
    OP

    Member brandonspikes King Erazer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Thats all I needed to hear, I even assumed it was because of the drive hence why I asked if it was possible another way via a software.
     
  20. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need to buy hardware to get GC working.

    The only way is with a WODE, but then at least you get the games on a HDD. You would need to open the Wii however so you might not want to do this, but it is very simple to install a WODE and doesn't require any soldering, just unplugging and plugging some wires into a circuit board.
     

Share This Page